NCBI supports and distributes a variety of databases for the medical and scientific communities, including PubMed, Gene and OMIM, among others. Its search and retrieval system provides users with integrated access to literature, sequence, mapping, taxonomy, and structural data.
This Publication of the Society of Biological Inorganic Chemistry covers advances in the understanding of systems involving one or more metal ions set in a biological matrix - particularly metalloproteins and metal-nucleic acid complexes - in order to understand biological function at the molecular level. Synthetic analogues mimicking function, structure and spectroscopy of naturally occurring biological molecules are also of interest to the journal. The journal publishes original articles, mini-reviews and commentaries on debated issues.
Inorganic Chemistry publishes fundamental studies in all phases of inorganic chemistry. Coverage includes experimental and theoretical reports on quantitative studies of structure and thermodynamics, kinetics, mechanisms of inorganic reactions, bioinorganic chemistry, and relevant aspects of organometallic chemistry, solid-state phenomena, and chemical bonding theory. Emphasis is placed on the synthesis, structure, thermodynamics, reactivity, spectroscopy, and bonding properties of significant new and known compounds.
The Journal of the American Chemical Society (JACS), founded in 1879, is the flagship journal of the American Chemical Society and the world's preeminent journal in all of chemistry and interfacing areas of science. This periodical is devoted to the publication of fundamental research papers and publishes approximately 19,000 pages of Articles, Communications, and Perspectives a year. Published weekly, JACS provides research essential to the field of chemistry.
The criteria for publication of scientific papers (Articles and Letters) in Nature are that they:
- report original scientific research (the main results and conclusions must not have been
-are of outstanding scientific importance
-reach a conclusion of interest to an interdisciplinary readership.
To identify additional journals, use the core databases to search on your topic and ask researchers that are working in the area.
Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine, with some links to full text. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Full text is available through the "Other Sources" link. A separate registration is required before the first use. See About SciFinder for more detail.
For SciFinder, first time users must register herewith your UR email address to obtain a free password.
Identifies chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to journal and patent literature of chemistry. The data originates from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry, the Beilstein Handbuch der organischen Chemie and a Patent Chemistry database. To learn more, see About Reaxys. Users should update their passwords.
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology, many with links to full text.
Includes recent published articles, and articles from selectively indexed journals that do not appear in Medline. Includes access to molecular and bioinformatic databases from the NCBI system (previous Entrez). Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities. VPN required for off-campus access. Users should update their passwords.
Use the UR Catalog to search specifically for books, journal titles -- NOT articles -- and other materials available at the University of Rochester Library. Search by Title, Author, Subject Heading, Keyword(s) or Call Number.
Use the WolrdCat to search for books and other materials available at many libraries world wide. Books owned by UR River Campus Libraries are identified and it is easy to place an Interlibrary Loan request from within the WorldCat webpages for a book the UR River Campus Libraries do not own.
Need an item that we don’t have in the stacks? ILL works with libraries all over the world to get U of R students, faculty members, employees, and affiliates the materials they need. Submit your request now!
The River Campus Libraries welcome suggestions for the purchase of materials for our library collections. Your request will be reviewed by library staff. Preference will be to acquire the eBook format where available. Please indicate in the Notes field if you would prefer that we acquire the print format.