Skip to main content

IB Extended Essay - Library Session: Using UR Resources

Welcome

You will be looking at a variety of resources on the library website. The boxes below will direct you to the different resources recommended for the different topic areas for your class.

If you don't know where to go in Rush Rhees Library, check out our floor plans

Some of you might need the Carlson Library floor plans.

If you have any questions on how to find or access anything, please do not hesitate to ask! 

Best of luck to all of you on your projects!

Recommended Resources and Article Databases for Psychology & Human Rights

Recommended Article Databases for History

Recommended Article Databases for Science

Books:

Encyclopedia Articles:

Articles on All Subjects including Science:

Science Specific Articles:

Recommended Article Databases for Literature & Arts

Multidisciplinary Databases

Computer Login

To access library resources on public computers: Login with provided User Name and Password. This access allows printing and saving with USB flash drives. On your laptop, login to the guest wireless network.  

 

Printing & Saving Articles

Options:

  1. Download the article and email it to yourself using your gmail
  2. Send yourself the email using the email feature on the database (within some article databases)
  3. Download the article and save to a flash/thumb drive

Detailed instructions on how to use the printing system from a public computer can be found here:
http://tech.rochester.edu/tutorials/how-to-use-the-public-printing-system.

Circulation & Checkout

If you find a book that you would like to check out of the library, you may not do so today. You may however, return on another date. 

Ages 18 or over: Borrowing privileges are granted to individuals with RRLC Access cards.  Please inquire at your school library for details.

Ages younger than 18 will have to return with a parent or guardian to check the book out. Your parent will need to sign up for a RRLC borrower's card.  

For more information on borrowing policies, see: 
http://www.library.rochester.edu/use#pre-college

 

Handouts and other useful stuff

Citation Tracking: Finding articles by citation

Once you have one (or more) useful article on a topic, use the references at the end of article to find more sources on your topic using our Citation Search tool.  This helps you see what was written previous to your current article, often called citing backward.

Use Google Scholar to see who has cited your article after it was published.  This helps you see what has been written after your article was published, citing forward.