Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
PDA: Select with Alexander Street provides streaming access to 14,000 titles.
New
Throughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. This collection is a treasure trove of archival and historical films from multiple sources
New
LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of fully-searchable rare and unique content from microfilm, newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets and other types of primary sources. Content is sourced from major gay and lesbian organizations worldwide – the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives, GLBT Historical Society and others, and covers social, political, health and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, including the gay rights movement and the HIV/Aids crisis.
New
This database covers the Baltimore Sun from its beginning to 1991.
The articles are PDF images that can be downloaded, printed or emailed.
New
Covers all major areas in the life sciences, with broad coverage in molecular and cell biology, pharmacology, endocrinology, genetics, neurosciences, infectious diseases, ecology and organismal biology.
New
Ranging from early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News to radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star, the 47 publications in Part I span a vast range of national, regional, and local interests. Other notable papers of Part I include the Morning Chronicle, with famous contributors such as Henry Mayhew and John Stuart Mill; the Graphic, publishing both illustrations and news as well as illustrated fiction; and the Examiner, the radical reformist and leading intellectual journal.
New
Part II further expands the range of English regional newspapers and the political views represented in the programme with 22 additional publications. Researchers can find the newspapers of a number of significant towns and regions included in this collection: Nottingham, Bradford, Leicester, Sheffield, and York, as well as North Wales. The addition of two major London newspapers, The Standard and the Morning Post, helps capture conservative opinion in the nineteenth century, balancing the progressive, more liberal views of the newspapers that appear in Part I.
New
Searchable, authoritative, peer-reviewed guide to academic databases, websites, and tools.
Quick-start guide at http://choice360.org/content/2-products/3-ccadvisor/ccadvisor_quickstartguide_final.pdf
New
Published quarterly, using over 60 goods and services collected at the local level from over 300 independent researchers, COLI is the only local level cost of living index available for the US.
New
Open access collection of crystal structures of minerals and organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds.
New
Delve into the theatrical world of eighteenth century society and explore how the Larpent plays reflect the politics of the time, the role of women, views on race and religion, opinions on empire, and European and British history.
Trial
This database covers the trade in fifteen major commodities, from 1500 CE to the present.
Trial access ends May 9th, 2018.
Please send comments to Alan Unsworth
aunsworth@library.rochester.edu.
New
InnovationQ is a patent search tool that rapidly sifts through big data to quickly and efficiently pinpoint relevant patents, applications, and non-patent literature.
Users are encouraged to sign up for individual accounts to access advanced functionality.

IMPORTANT NOTE: When you bring up the initial screen, be sure to change the blue pull down box from “non-patent literature” to the “patents & applications” option.
New
The web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts, with over 12338 titles.
New
A bibliography of more than 1.3 million citations for secondary source material about the European Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.
New
One of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding. Explore extremely rare documents dating from 1554 to the 21st century in this invaluable resource of research material for historians and literary scholars.
New
Property data for materials including polymers, metals, alloys, semiconductors, fibers and other engineering materials.
New
Mergent Online provides detailed information on over 50,000 publicly traded companies worldwide and 30 million privately held companies. Special sections include the Investext collection of 18 million current and historical broker research reports on companies, industries, products and markets; and Mergent Horizon which offers supply chain data along with customer, competitor and product information.
New
Search over 15,000 news, business and legal sources. News sources include newspapers and journals. Business sources include full text company and industry news, including accounting literature, and corporate financial information including 10Ks and annual reports. Legal sources include articles, case law, codes and regulations, international case law, patents, and directories of lawyers and law schools and U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
New
OntheBoards.tv provides access to works by the leading voices from the field of contemporary performance, some of which will never be performed again.
New
Identifies chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to journal and patent literature of chemistry. The data originates from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry, the Beilstein Handbuch der organischen Chemie and a Patent Chemistry database. To learn more, see About Reaxys.
New
Updated version of RefWorks, a web-based citation management tool. Export references from databases and format them for papers and bibliographies. For more information consult Reference Managers: New RefWorks.
New
Portal to free, publicly-available research and development results sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). It includes technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, software, and data information.
Trial
Screen Studies is a dynamic new learning and research platform taking users from script to screen and beyond - offering integrated and diverse content to support moving image studies.
Trial access ends April 27th, 2018.
Please send comments to Mantra Roy
mroy@library.rochester.edu.
New
The South China Morning Post is a Hong Kong English-language newspaper, with coverage from 1903 to the present.
New
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. U.S. Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.
New
A long-running daily afternoon paper published in Washington D.C. between 1852 and 1981, and was one of the highest profile publications in the nation. Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people, advertisements, death notices, and more.
New
A comprehensive collection of writings on the subject of witchcraft, dating from 1500 to 1930 CE. Records are mainly in Latin, English and German.
New
WSJ.com provides direct access to the Wall Street Journal's online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world.
Users must create an account.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...