Skip to main content

About Reaxys

Reaxys is a database of chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to the journal and patent literature of chemistry.

Introduction

Reaxys (1771+) is a database of chemical compound properties, structures and reactions with references to the journal and patent literature of chemistry. The data originates from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry, the Beilstein Handbuch der Organischen Chemie, inorganic and organic chemistry journals and a Patent Chemistry database.  This database is a favorite for the precise way that it searches structures and for the comprehensiveness of the property coverage. Access is restricted to University of Rochester students, faculty, and staff.

Reaxys Video

Reaxys Content

Reaxys (Elsevier) contains information that will help you find preparations and specific transformations, experimental substance properties and bioactivity data, and citations to research articles and patents.  Reaxys merges the content from three data sources:

    Beilstein

Information on structures, reactions, and properties of organic (carbon-based) compounds drawn from journal articles back to the 18th century.

    Gmelin

Information on structures and properties of inorganic and metal-organic compounds drawn from journal articles and patents back to the early 19th century.

    Patent Chemistry Database

Organic chemistry information drawn from selected English-language chemical patents (US, WO, EP, 1976-). Historical (1869-1980) patent coverage comes from the Beilstein and Gmelin files.

System Requirements

Off Campus Access