LibGuides: About Reaxys: Home

Introduction

Reaxys (2017 version) This link opens in a new window
Identifies chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to journal and patent literature of chemistry. The data originates from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry, the Beilstein Handbuch der organischen Chemie and a Patent Chemistry database. To learn more, see About Reaxys.
Users should update their passwords.

Reaxys (1771+) is a database of chemical compound properties, structures and reactions with references to the journal and patent literature of chemistry. The data originates from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry, the Beilstein Handbuch der Organischen Chemie, inorganic and organic chemistry journals and a Patent Chemistry database. This database is a favorite for the precise way that it searches structures and for the comprehensiveness of the property coverage. Access is restricted to University of Rochester students, faculty, and staff.

Reaxys Reference Guide (Elsevier)
Reaxys Support Center
FAQS, Content and Training about Reaxys (2017)

Reaxys Content

Reaxys (Elsevier) contains information that will help you find preparations and specific transformations, experimental substance properties and bioactivity data, and citations to research articles and patents. Reaxys merges the content from three data sources:

Beilstein

Information on structures, reactions, and properties of organic (carbon-based) compounds drawn from journal articles back to the 18th century.

Gmelin

Information on structures and properties of inorganic and metal-organic compounds drawn from journal articles and patents back to the early 19th century.

Patent Chemistry Database

Organic chemistry information drawn from selected English-language chemical patents (US, WO, EP, 1976-). Historical (1869-1980) patent coverage comes from the Beilstein and Gmelin files. This has been expanded to include more Patent Offices, such as Japan, China, Taiwan, South Korea, with the focus on substance and reaction data, patent citation information, Markush substance display, more patent family information and patent classification codes. More ...

New Releases

Aug 2019 Release Notes

Handout for Finding Properties & Spectra

Substance Searching using Reaxys
Learn how to find boiling points and NMR data for substance structures with this step by step tutorial.

Handout for Reaction Searching

Reaction Searching Using Reaxys
Step by step tutorial on how to search Reaxys for preparation methods.
Reaction Searching Using Reaxys (PDF)
Search for preparations based on product, reactants and products, and download reaction details for a quick review.

Marvin JS and Other Structure Editors

Master and power your chemical searchers with Reaxys and MarvinJS
(60 min, requires free registration) In this webinar, you will improve your structure and reaction searching capability via:
•Learning the differences between substructure searching vs substitution count
•Drawing common functional groups via keyboard input
•Using Reaxys generics and abbreviated groups to direct result sets
•Using merge reactants feature
•Atom Locking
•Reaction Manual Mapping
•Structure Templates and more
Marvin JS
ChemDraw JS
User Guide. Similar to ChemDraw and an alternative to Marvin JS. To switch editors, look for drop down at the top left of the structure drawing pane.

Training

From Librarians & Professors

Reaxys Education
Reaxys Instructional materials coordinated by Bob Belford from University of Arkansas.
Reaxys Guide (U. Texas)
Reaxys Guide (U. Penn)
Reaxys Guide (U. Mich)

From Elsevier

Reaxys Help
Reaxys Support Center
FAQS, Content and Training about Reaxys (2017)

Reaxys Help Desk

Tel: US toll-free: +1 (888) 615 4500
Tel: Non toll-free: +1 (314) 523 4900
Email: usinfo@elsevier.com

System Requirements

Technical Requirements for Reaxys (2017)

Off Campus Access

All electronic library resources, including e-journals, databases, and course reserves, are available to current students, faculty, and staff from off-campus using either your My Account/NetID or VPN access. When you click on the link of a restricted library resource from the libraries' website, you will be prompted to login.

NetID
Info about your NetID and password.
Active Directory
Used to login to your Library account (My Account). For most people, it is the same as the NetID.
Remote Access (VPN)
Virtual Private Networking (VPN) establishes a connection so that you appear to be part of the University network. This eliminates repetitive logins. DUO two-factor authentication is necessary to set up your VPN.
DUO two-factor authentication
The University uses Duo to better protect University data. Duo authentication occurs after you log in with your user name and password using a mobile phone, tablet, or landline to verify your identity.