Home - ACC 511 - Accounting Research II - LibGuides at University of Rochester

About this page

We’ve done our best to select the most pertinent materials for these Course Resources pages, but if these are not helping with your topic/project, we encourage you to use the Schedule an Appointment link in the Profile box on this page.

Resources for this class

All Purpose Search Tips for Simon Students
This is a quick handout of research and search strategies for databases, suitable for all situations. Take a moment to review it!

If you need to find...

...financials for a particular company try OneSource and/or PrivCo:

OneSource This link opens in a new window
20M+ companies, US/int’l; financials, SWOT analysis, analyst reports, news articles. Search by region, sector, business size, more
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Private company profiles and financial data (revenue, income statement, balance sheet, etc.), venture capital funding deals and investors, M&A, more.
Each user must create a login using a UR email address.
Yes – you CAN get financial data for private companies! Also very useful for creating lists of companies by geography, industry – with more granular detail than by NAICS or SIC, although those are available as well – rate of growth in revenue or employees, and whether or not the companies are PE/VC backed or not. Useful for career searches or entrepreneurial searches (who else makes this product? How many [x] are located within 50 miles of [place]? Etc.)

To find financial ratios (especially averages or comparisons to the overall industry), try the following:

Key Business Ratios (Dun & Bradstreet) This link opens in a new window
Contains financial ratios for industries and services, arranged by NAICS and SIC industry codes.
To find key ratios for the industry of your company: look up the company. 1) Click "Industry Classification" in the left hand panel. 2) click the most appropriate line of business in the tree structure. 3) Click "Key Stats & Ratios" in the left hand panel.
RMA eStatement Studies This link opens in a new window
Contains corporate financial ratios and other financial data aggregated by industry.

Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios
by Leo Troy; Book and CD- ROM in the Business Library in Rush Rhees: call number HF 5681 .R25 T68. Can be used instead of Key Business Ratios database (should we have an access problem with that db).

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry research reports; US & Global. Search by keyword or NAICS code. Market size, competitors, forecasts, valuation, & more. Includes Industry Wizard. The U.S. Spotlight Industry Report collection offers titles focused on ultra-niche industry categories that feature insights in condensed format focused on providing more charts, tables, and graphs
MarketLine GlobalData Intelligence Centers This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to Industry (reports by country), Company, and Country reports, plus Company News, Financial Deals, and Case Studies, Market size, segmentation, competition, and forecasts. MarketLine Explorer capitalizes on actionable intelligence spanning 22 global industries. Combining macroeconomic data and information on thousands of companies, Explorer offers detailed coverage of the global trends that are shaping industries, impacting companies, and driving innovation.
At the login screen, click on IP Access.
Additional modules within MarketLine:
Financial Deals Tracker: Track market activity with MarketLine's database of global mergers and acquisitions (M&A), private equity deals, venture finance deals, private placements, IPOs, and partnerships.
Company Prospector: Screen companies and build lists of potential business partners, clients, and investment targets in industries and countries of interest.
Investment & Advisory Prospector: Identify advisory & investment firms operating in specific industries, and gain insight into the investment and inorganic strategy of companies.
Company Report Generator: Generate fresh custom company reports featuring analytical text and charts which draw on MarketLine's company datasets. Example sections include company overview, history, SWOT analysis, M&A, partnerships and agreements, news and product information.

All Industry & Market Research Databases
Use this link to get to a complete list of all the databases available for industry and market research.

If you need to find current news...

Here are your best bets for business news, first, and then articles, in the order in which I would try them:

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on business, news, and companies worldwide, current and historical financial quotes, and company profiles.

Factiva Search Tips
Improve your search experience in Factiva with these useful tips. Really. You NEED to look at this, trust me!

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from academic business journals and business trade publications; plus industry reports, some market data, and company profiles from the Experian Commercial Risk database.
For alumni access, see link to Proquest Alumni Edition on the Alumni Library Gateway.

If you need to find scholarly articles on accounting topics, these are the databases to try:

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journals from Elsevier Science and other publishers. Browse or search tables of contents, abstracts and full text of articles in all disciplines.
Includes the sciences, engineering, humanities, social sciences, and clinical medicine. Full text from 1995 on, except as indicated.

Note: don't be put off by the "Science" in ScienceDirect: this database includes all the journals published by Elsevier, a premier scholarly publisher, and include Finance, Accounting, Economics, etc., as well as science topics.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Contains articles, company and industry reports, marketing reports, and country reports. Includes Harvard Business Review.

Rules and regs:

IntelliConnect This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source for U.S. accounting rules and corporate capital changes; includes full text of the GAAP Guide.
To get to the US Master GAAP Guide, once in the database, click on the Titles A-Z button, then "U" (for "US..."). The title will appear, click on it and it will appear as a source on the left. Browse or search as desired.

Standards:

FASAB - Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board This link opens in a new window
Includes all accounting statements and standards from FASAB.
FASB - Financial Accounting Standards Board This link opens in a new window
Includes summaries of accounting standards from FASB. Students get complete access from accounting faculty.
Includes summaries of accounting standards from FASB. Students get complete access from accounting faculty. Complete access not sold to libraries.

AICPA Standards
Access to all standards from the AICPA, including auditing, tax, etc.
PCAOB Standards
Auditing standards for public company audits.

The resources provided here are my "best guess" for what you might need. And it may be that everything you need is supplied to your by your professor, no need for library resources at all. But if there's something else you need, please let me know, and together we will improve this resource guide!

Business Librarian

Kathy Wu

Email Me

Contact:

585-273-5322
I am available for one-on-one virtual consultation through Zoom.

I also hold office hour on Mondays from 2 PM to 3 PM in the Gleason Hall Room 330. Walk-ins are welcome.

Zoom meeting only by appointment at https://rochester.zoom.us/my/kathywu

ACC 511 - Accounting Research II: Home

About this page

Resources for this class

Business Librarian

Complete Business Resources Guide