LibGuides: BME 295 Senior Design: Resources

DiscoverUR

DiscoverUR
Use DiscoverUR to explore all library resources.

DiscoverUR Search Tips
Click here to learn more about the searching capabilities within DiscoverUR to make your research easier and more efficient.

Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
Dimensions is a next-generation linked research information system that makes it easier to find and access the most relevant information, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy.
Patrons can register using UR credentials.
To request access to Dimensions Google BigQuery, please contact Dale Hess dale.hess@rochester.edu.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and other literature on engineering, with some links to full text. Includes the Engineering Village backfile with access back to 1884.
Users should update their passwords.
Total Materia This link opens in a new window
Total Materia covers material information on over 700,000 material designations from over 80+ standard organizations and 1000s of producer data sheets. The platform covers both metallic and non-metallic materials as well as basic mechanical and physical properties, stress-strain curves, fatigue data, corrosion information and much more.
VPN Required for off-campus access.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full text of IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings as well as active IEEE standards. Also includes access to the IEEE eLearning Library.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text from articles and conference papers in computer science and related disciplines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology, many with links to full text.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes access to molecular and bioinformatic databases from the NCBI system (previous Entrez). Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Access to technical papers and monographs in optics, photonics and imaging from SPIE journals, books and conference proceedings.

UpToDate
Peer-reviewed clinical information for physicians. Useful for information on medical procedures and equipment, as well as extensive reviews of the clinical and academic literature.

Experiments This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text biomedical and life sciences protocols documenting experiments with step-by-step laboratory instructions, and lists of equipment and ingredients.
Comprised of five book series and two journals: Methods in Molecular Biology, Neuromethods, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, Methods in Biotechnology, Springer Protocols Handbooks.
JoVE - Journal of Visualized Experiments This link opens in a new window
Producer and provider of science videos.

Standards

Search for standards. Send a request to a Science Librarian for access to full text.

ASTM Standards - Medical Device and Implant Standards
Access to 2012 standards is available in print books in the Carlson Reference Collection, first floor Carlson Library (TA 402 .A51b).
Techstreet Standard Store
IHS Standards Store
ANSI Standards
ISO Standards

IEEE Xplore contains active IEEE standards as well as full text of IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings. See Databases.

FDA Information

Use these links to locate FDA documents and information.

FDA Medical Devices
Code of Federal Regulations
FDA Guidance Documents
Start here when searching for FDA Documents
Federal Register - Medical Devices
FDA Recalls, Market Withdrawals, and Safety Alerts
FOIA FDA Search
Search unpublished FDA Documents under FOIA.
FDA Radiation-Emitting Products

Patents

Google Patents This link opens in a new window
Patents and patent applications from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Has a thumbnail viewer for drawings.
Sporadically updated. More about Google Patent Search .
The Lens This link opens in a new window
The Lens serves integrated scholarly and patent knowledge as a public good to inform science and technology enabled problem solving. Discover, analyze, and map global innovation knowledge using our institutional subscription.
USPTO Patent Database This link opens in a new window
Full text and images of U.S. patents.
To view the full text patents, a plug-in is required. Go to the USPTO help page for more information. Full text for patents from 1976 - current. Pre-1976 patents are searchable only by patent number and current classification code.
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
Dimensions is a next-generation linked research information system that makes it easier to find and access the most relevant information, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy.
Patrons can register using UR credentials.
To request access to Dimensions Google BigQuery, please contact Dale Hess dale.hess@rochester.edu.
Espacenet This link opens in a new window
Identifies patents from many countries, some with page images.
FreePatentsOnline This link opens in a new window
Full text and images of U.S. patents from 1974+, U.S. patent applications from 2001+, and European patents 2000+.
View patent images as pdf or other formats.

WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization Patent Search
Search international patent applications

InnovationQ Plus This link opens in a new window
InnovationQ is a patent search tool that rapidly sifts through big data to quickly and efficiently pinpoint relevant patents, applications, and non-patent literature from IEEE. There are visualizations, advanced features, and the ability to locate "similar" patents to the target one..
Only one searcher permitted at a time. Must request permission and sign-on information from Kathy Wu, Business Librarian kathyw@library.rochester.edu.

Product and Market Research

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from academic business journals and business trade publications; plus industry reports, some market data, and company profiles from the Experian Commercial Risk database.
For alumni access, see link to Proquest Alumni Edition on the Alumni Library Gateway.
Mintel Reports+Trends This link opens in a new window
In-depth market research & trends reports. Consumer products focus: brands/products, lifestyles, some finance & tech. US & Europe. The finance and culture & identity modules contain finance, sustainable consumer, and diversity, equity & inclusion reports. Each user must create a personal account using a UR email address.
Trends module adds analysis of consumer trends & how they align with business applications.
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Includes both technical reports and market analysis on emerging, high-tech and industrial markets in 50 countries.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on business, news, and companies worldwide, current and historical financial quotes, and company profiles.
ThomasNet This link opens in a new window
Find suppliers or sources of components, equipment, supplies, raw materials and custom manufacturing services in North America.
The only free platform designed for sourcing components, equipment, MRO products, raw materials and custom manufacturing services. Discover OEMs, distributors and custom services; Meet certification, diversity and location needs; Send RFQs and RFIs.

Ebooks

Books24x7.com This link opens in a new window
Full text eBooks on computing and information technology.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Full text of the entire O'Reilly collection of reference and how-to computer books.
Patrons must select Institution Not Listed and input their UR email to access the database.
Knovel Optics and Photonics This link opens in a new window
Ebooks on optical engineering essential for engineers working with the modeling and design of optical components and systems.
Provides technological background, guidelines, calculations and best practice information related to optics and photonics.
Springer eBook Collection - Biomedical and Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
Full text of selected Springer ebook titles in biomedical and life sciences.
Provides options for printing, downloading and use in course packs.
Synthesis Collection of Technology This link opens in a new window
Full-text series of eBook lectures on research topics in Computer Science and Engineering.

BME 295 Senior Design

Your Librarian

Engineering Outreach Librarian

Use Library resources