Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Full text files of the progression of audio engineering research from 1953 to the present.
New
PDA: Select with Alexander Street provides streaming access to 14,000 titles.
New
Identifies articles, conference proceedings and book chapters in engineering and computer science, many with links to full text.
New
Throughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. This collection is a treasure trove of archival and historical films from multiple sources
Trial
LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of fully-searchable rare and unique content from microfilm, newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets and other types of primary sources. Content is sourced from major gay and lesbian organizations worldwide – the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives, GLBT Historical Society and others, and covers social, political, health and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, including the gay rights movement and the HIV/Aids crisis.
Trial access ends November 9th, 2017.
Please send comments to Lindsay Cronk
lcronk@library.rochester.edu.
Trial
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering publications. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. Coverage includes the most current, active versions of 12,900 standards; current/active historical and redlined versions of standards.
Trial access ends December 31st, 2017.
Please send comments to Lindsey Rae
lrae@library.rochester.edu.
New
Covers all major areas in the life sciences, with broad coverage in molecular and cell biology, pharmacology, endocrinology, genetics, neurosciences, infectious diseases, ecology and organismal biology.
New
Ranging from early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News to radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star, the 47 publications in Part I span a vast range of national, regional, and local interests. Other notable papers of Part I include the Morning Chronicle, with famous contributors such as Henry Mayhew and John Stuart Mill; the Graphic, publishing both illustrations and news as well as illustrated fiction; and the Examiner, the radical reformist and leading intellectual journal.
New
Part II further expands the range of English regional newspapers and the political views represented in the programme with 22 additional publications. Researchers can find the newspapers of a number of significant towns and regions included in this collection: Nottingham, Bradford, Leicester, Sheffield, and York, as well as North Wales. The addition of two major London newspapers, The Standard and the Morning Post, helps capture conservative opinion in the nineteenth century, balancing the progressive, more liberal views of the newspapers that appear in Part I.
New
Review articles about the formation of carbon-carbon bonds and bonds with heteroatoms such as oxygen, sulfur, nitrogen, etc.
New
Review articles about biochemistry and underlying chemical mechanisms of biology.
New
Simple to use web tool for storing, formatting and exporting references for papers and bibliographies. Interfaces well with EndNote Desktop for sharing references.
Users must create their own account.
New
This database contains primary economic, well-being, and political data at the country, state and U.S. city levels. It allows users to view data by demographic categories, compare results across geographies to develop and report findings.
Trial
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) is a nonprofit collaborative and comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the earth sciences, which is built on a core database of peer-reviewed journals and is integrated with the GeoRef index. The organization gives global researchers a single point of access to 46 full-text scholarly journals plus specialized searching capabilities and links to millions of relevant resources hosted elsewhere on the Web.
Trial access ends December 15th, 2017.
Please send comments to Lindsey Rae
lrae@library.rochester.edu.
New
The definitive international bibliography on the development and influence of science, from prehistory to the present.
New
InnovationQ is a patent search tool that rapidly sifts through big data to quickly and efficiently pinpoint relevant patents, applications, and non-patent literature.
Users are encouraged to sign up for individual accounts to access advanced functionality.
New
A bibliography of more than 1.3 million citations for secondary source material about the European Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.
New
High quality experimentally determined solubility data of gases, liquids and solids mainly in liquids. Digitized version of the IUPAC Solubility Data Series.
New
Washington D.C. based publication dedicated on expanding the reach of Latin American news coverage and analysis produced by Latin American media.
Trial
The Nineteenth Century Collections Online:
Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature archive presents unique insight into the age of cartography and the rise of leisure travel, spotlighting a distinguished array of historical atlases, gazetteers, travel narratives, and a variety of maps, The materials focus on travel and exploration during the nineteenth century, including myriad sketch maps created during colonial exploration and expansion. Maps, historic atlases, and gazetteers offer unique city, town, and country information first used by the nineteenth century traveler, providing a window into the Age of Imperialism and the burgeoning middle classes.
Trial access ends November 9th, 2017.
Please send comments to Lindsay Cronk
lcronk@library.rochester.edu.
New
Database of tutorials and training materials on bioinformatics and genomic resources.
New
Encyclopedia articles describing the fundamentals of polymer science, including polymer physics and physical chemistry, advanced characterization methods, polymer synthesis and specific topics especially in materials science.
New
Pinpoint sought after company, industry and market data included in thousands of market research reports published by hundreds of leading market research providers.
Special instructions: requires a login for use. Contact Robert Berkman (rberkman@library.rochester.edu) in Rush Rhees Library.
New
Identifies articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related subjects, many with links to full text, 1806 to current.
New
Identifies chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to journal and patent literature of chemistry. The data originates from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry, the Beilstein Handbuch der organischen Chemie and a Patent Chemistry database. To learn more, see About Reaxys.
New
Portal to free, publicly-available research and development results sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). It includes technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, software, and data information.
New
The South China Morning Post is a Hong Kong English-language newspaper, with coverage from 1903 to the present.
New
Review articles on supramolecular chemistry, interactions between molecules such as self-assembly, folding and more.
New
Comprehensive resource for the study of political violence including articles on topics such as chatter control, terrorism ideology, articles that examine types of targets (from Infrastructure to Tourism), and terrorism tactics from armed assault to cyberterrorism. Searchable by either region or by group.
Optimized for Internet Explorer or Google Chrome.
New
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. U.S. Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.
New
A long-running daily afternoon paper published in Washington D.C. between 1852 and 1981, and was one of the highest profile publications in the nation. Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people, advertisements, death notices, and more.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...