Skip to main content

* Linguistics

Guide to Sources for Linguistics at the University of Rochester Libraries

Articles

Articles & Books searches much of the library's content in a single search. It's a great place to start!

  • Search settings can be changed on the results page.
  • To limit to just scholarly articles, select Scholarly & Peer-Review in the upper left of search results.
  • Articles & Books Search Tips will help to get you started.

If the library doesn't have an article you want, request it via Interlibrary Loan. We'll get it for you, often in just a day or two. (Learn more about UR Interlibrary Loan in this YouTube video.)

Databases

The following databases focus on specific subject areas of interest to Linguistics. Some may use specialized terminology or offer advanced features not available in more comprehensive search tools, but they will identify only a subset of content that is available.

See Databases for a complete list of library databases. The Browse by Subject section has more recommendations for Linguistics, as well as for Psychology, Brain & Cognitive Sciences, Sign Language & Deaf Studies, Sociology, Anthropology, and other disciplines. 

Journals

All journals are listed in the UR Catalog. Search by journal title or subject. Try using any these subject terms in the catalog:  linguistics periodicals, language and languages periodicals, language acquisition periodicals, computational linguistics periodicals, psycholinguistics periodicals, pragmatics periodicals, etc.

From the eJournals page, search/browse by title the subset of journals available online.

If you are looking for specific articles, use the Articles & Books search.

Books

Search Articles & Books or the UR Catalog to find books in the University of Rochester Libraries and online.

  • Articles & Books searches much of the library's content in a single search.
    • Search settings can be changed on the results page.
    • To limit to just books, select Book/eBook on the left of search results.
    • To further limit to just ebooks, also select Full Text Online.
  • UR Catalog identifies a variety of library materials, including books, but it does not find articles.

If the library doesn't have a book you want, request it via Interlibrary Loan. We'll get it for you, often in less than a week. (Learn more about UR Interlibrary Loan in this YouTube video.)

Ebooks Help Guide

If you are having problems using any ebook from the library, feel free to

Reference Works

 

  • Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences   Rhees Reference P29 .C28 2011
  • Classification and Index of the World's Languages   Rhees Reference P203 .V6
  • Compendium of the World's Languages   Rhees Reference 371 .C36 2000 (earlier editions in Rhees Stacks)
  • Dictionary of American Regional English   Rhees Reference PE2843 .D52 1985 (see companion indexes by region, usage and etymology in Rhees Stacks)
  • Dictionary of historical and comparative linguistics   Rhees Reference P143 .T727 2000 
  • Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics   Rhees Reference P129 .E527 2013
  • Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics   Rhees Reference P29 .E48 2006
  • Encyclopedia of the world's endangered languages   Rhees Reference P40.5 L332 E45 2007
  • Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics   Rhees Reference P99 .E65 1986
  • International Encyclopedia of Linguistics   online in Oxford Digital Reference and Rhees Reference P29 .I58 2003
  • Longman dictionary of language teaching and applied linguistics  online in ebrary
  • Oxford Handbook of the History of Linguistics   online in Oxford Handbooks Online
  • Reverse English dictionary   online in ebrary
  • Routledge encyclopedia of translation studies   Rhees Reference P306 .E57 2009
  • Routledge linguistics encyclopedia  online in ebrary
  • Sage Deaf Studies Encyclopedia (2016) online in Sage Knowledge
  • World's Major Languages   Rhees Reference P371 .W6 2009

Literature Reviews

Review articles provide an overview to an area of research, identify who is working in that area, and cite relevant published work.

Word & Phrase Origins

  • Oxford English Dictionary  online and Rhees Reference PE1625 .O87 1989
  • Idioms and phrases index  Rhees Reference PE1689 .I3 1983
  • Oxford dictionary of idioms  Rhees Reference PE1464 .O94 2004
  • Dictionary of English collocations : based on the Brown corpus   Rhees Reference PE1689 .K54 1994

Atlases

The atlas case is located on the back wall of the room adjacent to the Rhees Reference stacks.