LibGuides: * Economics (new): Statistics & Data

Data

CompuStat This link opens in a new window
Financial, statistical and market information on active and inactive global companies throughout the world.
Special instructions: requires an account for use. Contact Kathy Wu (kathyw@library.rochester.edu) for further questions.
ORBIS This link opens in a new window
Orbis includes (209 million) global companies’ financial accounts, credit scores from a number of independent providers, directorships, ownership structures, PEPs and sanctions information and details of mergers and acquisitions activity. Over 99% of the companies on Orbis are private. Private company information is more difficult to obtain as the legal obligation to file account varies widely from country to country.
Osiris This link opens in a new window
Osiris has information on listed, and major unlisted/delisted, companies across the globe. The financial reports provided by the database range from summaries, to standardized reports, to raw data. It covers a wealth of complementary information including ratings, earnings estimates, news, industry research, royalty data, corporate actions, stock data, corporate structures and economic backgrounds.

FRED - Federal Reserve Economic Data

World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
IMF eLibrary Data This link opens in a new window
Unified access to all IMF economic/financial data & statistics for over 200 countries. Four databases in one: IFS, BOP, DOT, GFS.
Unified access to four IMF databases: International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payments Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, and Government Finance Statistics. Time series data is not always complete for every country.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) International Financial Statistics (IFS) This link opens in a new window
Downloadable financial and economic time series data for over 200 countries.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the full range of OECD statistical publications; coverage is global. Formerly known as SourceOECD.
Global Financial Data This link opens in a new window
Downloadable datasets of basic economic indicators (exchange & interest rates, commodity prices, CPI, PPI, etc.). Click Here to see the handout on Adjusting Data in the Global Financial Data database. Create a personal login for full functionality.
Provides long time series, and various interactive analysis tools. Global coverage is selective: can't guarantee that data will be available for every country. Note! UR does NOT subscribe to the US Stock or Global Stock Database sections.
ICPSR - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Datasets and codebooks in political science, health and welfare, education and economics.
Datasets, with codebooks, on political attitudes, health and welfare, education and economic behavior. Almost all codebooks are online. If a codebook is only available in hard copy, you may contact us for more info.
Vizala This link opens in a new window
This database contains data for economics, market research, demographics, education, health and more from many different sources. Vizala also provides tools that allow you to customize any view of data with filtering and sorting options. You can then save, share, or export any of those customized views.
free and open source database
External Debt This link opens in a new window
Debt statistics provide a detailed picture of debt stocks and flows of developing countries. Data presented as part of the Quarterly External Debt Statistics takes a closer look at the external debt of high-income countries and emerging markets to enable a more complete understanding of global financial flows. The Quarterly Public Sector Debt database provides further data on public sector valuation methods, debt instruments, and clearly defined tiers of debt for central, state and local government, as well as extra-budgetary agencies and funds.
Data are gathered from national statistical organizations and central banks as well as by various major multilateral institutions and World Bank staff.