Skip to main content

* English: WWI/Modernism

Voyager: British Modernism

You will find more examples here.

Web Resources on British Literature

First World War: Prose and Poetry

 

The British Library on the prose of World War I. 

The British Library on the poetry of World War I. 

Literature and the War - Yale University.

First World War in Literature - Literary Connections

Voyager: American Modernism

Here is a sample list of books on Modern American Literature. 

Web Resources on American Literature

See a sample of cultural productions in 1900-19091910-1919, and 1920-1929 in the United States. 

 

American Verse Project

"The American Verse Project is a collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press. The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920." Fully searchable.

 

Historical Text Archive

Contains texts ranging from the colonial period to the 20th century. Also includes subject categories: U.S. Wars, African American, Native American, Gazettes/Newspapers, etc.

 

The Academy of American Poets

Offers poets's biographies, text, images, audio clips of poems and more.

 

Voices from the Gaps: Women Writers of Color

Includes full-text editions by African-American, Asian-American, Chicana/Latina, Indian/Middle Eastern/Arabic, and Indigenous/Native American women writers, as well as biographies, notes, and bibliographies.

 

Native American Authors in the Internet Public Library

Bibliography of online and print resources written by and about Native American authors.

Voyager: WWI Literature

A sample list of books on WWI literature available through Voyager.