Skip to main content

MKT 203 - Principles of Marketing: Home

Library resources suggested for this class.

About this page

We’ve done our best to select the most pertinent materials for these Course Resources pages, but if these are not helping with your topic/project, we encourage you to use the Schedule an Appointment link in the Profile box on this page.

Resources for this class

Here are a few tips to for researching:

  • Google often isn't helpful. The best business information is not free.  However, the library does subscribe to numerous resources.
  • When using these databases, adjust your search terms if you're not getting the results you hoped for--try synonyms and scour article titles, abstracts, and subject headings in your search results for likely search terms to use.  Sometimes a thesaurus or encyclopedia come in handy when brainstorming search terms.
  • Use double quotes to search multiple words as a phrase (e.g. "new age" finds these terms in exact order).
  • Use an asterisk to substitute for letters at the end of a word (e.g. crit* finds critic, criticism, critique etc.).
  • If you can't find what you're looking for, schedule an appointment!

The Business Expert Press collection of ebooks has LOTS of books on all aspects of "Marketing" and writing marketing plans. Here are two examples, and then a link that will bring up the whole list (and get you into the Business Expert Press database, so you can do more searching on your own). All practical and real-world, and all fully downloadable to your own device!

If you need to do market or industry research... These first 3 databases are our best "all-around," full-spectrum-of-industries resources:


Try the following databases if your research is more consumer or "daily life products"-oriented:


The following databases are our best resources for hi-tech or medical/pharma market research:


The following are additional possibilities; frankly, I don't find theses databases usually as good as the ones listed above, but wanted to give you as many options as possible:

If you can't find a report specifically on your product/project/industry, you may have to search the article databases for articles about your product/project/industry, that include a statistic here and there. Yeah, I know, it's a lot more work! Here are your 4 best bets for business articles, in the order in which I would try them:

Hot Tip! To narrow your search just to articles mentioning numbers, etc. from Euromonitor reports (a source we don't subscribe to) - try searching for your product (say, coffee) in the Subject field, and the name Euromonitor in the *full text* (you'll have to change the field dropdowns for both terms). Works like a charm.

For quick numbers, especially on "hot" or "trendy" topics, try Statista:


For more traditional kinds of demographic or "business stats", try the following databases:


Finally... let's include - of all things! ;) - the idea of the library catalog (read: books... but lots of ebooks, too). The search box below allows you to search the contents of all the UR libraries (by Title Keyword, or just Keyword, or Author, Title, etc. if you know what you're looking for).

Loading

Business Librarian

Robert Berkman's picture
Robert Berkman

My Office Hours at Simon are: Tues/Thurs 11:30am-1:30pm in Career Center, Schlegel 3rd Floor

   
                             
        Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
Outreach, Learning and Research Services; Rush Rhees Library, 500 Joseph C. Wilson Blvd. Rochester NY 14627

Complete Business Resources Guide