Skip to main content

* Philosophy: Guide to Research

This subject guide provides reliable resources pertaining to the study of philosophy.

Welcome!

Hello! I'm Eileen Daly-Boas, and I'm here to help you discover the best (and most efficient) ways to do research. I'm happy to meet with you in person, or via email, chat or telephone. I've provided step-by-step instructions for your research projects, and links to other helpful UR sites in the tabs at the top of the page

Looking for introductory essays and articles?

The sources below cover many topics in Philosophy. The Philosophy Compass covers the entire discipline of philosophy and publishes original, peer-reviewed, state-of-the-art surveys of current research. The handbooks and companions are focused collections on particular areas in Philosophy.

Researching your topic: Step 1 - Encyclopedia and bibliographies

Getting started on your topic? Begin by checking out these encyclopedia and bibliography databases. They'll provide you with a basic background for your topic, and a list of important papers published on your topic.  This is a great time-saver.

When you have a list of books or articles to search for, you can search from our Articles & Books tab on our homepage: http://www.library.rochester.edu.

Researching your topic: Step 2 - Finding Articles and Books on your topic

Looking for articles or books on your topic?  You can search using the  Articles and Books tab to search UR for them, or for citations you've found from step one (If we don't have an article you need, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan - step 3 below). 

If you're just beginning your research, it's best to start with a philosophy-specific database. This means that your results will all be papers in philosophy. 

If you have an article that you like and would like to see who else has cited it since it was published, try Google Scholar - just find your article and then click the "Cited By" link. 


If your topic is a bit more interdisciplinary - Philosophy and Art, Philosophy and Science, Philosophy and Business....you might try a more comprehensive database like the ones below.


 

Interlibrary Loan

If UR doesn't have the article or book you need, Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that will deliver a copy to you. PDFs of articles usually arrive in two days or less!  Just go to the ILL page: https://illiad.lib.rochester.edu/

Still can't find what you're looking for?  Please contact me! 

Subject Guide

Eileen Daly-Boas
   
                             
        Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
Rush Rhees Library, Room 106, 755 Library Rd, Rochester, NY 14627
(585)273-5360

Office Hours Summer 2017:
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday 3:30-5pm
3rd floor of LeChase near the Student Center and Computer Lab.


Prefer to have a Zoom meeting? Find a time with "Meet with Me" and note that you'd like to meet via Zoom.