These volumes, with of a total of 40 chapters, are a comprehensive and complete introductory text on the synthesis, characterization, and applications of nanomaterials. They are aimed at graduate students and researchers whose background is chemistry, physics, materials science, chemical engineering, electrical engineering, and biomedical science.
Polymers are a group of materials made up of long covalently-bonded molecules, which include plastics and rubbers. The use of polymeric materials is increasing rapidly year by year and in many applications they are replacing conventional materials such as metals, wood and natural fibres such as cotton and wool. The book is designed principally for undergraduate and postgraduate students of Chemistry, Physics, Materials Science and Engineering who are studying polymers. An increasing number of graduates in these disciplines go on to work in polymer-based industries, often with little grounding in Polymer Science and so the book should also be of use to scientists in industry and research who need to learn about the subject. A basic knowledge of mathematics, chemistry and physics is assumed although it has been written to be, as far as is possible, self-contained with most equations fully derived and any assumptions stated.
The seven volumes of this reference work provide a clear and systematic treatment of all aspects of the subject from synthetic chemistry, characterization, physical properties and chemical reactions to processing and applications. Each volume reflects the truly important facets of modern polymer science, with the information presented in a concise and logical manner. The 218 articles are written by internationally recognized scientists from over 20 countries, under the direction of a distinguished editorial board assisted by an eminent international advisory board. Scientists from varying disciplines seeking information on the subject will find the volumes a highly valuable and well presented source of authoritative and accurate information.
An in-depth review of important preparative methods for the synthesis and chemical modification of polymers, this authoritative second edition examines the advantages and limitations of various polymerization applications and procedures. It features new approaches and innovative strategies from the most prominent industry and academic laboratories, reflecting the burgeoning role of polymers in modern science and technology. The book analyzes biodegradable polymers for biomedical applications; investigates the use of polyolefins, polymeric dienes, aromatic polyethers, polymides, and metal-containing macromolecules; and covers polymers of acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, and maleic acid.
Articles on inorganic chemistry. Topics include chemical elements, transition metals, nanomaterials, catalysis, coordination chemistry, bioinorganic chemistry, organometallic chemistry, theoretical methods and computational methods. The Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry has been combined with the Handbook of Metalloproteins to form the Encyclopedia of inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry.
Covers the literature in depth from 1982-1994, thus building on the original nine volumes . 14 volume set . 8750 pages approx . Volumes 1-9 provide a detailed account of the organic chemistry of both main group and transition elements . Volume 10 deals with compounds containing heteronuclear metal-metal bonds . Volume 11 describes the use of main group organometallic compounds in organic synthesis . Volume 12 is devoted to the use of transition metal orgnometallic compounds in organic synthesis . Volume 13 consists of a comprehensive index of all organometallic structures studied by diffraction methods . Volume 14 contains subject and formula indexes covering Volumes 1-12
Brings together in one place a survey of the entire body of research in organometallic chemistry for both the main group and transition elements. Not only is the basic organoelement chemistry covered in detail, together with appropriate spectroscopic and structural information, but the applications of metallic species in stoichiometric and catalytic syntheses of organic compounds and in environmental chemistry are discussed in depth.
This book is designed to help readers interpret experimental data, understand the material published in modern journals of inorganic chemistry, and make decisions about what techniques will be the most useful in solving particular structural problems. Topics addressed include time scales of physical methods, relative advantages and disadvantages of those methods, nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy, and rotational and vibrational spectroscopy.
Retains the easy-to-read format and informal flavor of the previous editions, and includes new material on the symmetric properties of extended arrays (crystals), projection operators, LCAO molecular orbitals, and electron counting rules. Also contains many new exercises and illustrations.
This revised and updated edition emphasizes the physical concepts and applications of group theory rather than complex mathematics. User-friendly, it offers a simple approach to space groups, answering many frequently asked questions in detail. Features a new chapter on solid state, scores of diagrams and problems and more questions and answers. Mathematical proofs are included in the appendices.
This textbook gives a concise introduction to modern crystal structure determination, emphasising both its theoretical background and the way it is actually carried out. The theoretical sections are supported by many illustrations, and lay emphasis on a good understanding rather than rigorous mathematics. The most important data collection techniques, and the methods of data reduction, structure solution and refinement are discussed from a practical point of view. Many tips and insights help readers to recognise and avoid possible errors and traps, and to judge the quality of results. The second edition has been considerably updated, especially the chapter on experimental methods, which is now mainly concerned with modern data collection using area-detectors.
Closely follows an actual structural determination. After some introductory material on the nature of x-rays, the diffraction process, and the internal geometry of crystals, the selection and preparation of a crystal are considered. Techniques of measuring raw x-ray data are covered, plus their reduction into a useable form. The second part discusses both traditional and novel methods of solving the ``phase'' problem, the principal difficulty in x-ray structure determination. The third part considers how to extract the most information from the data and how to evaluate its reliability. Finally, there is a discussion of sources of error in practice and interpretation.
Infrared and Raman spectra refer to a group of analytical techniques used to fingerprint (identify) chemical substances. Every substance/chemical compound leaves a different print or spectra when zapped with light. Part A of the two-volume work covers the theory and application of infrared and Raman spectra to the field of inorganic chemistry.
by James E. Huheey; Ellen A. Keiter; Richard L. Keiter
Publication Date: 1997-01-07
This edition contains rewritten chapters throughout, with expanded coverage of symmetry and group theory and related areas such as spectroscopy and crystallography. Reorganized chapters on bonding, coordination chemistry and organometallic chemistry are also included.
The Manipulation of Air-Sensitive Compounds
by Duward F. Shriver; M. A. Drezdzon
Publication Date: 1986-11-05
Revised to reflect the continuing and growing importance of research and development within this field, The Manipulation of Air-Sensitive Compounds, 2nd Edition offers state-of-the-art methods used in handling air-sensitive compounds, including gases. Part One covers inert atmosphere techniques, while Part Two treats vacuum line techniques. Appendixes provide safety data, information on materials used to construct apparatus, and a table of vapor pressures of common volatile substances.