Skip to main content

* Religion and Theology: Colgate Rochester Crozer and St. Bernard's: Orientation

Accessing the UR library

Hello and welcome! If you're just starting to use the library, here's a few things to know:

To search for books and articles, you have a few options.

  1. Starting at the library's homepage: www.library.rochester.edu, you can search either our entire set of articles and books via the first tab, Articles and Books, or use the UR catalog tab to search for books only.  
  2. If you're searching for articles, then you can use the Articles and Books tab at the homepage, or use a specialized database that collects  articles (and some books) on religion and theology. Click on the Databases tab at the homepage and choose Browse by Subject, and select Religion. You can find these on the Research Guide tab in this guide as well. The main one most students use is ATLA religion, but there are many good sources.

To borrow books from the library, you'll need to get a barcode from UR on your ID card. CRCDS students can get this from Swasey library, St. Bernard's students can get one at the main desk in Rush Rhees Library on the UR campus.  CRCDS students can get parking passes from Swasey library, and St. Bernard's students need to identify themselves at the parking kiosk. 

In order to access articles and ebooks available through the library, and request books be delivered to Swasey Library or St. Bernard's, you will need a Guest NetID. You can get this by emailing Rose Flickner at rflickner@library.rochester.edu. In the subject line, put "NetID request - CRCDS" or "NetID request - St. Bernard's." 

You can also request books and articles not owned by UR. The Interlibrary Loan department can get most books and articles that you need, and articles take under 48 hours to be delivered electronically (in most cases). You'll need a Personal NetID for this as well. See the videos in the right-hand column for help.

Questions about the Library?

If you're a little overwhelmed, that's ok! We have lots of ways to help you.  

  • You can call Eileen Daly-Boas at (585) 273-5360, or email eileend@library.rochester.edu (email is often the quickest way to get a response).
  • You can always call the main help desk at Rush Rhees Library: we call it the Q&i desk - they specialize in questions! (585) 275-5804. 
  • You can use our Instant Messenger (chat) feature, which is at the top of library webpages. 
  • You can make an appointment with Eileen using the link under her profile picture below (apologies for the giant picture).

Frequently Asked Questions from Theology students

Here are some frequently asked questions and their answers!

  • Q. What if the book I want is already checked out?
  • A. You can recall it, by finding the book in the UR Catalog and clicking "Request this Item." We have long check-out periods and unlimited renewals, so be sure to recall a book if you need it. 

  • Q. What if I don't know where to begin? 
  • A. Give a call or email to Eileen, or you can call the Q&i desk and they'll help get you started.

  • Q. Why should I use the library when there's Google?
  • A. Google is great for finding some information, but when doing graduate-level research, it's best to start with high-quality, vetted material. The University pays millions of dollars a year for access to articles and ebooks that aren't available on the web. Why? First, much of academic research is done in journals, and those have subscription fees. We also purchase databases that are designed to help scholars find relevant, high-quality material. 

 

 

Searching ATLA database

Search ATLA for Scripture Citation

handout for Sister Nancy Hawkins

Guide for Research in Theology: libguides.lib.rochester.edu/REL  

You’ll see a special tab for Colgate Rochester Crozer and St. Bernard’s.

Eileen Daly-Boas at (585) 273-5360, or email eileend@library.rochester.edu

Accessing the UR libraries 

Hello and welcome! If you're just starting to use the library, here's a few things to know:

To search for books and articles, you have a few options.

  1. Starting at the library's homepage: www.library.rochester.edu, you can search either our entire set of articles and books via the first tab, Articles and Books, or use the UR Catalog tab to search for books only.  

  2. If you're searching for articles, then you can use the Articles and Books tab at the homepage, or use a specialized database that collects articles (and some books) on religion and theology. Click on the Databases tab at the homepage and choose Browse by Subject, and select Religion. You can find these on the Research Guide tab in this guide as well. The main one most students use is ATLA Religion, but there are many good sources.

To borrow books in person from the library, you'll need to get a barcode from UR on your ID card. St. Bernard's students can get one at the main desk in Rush Rhees Library on the UR campus if you don’t get one from Eileen.  You’re welcome to visit the library. Parking is free on weekends and after 7pm. Before that, St. Bernard's students need to stop at the parking kiosk on Wilson Blvd. to purchase a pass to Library Lot.

In order to access articles and ebooks available through the library’s database, or request items, you’ll need a Personal NetID (sometimes called a Guest NetID). You can get this by emailing Rose Flickner at rflickner@library.rochester.edu . In the subject line, put "NetID request - St. Bernard's,” and in the body of the email, include your name and your status (student/faculty).

To request books at UR library be brought to St. Bernard’s, you’ll need to fill out an Interlibrary Loan form at illiad.lib.rochester.edu. This is also how you will request books and articles not owned by UR. The Interlibrary Loan department can get most books and articles that you need, and articles take under 48 hours to be delivered electronically (in most cases). You'll need a Personal NetID for this as well. See the videos in the guide for help.

Questions about the Library? Here’s a few ways to get help:

  • You can call Eileen Daly-Boas at (585) 273-5360, or email eileend@library.rochester.edu (email is often the quickest way to get a response).

  • You can always call the main help desk at Rush Rhees Library: we call it the Q&i desk - they specialize in questions! (585) 275-5804. 

  • You can use our Instant Messenger (chat) feature, which is at the top of library webpages. 

  • You can make an appointment with Eileen using the link under her profile picture.

For Exegesis or Annotated Bibliographies

Searching ATLA Religion Database (a good place to start)

From the library’s homepage, click the tab that says Databases, click “Browse by Subject” then click on “Religion”.  The first database listed is ATLA Religion. You’ll be asked for your netID. The default search  is for keyword, but if there’s a scripture citation you’re interested in, like Luke 5-9, you can pull down the dropdown to SC: Scripture Citation. Play around with these! Notice that there are limiters on the left column, just like with Amazon, only these are limiting for language, year, subject, etc.

I’ve put three short videos on searching ATLA on the tab for Colgate and St. Bernard’s on the Guide at libguides.lib.rochester.edu/REL

Searching the UR Catalog:

For books (both in print and electronic) finding a Bible Commentary is often helpful for both exegesis and annotated bibliographies. The easiest way to find a commentary is by clicking on the UR Catalog tab, then typing: Bible the book Commentaries and choosing Subject Heading from the drop-down menu. Example: Bible Luke Commentaries; Bible Acts Commentaries, etc.

 

Frequently Asked Questions from Theology students

Here are some frequently asked questions and their answers!

  • Q. What if the book I want is already checked out?

  • A. You can recall it, by finding the book in the UR Catalog and clicking "Request this Item." We have long check-out periods and unlimited renewals, so be sure to recall a book if you need it. 


     

  • Q. Why should I use the library when there's Google?

  • A. Google is great for finding some information, but when doing graduate-level research, it's best to start with high-quality, vetted material. The University pays millions of dollars a year for access to articles and ebooks that aren't available on the web. Why? First, much of academic research is done in journals, and those have subscription fees. We also purchase databases that are designed to help scholars find relevant, high-quality material. 


     

  • Q. What does a librarian do? Why would I need one?

  • A. A librarian can help you with search strategies, finding the best scholarly sources, creating your works cited pages, and navigating a pretty complicated landscape of digital resources.  A librarian is part of your "support staff," which means you've got an expert researcher who is ready and willing to help you.  A librarian can show you the most efficient ways to find the best materials, and this will SAVE YOU TIME!  So, if you'd like a little more time in your day, talk to a librarian!

 

librarian

Eileen Daly-Boas's picture
Eileen Daly-Boas

Can’t find a time on my schedule that works for you? Meet with the on-call librarian at tinyurl.com/rcloncall.
   
                             
        Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
email: edaly@library.rochester.edu

Phone: (585)273-5360
Rush Rhees Library, Room 106, 755 Library Rd, Rochester, NY 14627



Prefer to have a video chat? Find a time with "Meet with Me" and choose the video chat option.
585-273-5360

Chat with Eileen

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Requesting materials from UR for CRCDS

Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity students and faculty can request UR books be delivered by:

1. Find the book in our catalog - and click on the title to open it's individual page.

2. Click "Request this item" on the right-hand side.

3. Enter your barcode and last name in the right-hand panel.

4. Choose: pick up item at my circ desk, and choose Swasey Div Circ Desk

5. Click "submit."

The short video below will walk you through the process.

Requesting materials through Interlibrary Loan

You'll sometimes find you'll need items that aren't owned by UR, CRCDS or St. Bernard's. In those cases, you'll use Interlibrary Loan to request those materials. PDFs of articles or individual chapters usually takes only a day or two to arrive. Print books take a little longer, depending on which library we're borrowing from. 

St. Bernard's students and faculty: you'll use Interlibrary Loan to request books from UR libraries as well. 

First, you'll need to sign up for a personal (guest) NetID. To request a guest NetID, email Rose Flickner at rflickner@library.rochester.edu with the subject line: Requesting NetID for CRCDS/St. Bernard's (whichever school you are registered at). She'll send you a link to set up your netID. 

Once you have that, there are a couple of ways to use Interlibrary Loan (ILL). One way is to click on the Find@UR link that you'll see in many databases.  When we can't connect you to full text, you'll see an option to Request via Interlibrary Loan. Once you log in, you'll see a form already filled out, and you'll only need to put the date you want the item by and click Submit.

The other way is to go to illiad.lib.rochester.edu and then choose the type of material you're requesting: a book, book chapter, article, etc. Enter all the information you have, and the date you'd like it by, and click submit.  

The three videos below will show you how to sign up, how to request through a database, and how to request by entering in the information by hand. 

 

PIcking your topic is research