LibGuides: * Materials Science: Citation to Full Text

Finding Full Text Journal Articles

overview of tips and techniques to get to full text for chemistry articles

Links Below

Strategies for finding full text articles from a citation/ reference.

Try to find the DOI - Digital Object Identifier - and put that into Google for quick access.
Copy and paste article title words and author last name into "DiscoverUR" or Google Scholar.
Link to article using a DOI or Find@ UR from a database.
Decipher the abbreviated journal title using the CAS Source Index.
Search the full journal title in DiscoverUR ex. "Journal of Organic Chemistry" in the journal search.
Browse for the journal in Browzine Online or App.
Install LibKey Nomad browser plugin for linking.
Try different variations in the "DiscoverUR" Advanced Search, Citation Linker, Google Scholar or Web of Science if the citation is wrong.
If there is no online version, request a copy through Interlibrary Loan Service. Articles often come in within hours.
Questions or problems? Email or meet with your librarian.

DiscoverUR Catalog Search

Use the Catalog Search in DiscoverUR to search specifically for books or journal titles or other materials available at the University of Rochester Library. Use the full Articles, Books & More for searching for article authors and titles.

Need More?

WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
Identifies and locates books and other materials owned by libraries in the Rochester region and nationally.
tags: firstsearch, first search, world cat, worldcat

Interlibrary Loan
Not finding the article or book you need in the library? Use this free service to obtain library resources. A pdf of an article is usually delivered in 24 - 48 hours.
Recommend a purchase
If you think the library should purchase a copy of a book, report, or other types of materials, please fill out this form to let us know. UR login required.

Quick Article Finding Tools

Google Scholar
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.

LibKey Nomad Browser Plugin
This browser plugin will add a button to each article so that you can easily get to the University's subscribed articles.

Search or Browse Chemistry Journals

Browzine

Chemistry Journals via Browzine
Browse current Chemistry journal issues that University of Rochester subscribes to. There is a mobile app as well. To find this download, see the upper right menu.
Chemical Engineering Journals
Browse Chemical Engineering Journals that University of Rochester subscribes to on the web or in the app.

DiscoverUR Journal Search

Deciphering Your Citation

CAS Source Index (CASSI)
Find full chemistry journal titles from abbreviated titles. Include the periods after the abbreviations and do an exact match. Also useful for finding translation journals.

UlrichsWeb
Identifies scholarly and popular journals, magazines, and other serial publications from around the world.
tags: Ulrich's, Ulrichs,

Includes reviews of many titles.

Fetch Item (Citation Linker)
If you have a citation to an article, Citation Linker will check to see if the library has it online. Enter as much of the citation as you have. If nothing is found, try again after removing page numbers and dates.

Tip from Sue: If your citation is wrong, try Google Scholar or Web of Science and look at similar citations.

Web of Science
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.