Throughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. This collection of 4,606 titles is a treasure trove of archival and historical films from multiple sources..
This collection includes streaming videos of the 37 Shakespeare plays that the BBC produced for television broadcast between 1978 and 1985 in the series created by Cedric Messina. The videos include performances by some of Britain's most distinguished actors and actresses. Each play may be viewed in its entirety or each act may be viewed separately. All videos have optional closed captioning.
900 hours of video content covering the full scope of 20th and 21st century dance, with dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. International in scope and thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.
The featured resources are global in scope, including documentary and indigenous media, produced by anthropologist and ethnographers.
Kanopy is a streaming video database with over 20,000 movie titles from a large group of film producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber Edu, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, BBC Active Collection, and many others.
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive began recording broadcasts on August 5, 1968 with the mission to create, preserve and provide access to the news broadcasts from the U.S. national television networks. The core collection of the Archive consists of regularly scheduled newscasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News. Special news reports are recorded in addition to these newscasts, including material from other networks. We record broadcasts as they are televised, provide the widest access allowable within copyright for scholarship and research, and preserve the content for future generations.
Access to videos from CNN and NBC are accessible to the University of Rochester community.