Skip to main content

WRT 105 Science and Belief (Shields): Research Guide

Science & Theism

Looking for introductory essays and articles?

The sources below cover many topics in Philosophy. The Philosophy Compass covers the entire discipline of philosophy and publishes original, peer-reviewed, state-of-the-art surveys of current research. The handbooks and companions are focused collections on particular areas in Philosophy.

Looking for information on Evolution?

This links below can help you understand more about the Theory of Evolution and how it happens at the molecular level. My name is Moriana Garcia and I am the Biology Librarian. Please contact me if you have any questions or if you want additional information.

Understanding Call Numbers

We use Call Numbers to organize books on the shelves, so books on the same topic stay together. We use the Library of Congress Classification System, which uses a combination of letters and numbers.

Right click on the image below to view/open.

Finding a book in the Stacks in Rush Rhees

Picking your topic IS research!

Interlibrary Loan

If UR doesn't have the article or book you need, Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that will deliver a copy to you. PDFs of articles usually arrive in two days or less!  Just go to the ILL page: https://illiad.lib.rochester.edu/

Still can't find what you're looking for?  Please contact me! 

Researching your topic: Step 1 - Encyclopedia and bibliographies

Getting started on your topic? Begin by checking out these encyclopedia and bibliography databases. They'll provide you with a basic background for your topic, and a list of important papers published on your topic.  This is a great time-saver.

When you have a list of books or articles to search for, you can search from our Articles & Books tab on our homepage: http://www.library.rochester.edu.

Researching your topic: Step 2 - Finding Articles and Books on your topic

Looking for articles or books on your topic?  You can search using the  Articles and Books tab to search UR for them, or for citations you've found from step one (If we don't have an article you need, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan - step 3 below). 

If you're just beginning your research, it's best to start with a philosophy-specific database. This means that your results will all be papers in philosophy. 


Does your topic have a more historical or interdisciplinary approach? The databases below can help!


 

If you have an article that you like and would like to see who else has cited it since it was published, try Google Scholar - just find your article and then click the "Cited By" link. 

Librarian

Eileen Daly-Boas's picture
Eileen Daly-Boas

Can’t find a time on my schedule that works for you? Meet with the on-call librarian at tinyurl.com/rcloncall.
   
                             
        Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
Rush Rhees Library, Room 106, 755 Library Rd, Rochester, NY 14627
(585)273-5360



Prefer to have a video chat? Find a time with "Meet with Me" and choose the video chat option.

Annotated Bibliography

As part of your assignment you need to create an Annotated Bibliography. Check the links below for definitions and examples.

Strategy

Whether you're writing a literature review or gathering sources for a research paper, a mind-map or a matrix can help organize your information. A mind map helps you organize the elements of your review using a structure you create yourself. A matrix pre-sets some of the structure by having columns for each article, and rows for the specific elements you're interested in, you can see if you've got opposing arguments, missing data, methods, evidence, etc. Here's an example of a mind map, or you can create your own:  https://www.mindmeister.com/149941134/literature-review     You can download a Microsoft Word Matrix for Literature Review here: