Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine, with some links to full text. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Full text is available through the "Other Sources" link. A separate registration is required before the first use. See About SciFinder for more detail.
Please watch the first two videos "Input Structures Using the Drawing Editor" & "Using a Structure Search to Find Compounds" and the last video "Understanding Substance Details" to quickly learn how to search and find chemical properties using SciFinder.
Search compound by name if you have it. Some compounds have more than one name, ex. ethanol
Put molecular formulas in "hill order": Carbons first, then hydrogens, and then all other elements alphabetically. With some databases, capitalization does count.
Chemical Abstract Registry number is like a social security number for a compound and is a very precise way to search.
Many resources have both property and spectra information.
Your boiling point may be higher or lower (+/- 5 degrees) than the literature values.
Notice the technique and instrumentation that is used for obtaining spectra. Does it match yours? If not, what differences between spectra would you expect?
Find chemical properties and structures with related references.
Find chemical properties and structures with related references. Search by structure, name, molecular formula, CAS Registry number, property value or any combination. Retrieve basic property information, description of hazard, derivatives properties, and references to synthetic methods and spectra. Covers properties of inorganic, organic, organometallic, pharmacological agents, analytical reagents or natural products. This is the online version of "Dictionary of organic compounds", "Dictionary of natural products", "Dictionary of inorganic compounds", "Dictionary of organometallic compounds", "Dictionary of pharmacological agents", and "Dictionary of analytical reagents". For more information see the introduction on the database website.
This text presents a unified approach to the structure determination of organic compounds based largely on mass spectrometry, infrared (IR) spectroscopy, and multinuclear and multidimensional nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy. The key strength of this text is the extensive set of practice and real-data problems (in Chapters 7 and 8).
Gain an understanding of the latest advances in spectroscopy with the text that has set the unrivaled standard for more than 30 years: Pavia/Lampman/Kriz/Vyvyan's INTRODUCTION TO SPECTROSCOPY, 4e. This comprehensive resource provides an unmatched systematic introduction to spectra and basic theoretical concepts in spectroscopic methods that create a practical learning resource whether you're an introductory student or someone who needs a reliable reference text on spectroscopy. This well-rounded introduction features updated spectra; a modernized presentation of one-dimensional nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy; the introduction of biological molecules in mass spectrometry; and inclusion of modern techniques alongside DEPT, COSY, and HECTOR. Count on this book's exceptional presentation to provide the comprehensive coverage you need to understand today's spectroscopic techniques.
This book provides a thorough introduction to the three areas of spectrometry most widely used in spectrometric identification: mass spectrometry, infrared spectrometry, and nuclear magnetic resonance spectrometry. A how-to, hands-on teaching manual with considerably expanded NMR coverage--NMR spectra can now be interpreted in exquisite detail. This book uses a problem-solving approach with extensive reference charts and tables.
A derivative of the volume Registry of Mass Spectral Data, this work specifically selects from each spectrum only the peaks which are of most importance in identifying chemicals. The peak information is then organized for easy use by those who use mass spectroscopy as their tool to identify unknown chemicals.
Chemical properties, structures, MSDS, pricing, IR and NMR spectra. Search by substance name, CAS registry number, product name or number. A plugin needs to be downloaded from the site to enable structure searching.
Find chemical and physical properties, thermochemistry data or IR, UV/VIS or Mass spectra.
Find chemical and physical properties, thermochemistry data or IR, UV/VIS or Mass spectra by searching for chemical species by name, registry number, molecular formula, or structure. Also find Henry's law and ion energetics data. More NIST databases are available at http://www.nist.gov/srd/online.htm
This three volume set of 12,000 high-resolution 75MHz 13C and 300MHz 1H FT-NMR spectra is arranged according to functionality. The Library contains CNMR and HNMR spectra of 11,828 organic compounds as well as information about their physico-chemical properties.
In rare cases, when spectra are difficult to find in the usual places, SciFinder almost always has an experimental or predicted spectra or points to a literature reference. A separate registration is required before the first use. See About SciFinder for more details.
Search by CAS number, name or structure to find articles that contain spectral information. If possible, download the PDF and search for the compound name or the type of spectroscopy you are looking for.