Skip to main content

WRT 105 Taking it on Trust (Rowley): Research Guide

PIcking your topic is research

Looking for introductory essays and articles?

The sources below cover many topics in Philosophy. The Philosophy Compass covers the entire discipline of philosophy and publishes original, peer-reviewed, state-of-the-art surveys of current research. The handbooks and companions are focused collections on particular areas in Philosophy.

Interlibrary Loan

If UR doesn't have the article or book you need, Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that will deliver a copy to you. PDFs of articles usually arrive in two days or less!  Just go to the ILL page: https://illiad.lib.rochester.edu/

Still can't find what you're looking for?  Please contact me! 

Drop In Consultations, Spring 2018

Have an assignment due and you could use a little help?

Librarians have scheduled a few drop in consultations for the Spring 2018 semester to help you at your highest point of need.

While these dates have a skill/topic attached to them, come see us about any question you have! Also remember your course librarian is available to meet with you and you can schedule their time here: http://libcal.lib.rochester.edu/appointments/


Citation Check!

February 5 from 11:30 am - 1 pm

February 9 from 1 - 2:30 pm

Lam Square, Rush Rhees Library - adjacent to the Q&i Desk

Wondering if your citations are right?  Pop in to see a librarian who can help you work through your citations. Happening in Lam Square near the Q&i desk.

Also, check out the library's resource guide for investigating your many options of powerful citation management tools. Save time and get your citations done right!

http://libguides.lib.rochester.edu/referencemanagers


Evaluate Your Sources / Refine your Research Question

March 1 from 12 - 1:30 pm

March 6 from 11:30 am - 1 pm

March 26 from 3 - 4:30 pm

April 2 from 11:30 am - 1 pm

April 11 from 11 am - 12:30 pm

Lam Square, Rush Rhees Library - adjacent to the Q&i Desk

You have an assignment due and your professor has asked for certain types of research-based literature!  Oh no! Are you 100% sure that you have a peer-reviewed resource, an ethnographic study, or an original or empirical research article (as examples) to add to your final bibliography?

Don't play the guessing game; come see a librarian!

_________________________________________
 

Still working on developing your research question? Not sure where to begin? Overwhelmed with so much information, you’re unsure how to narrow to something manageable? Librarians can help you think through your research question, help you navigate the who, what, when, where, and whys to land on a reasonable topic, and find supporting materials to take your questions in new and strengthened directions.

Researching your topic: Step 1 - Encyclopedia and bibliographies

Getting started on your topic? Begin by checking out these encyclopedia and bibliography databases. They'll provide you with a basic background for your topic, and a list of important papers published on your topic.  This is a great time-saver.

When you have a list of books or articles to search for, you can search from our Articles & Books tab on our homepage: http://www.library.rochester.edu.

Researching your topic: Step 2 - Finding Articles and Books on your topic

Looking for articles or books on your topic?  You can search using the  Articles and Books tab to search UR for them, or for citations you've found from step one (If we don't have an article you need, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan - step 3 below). 

If you're just beginning your research, it's best to start with a philosophy-specific database. This means that your results will all be papers in philosophy. 

If you have an article that you like and would like to see who else has cited it since it was published, try Google Scholar - just find your article and then click the "Cited By" link. 


If your topic is a bit more interdisciplinary - Philosophy and Art, Philosophy and Science, Philosophy and Business....you might try a more comprehensive database like the ones below.


 

Librarian

Eileen Daly-Boas's picture
Eileen Daly-Boas

Can’t find a time on my schedule that works for you? Meet with the on-call librarian at tinyurl.com/rcloncall.
   
                             
        Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
Office hours in LeChase 3rd floor by Computer lab: Tuesdays and Wednesdays 4-5pm

email: edaly@library.rochester.edu

Phone: (585)273-5360
Rush Rhees Library, Room 106, 755 Library Rd, Rochester, NY 14627



Prefer to have a video chat? Find a time with "Meet with Me" and choose the video chat option.

585-273-5360