WRT 105 What we talk about when we talk about Music (Cassidy-Heacock): Home
Whether we are professional performers or casual listeners, most of us engage with some kind of music on a daily basis. How do we use language to describe the experience of hearing music? Tyler Cassidy-Heacock
Welcome to the Art/Music Library
Welcome to the Art/Music Library. Please ask us for help! Our librarians and student workers at the desk can help you find resources and information.
The Art/Music Library is located on the ground floor of Rush Rhees Library. All scores (M call numbers) and music books (ML and MT call numbers) are located on the open shelves within the Art/Music Library, as are current copies of our music magazines and journals.
CDs are kept in the back and may be requested from the desk. LPs are stored in the Art stacks.
Recordings may be listened to in the Art/Music library or checked out for a limited time period.
Reference books are located in the rear left nook.
Finale and Sibelius music-writing programs are available at two of our work stations. Please ask at the desk.
Books about Music and Sound. 33⅓ (Thirty-Three and a Third) is a series of books written about music albums from the last 50 years or so, featuring one author per album. The series title refers to the speed (33⅓ revolutions per minute) of an LP album.
Expands and enhances the global bibliography of writings on music with the addition of a million pages of full-text content from more than 200 key periodicals, many of which are not available anywhere else online.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
This video streaming database contains 24,192 titles spanning just about every subject area: performing arts, visual arts, social sciences and the “hard” sciences. The Music & Dance category contains 900 films covering a huge variety of music and dance.
Chat with us!
Government Information, Economics, Law and Music Librarian