Skip to main content

ACC 410 - Accounting for Management & Control: Home

Library resources suggested for this class.

About this page

We’ve done our best to select the most pertinent materials for these Course Resources pages, but if these are not helping with your topic/project, we encourage you to use the Schedule an Appointment link in the Profile box on this page.

Resources for this class

Here are two examples of ebooks on managerial accounting, from the Business Expert Press collection (noted for its real world approach). You can also search the whole collection using the link following the ebooks.

To find financials for a particular company try OneSource and/or PrivCo:

To find financial ratios (especially averages or comparisons to the overall industry), try the following:

If you need to find current news...

 Here are your best bets for business news, first, and then articles, in the order in which I would try them:

If you need to find scholarly articles on accounting topics, these are the databases to try:

Note: don't be put off by the "Science" in ScienceDirect: this database includes all the journals published by Elsevier, a premier scholarly publisher, and include Finance, Accounting, Economics, etc., as well as science topics.

Almost all of our journal subscriptions are now accessible online.

To see if we have access to a specific journal online, put the name of the journal (or Keywords from the title - change the radio button option) - into the search box below:

The resources provided here are my "best guess" for what you might need. And it may be that everything you need is supplied to your by your professor, no need for library resources at all. But if there's something else you need, please let me know, and together we will improve this resource guide!

Loading

Advice for Enhancing Your Research Success

Here are a few tips to for researching:

  • Google often isn't helpful. The best business information is not free.  However, the library does subscribe to numerous resources.
  • When using these databases, adjust your search terms if you're not getting the results you hoped for--try synonyms and scour article titles, abstracts, and subject headings in your search results for likely search terms to use.  Sometimes a thesaurus or encyclopedia come in handy when brainstorming search terms.
  • Use double quotes to search multiple words as a phrase (e.g. "new age" finds these terms in exact order).
  • Use an asterisk to substitute for letters at the end of a word (e.g. crit* finds critic, criticism, critique etc.).
  • If you can't find what you're looking for, schedule an appointment!

Business Librarian

Robert Berkman's picture
Robert Berkman

My Office Hours at Simon are: Tues/Thurs 11:30am-1:30pm in Career Center, Schlegel 3rd Floor

   
                             
        Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
Outreach, Learning and Research Services; Rush Rhees Library, 500 Joseph C. Wilson Blvd. Rochester NY 14627

Complete Business Resources Guide