Skip to main content

LIN 105 Language and Advertising: Home

Find Quality Video Advertisements

Site Searching


Use keywords [topic/characteristic] and search in a specific website [site:youtube.com].

Topics covered in class include advertising using or about:

  • emotion
  • Power of brands
  • social causes
  • food
  • politics
  • greenwashing
  • as theater/entertainment
  • drugs/medications
  • sensory advertising/ manipulation of all sense
  • sex as art
  • beauty industry
  • ethnic or religous ads

Examples:

controversial ads

 

 

 

award winning ads

 

 


Browse advertising websites like adforum: https://www.adforum.com/

adforum

Find Peer Reviewed Literature

EBSCO databases can be searched at the same time by clicking on one of the EBSCO databases, then clicking on "Choose Databases" above the search box at the top of the screen.

  • CMMC - Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCO): Full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
  • SOCIndex (EBSCO): Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
  • Social Sciences Full Text  (EBSCO) Identifies articles in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, politics and law, many with links to full text

ebsco search

Annotated Bibliography

As part of your assignment you need to create an Annotated Bibliography. Check the links below for definitions and examples.

Outreach Librarian

Stephanie Barrett's picture
Stephanie Barrett
Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.
Contact:
Rush Rhees Library, 500 Joseph C. Wilson Blvd.
Rochester, NY 14627
585-275-9299