Skip to main content

LIN 226 Morphology: Home

Find an Endangered Language

ethnologueEthnologue is an annual reference publication in print and online that provides statistics and other information on the living languages of the world. Ethnologue is powered by SIL International.

Ethnologue is now a paid site, which UR does not support

 

wals The World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars).

Find Peer Reviewed Literature

LLBA - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (Narrowest):  Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics

Library Website (Use filters to narrow to linguistic-realted items

Google Scholar - For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.


 

Remember, your sources need to be peer-reviewed and produced by a scholarly publisher. Materials created by native speakers can be given special consideration.

Your sources should also have:

  • Surface string
  • Morpheme break up
  • Gloss
  • Translation

 

***If you come across items on endangered languages that would be helpful for your research and that UR does not own, please let me (Stephanie B) know and I will purchase these item using the funds I have for Linguistics collection development.

Annotated Bibliography

As part of your assignment you need to create an Annotated Bibliography. Check the links below for definitions and examples.

Outreach Librarian

Stephanie Barrett's picture
Stephanie Barrett
Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.
Contact:
Rush Rhees Library, 500 Joseph C. Wilson Blvd.
Rochester, NY 14627
585-275-9299