LibGuides: * Data and statistics: Open Data Sets By Topic

Where to find Data and Statistics by Topic

Agriculture
Art & Music
Chemistry Data & Spectra
Criminal Justice
Demographic-Social
Economic & Financial
Education
Elections & Voting (International)
Elections & Voting (U.S.)
Energy
Environment
Geographic Information Systems (GIS)/Geotechnology
Geosciences
Health
Humanities
Labor
Polling Data (US & International)
Social Media Data & Stats
Sports
Transportation
Other specialized data sets

Agriculture Statistics

Agricultural Statistics Annual
Published annually by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agriculture Statistics provides information on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
Census of Agriculture Historical Archive
Public archive of Census of Agriculture publications published 1945-1987 in PDF format.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.
Stanislaus County Crop Reports
Crops reports from 1940 - 2010, compiled by the Stanislaus County Agricultural Commissioner.
USDA Census of Agriculture
The Census of Agriculture is the leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. It is the only source of uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States.

Art & Music

Artnome
Artnome has numerous links to large open research datasets on art collections. This includes the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), The Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Tate Collection, Carnegie Museum of Art, Nationalmuseum Stockholm, Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, and Yale Center for British Arts.
CompMusic
Music datasets created by CompMusic at Universitat Pompeu Fabra. Datasets are on topics such as Indian Art Music, Turkish Makam Music, and Beijing Opera.
Getty Provenance Index (GPI)
The Getty Provenance Index provides access to archival inventories, sales catalogs, and dealer stock books. There is also a database of collectors’ files, a database on payments to artists, and a database containing descriptions and provenances of paintings created before 1900, which were held in Great Britain and the United States from 1500 to 1990.
National Archive of Data on Arts & Culture
The National Archive of Data on Arts and Culture (NADAC) is a repository that facilitates research on arts and culture by acquiring data, particularly those funded by federal agencies and other organizations, and sharing those data with researchers, policymakers, people in the arts and culture field, and the general public.
Open Data at the National Gallery of Art
An open access dataset which includes factual art object information for the 130,000+ artworks and artists at the National Gallery of Art.
The New York Philharmonic Open Data
In support of open data, the Shelby White & Leon Levy Digital Archives Metadata Dataset and The Complete New York Philharmonic Subscribers Dataset has been made open to the public.

Chemistry Data & Spectra

CAS SciFinder This link opens in a new window Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow and Retrosynthesis Plan A separate registration is required before the first use. See About SciFinder for more detail. To use off campus, use VPN.

NIST Chemistry Webbook This site provides chemical data for a wide variety of chemical substances. The database can be searched via chemical name, molecular formula, molecular structure, CAS registry number and chemical reaction.
Sigma Aldrich Catalog Sigma Aldrich provides some spectra and chemical information for many of their chemical products. MSDS are also available.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds, SDBS Spectra from Japan's National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)
NMRShiftDB "NMRShiftDB is a NMR database (web database) for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra. It allows for spectrum prediction (13C, 1H and other nuclei) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties. Last not least, it features peer-reviewed submission of datasets by its users."

Demographic-Socio Statistics

2020 Census Downloadable Files
2020 census data available for users who want to download the set of detailed tables for all of the geographies within a state and run their own analysis and rankings. Also see other Census Data organized by Decade.
American Religion Data Archive (ARDA)
Includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).
U.S. Census - Explore Census Data tool
Provides access to detailed tables and maps for population, housing, and businesses.
Child Welfare
These resources provide State and national statistics on child and family well-being indicators, such as health, child care, education, income, and marriage.
Complete Economic and Demographic Data Source (CEDDS)
Historical, current and projected socioeconomic data for the United States, regions, and counties. Find info on population by age and race, employment by industry, earnings of employees by industry, personal income by source, households by income bracket and retail sales by kind of business. (1970-2050).
Current Population Survey (CPS)
Primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States
Data.gov
Public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
Disability Statistics
Major statistical data sources on disability
DoD PERSONNEL AND MILITARY CASUALTY STATISTICS
Military casualty data and Active Duty military/civilian personnel statistics by rank/grade, service totals, service by Region/Country.
Enron e-mail corpus
Database of over 600,000 emails generated by 158 employees of the Enron Corporation and acquired by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission during its investigation after the company's collapse.
more...less...
34.6 KiB download
General Social Survey
Human Development Report (UNDP)
Data related to development: literacy, health, poverty, income inequality, climate change, crime, population, and more.

ICPSR - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window Datasets and codebooks in political science, health and welfare, education and economics.
Datasets, with codebooks, on political attitudes, health and welfare, education and economic behavior. Almost all codebooks are online. If a codebook is only available in hard copy, you may contact us for more info.

Kids Count Data Book
Assesses child well-being nationally via 16 key indicators 1990-present
Links to World Statistics
Click on "International Statistical Links" to retrieve an A-Z country list with national statistical bureau links attached.
Mexican Migration Project
Gathers social and economic information on Mexican-US migration.
Minnesota Population Center
Search, customize and download datasets for national and international variables.
National Center for Children in Poverty
The National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) is the nation’s leading public policy center dedicated to promoting the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children.
National Centre for Social Research
Data and research studies cover all areas of social policy in the UK.
National Survey of Families and Households
Office of Immigration Statistics
Compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals, permanent legal residents, naturalized citizens and maps with various demographic characteristics (1996-present).
Oxford Poverty & Human Development Initiative
Includes multidimensional poverty index and specific summaries on the results of the MPI analyses in 104 developing nations.
PovcalNet
PovcalNet is an interactive computational tool that allows you to replicate the calculations made by the World Bank's researchers in estimating the extent of absolute poverty in the world, including the $1 a day poverty measures.
United Nations Development Programme
UNDP is the United Nations' global development network, an organization advocating for change and connecting countries to knowledge, experience and resources to help people build a better life.
World Bank
A compilation of international development indicators and socio-economic data.
World Development Report
Provides a yearly overview of the economic, social, and environmental state of the world. Also provides detailed economic data for most countries, quality of life indicators, and other demographic and environmental information.

Criminal Justice Data

FBI Uniform Crime Reports
Uniform Crime Reports - The Uniform Crime Reports (from the FBI) are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States.
New York Criminal Justice Statistics
Contains data on crime and victimization, arrests, dispositions, law enforcement personnel, and more.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Contains statistics for Criminal Justice Characteristics, Public Opinion, "Crime, Victims," "Arrests, Seizures," "Courts, Prosecution, Sentencing," and "Parole, Jails, Prisons, Death Penalty."

Economic and Financial Data

AMECO Annual Macro-Economic Database
Contains economic data for EU member states, EU candidate countries and other OECD countries (United States, Japan, Canada, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Mexico, Korea, Australia and New Zealand).
CBOE Volatility Index® (VIX®)
Current and historical data for the VIX, a barometer for measuring investor sentiment and market volatility.
EconData
Contains several thousand economic time series, produced by a number of U.S. Government agencies and distributed in a variety of formats and media
Eurostat, the Statistical Office of the European Union
FDIC Data & Statistics
Access structural and aggregated financial information & quarterly reports on FDIC-insured institutions
The Foreign Assistance Dashboard
USAID data--Explains where U.S. foreign aid is invested in over 100 countries.
globalEDGE DIBS
A Database of International Business Statistics with over 5000 variables from over 200 countries. Data available from mid-1990s to present. (Free registration is required to access data sets).
Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA) data
Provides information regarding home mortgage lending activity.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data
Data on IMF lending, exchange rates, trade statistics and other economic and financial indicators.
National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) Housing Data
In-depth economic analyses of the home building industry based on private and government data
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Contains useful economic datasets for download
Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Statistics
Stats for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
Surveys of Consumers
University of Michigan Index of consumers sentiment as well as surveys of investors, affluent consumers, and regional data.
Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP)
Contains data on factors such as poverty, income, employment, and health insurance coverage
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
Interactive national, international, regional economic data or industry statistics.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Data
Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject for US labor statistics.
U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission
Futures and options markets data
U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Greenbook)
Provides a complete historical record of all foreign assistance provided by the United States to the rest of the world.
World Investment Report (UNCTAD)
World Investment Report (annual) covers trends and analysis in foreign direct investment

Education Data

Childstats.gov
Data included in FedStats but " this website concentrates on "...statistics and reports on children and families."
Education Watch Online
Ed Watch Interactive is a user-friendly source of data on educational performance and equity by race and class, kindergarten through college.
KidsCount Data Center
Explore hundreds of measures of well-being for kids across the nation, or in your state, city, or community.
NAEP State Profiles
State Profiles presents key data about each state's performance in the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) in mathematics, reading, writing, and science for grades 4 and 8.
Nation's Report Card
The Nation's Report Card presents the results of the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), which measures student achievement in the U.S. in various subjects over time.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
Collects, analyzes and makes available data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
New York State Education Department
Contains data and statistics collected from New York schools and learning support resources.
New York State Report Cards
The New York State Report Cards provide enrollment, demographic, attendance, suspension, dropout, teacher, assessment, accountability, graduation rate, post-graduate plan, career and technical education, and fiscal data for public and charter schools, districts, and the State.
NYC Department of Education
Research and Data on NYC Schools.
TIMMS & PIRLS student achievement data
TIMSS and PIRLS are international assessments that monitor trends in student achievement in mathematics, science, and reading.
United Nations Educational, Scientific and and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Data Centre
Contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication for more than 200 countries and territories

Elections & Voting Data - United States

American Presidency Project: Presidential Election Data
Electoral and popular vote results from 1789 to the present for US Presidential Elections.
American National Election Studies (ANES)
Contains data on voting, public opinion and political participation. Cumulative, time-series, panel and contextual data are available for download.
Center for American Women and Politics: Voters
The Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP), a unit of the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, is nationally recognized as the leading source of scholarly research and current data about American women’s political participation. This site presents data and analysis of women's voting behavior, including statistics on turnout and the gender gap in voting.
Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives: Election Statistics
Official vote counts from 1920 to the present for presidential and congressional elections compiled by the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives. This site also contains links to election resources found on the websites of the Census Bureau, National Archives, Federal Election Commission, and state election offices.
Election Administration and Voting Survey and Data Sets
Data and analyses of US elections, including data on presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial elections, political parties, campaigns, and demographic information.
Federal Election Commission Data Catalog
Downloadable campaign finance information
Harvard Election Data Archive
A space to share and improve election data. You can create an account and either correct the cataloging information for the studies in this dataverse or upload new data files.
Historical Election Returns Datasets, 1788-1990
Four ICPSR studies that provide datasets of electoral returns for approx. 90% of all elections to the offices of president, governor, United States senator, and United States representative for all parties and candidates 1788-1990. Most returns are at the county level.
Library of Congress U.S. Election Statistics: A Resource Guide
A list of online and print resources that contain U.S. election statistics for both federal and state elections.
National Archives: Historical Election Results
The Office of the Federal Register at the National Archives coordinates the functions of the Electoral College on behalf of the Archivist of the United States, the States, and the Congress. This site contains the electoral votes and popular votes from 1789 to the present.
OpenSecrets
Provides contribution and lobbying datasets in American politics
Roper Data Set Search

Statistical DataSets This link opens in a new window
Use a keyword search for elections

U.S. Census Bureau: Voting and Registration
Voting and Registration data have been collected biennially by the U.S. Census Bureau in the November Current Population Survey (CPS). The statistics presented on this website are based on replies to survey inquiries about whether individuals were registered and/or voted in specific national elections. For the purpose of these estimates, election types are considered to be either congressional or presidential.
United States Election Project: Voter Turnout
Dr. Michael McDonald, an Associate Professor at George Mason University, provides national and state voter turnout statistics from 1980 to the present.

Elections & Voting Data - International

Constituency-Level Elections Archive (CLEA)
Contains approximately 1100 elections from 70+ countries at a constituency level for lower house legislative elections. Includes votes received by each candidate/party, total votes cast, number of eligible voters, and seat figures where available. Available in Stata, SPSS, and raw data formats. Dates are variable, but generally 1945+
Global Elections Database
Build data sets on national and subnational elections around the world 1940s-2010s. Accessible in multiple formats: spreadsheets, tables and GIS maps.
CEPPS Election Guide
Information on international elections: Subnational elections of high interest; Political parties and candidates; Referendum provisions; News on election-related laws and developments around the world; Political institutions and electoral systems; Election results and voter turnout.

Energy Data

BP Reports & Sustainability Data
BP, one of the world's largest energy companies, publishes statistical reviews of world energy, projections and historical data.
Energy Sector Management Assistance Program (World Bank)
Data on environmentally sustainable energy programs in developing countries.
International Energy Agency (IEA)
Energy statistics by country
Joint Organisations Data Initiative (JODI)
Monthly data for the biggest oil producing and consuming countries.
NCES Common Core of Data
A program of the U.S. Department of Education's National Center for Education Statistics, this site provides annual and national statistics for all public elementary and secondary schools, and school districts across the U.S. Data can be located under "Quick Facts", "Data", or by searching for a specific school or school district under "School/District Locator." Fiscal and Nonfiscal reports, and working papers can be located under "Publications."
Nuclear Energy Agency
Contains both experimental and evaluated nuclear data including nuclear reaction ((the properties of interacting nuclei, e.g. cross sections) and nuclear structure (the properties of single nuclei) data.
Petroleum Economist
A journal covering the global energy market (1998-present).
U.S. Energy Information Administration Data
Company level data on the supply and disposition of natural gas in the United States, Electric power data collected by surveys, international energy statistics, energy country profiles for 217 countries, state and territory energy profiles for the U.S., financial data collected from major energy producers, short-term and historical energy outlook data & projections, and real energy prices.
UN Energy Statistics Database
Provides energy data for more than 215 countries, areas and regions on the production, trade and intermediate and final consumption for primary and secondary conventional, non-conventional and new and renewable sources of energy from 1990 onwards.
UN Energy Statistics Yearbook
World Resources Institute Data-Lab
Provides data sets on energy, climate, forests, water, & sustainability.
Marine Cadastre
A joint BOEM and NOAA initiative providing authoritative data to meet the needs of the offshore energy and marine planning communities.

Environment

Environmental Data Initiative (EDI)
Data sets curated from projects funded by NSF Divison of Environmental Biology.
Forest Ecology Monitoring Cooperative
FEMC is a repository for data collected and used by academic, governmental and non-profit partners in the Northeast United States Region.
Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN)
CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.
Earth Policy Institute Data Center
Provides datasets on environmental issues in the areas of population, health, society, natural systems, climate, energy, transportation, food & agriculture, and economy & policy.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change Data (IPCC)
Provides climate, socio-economic and environmental data, both from the past and also in scenarios projected into the future.
NOAA's Weather and Climate Data
Guide by NOAA linking to datasets and climate reports (land-based stations, satallite, radal, modelling, weather balloons, marine/ocian, paleoclimatology, and severe weather).
NOAA's Ocean data
With data about Tides and Currents, Nautical Charts, Harmful Algal Blooms, Sea Level Rise, and more
Northeast Regional Climate Center (NRCC)
The mission of the Northeast Regional Climate Center is to facilitate and enhance the collection, dissemination and use of climate data and information, as well as to monitor and assess climatic conditions and impacts in the twelve-state, northeastern region of the United States.
Aquastat (FAO)
UN Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) global water information system
UN Water Statistics (SDG 6)
United Nations agency providing data on fresh water issues around the globe.
Environmental Indicators (United Nations Statistics Division)
UNSD Environmental Indicators disseminate global environment statistics on ten indicator themes compiled from a wide range of data sources.
Universities Allied for Water Research - CUAHSI
Consortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science, Inc. is a NSF funded project to provide infrastructure for national and international research on water resources, including a data portal.
World Resources Institute Datasets
Provides datasets, maps, data visualizations, charts, and graphs on environmental issues.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications
EPA's National Service Center for Environment publications

Open Web - Advanced Search Tips

The open web provides a plethora of resources for finding data. Try using Google Advanced searching or Google Dataset Search.

Tips for Advanced Google searching include:

Include search terms like data or table
Google ignores the word AND as a search operator. But, typing OR in all caps will find similar or related terms (e.g. women OR females OR girls).
Search for a particular document type (e.g. childhood obesity filetype:xls)
Search for data on a particular site or domain (e.g. childhood obesity site:.gov)
Exclude words by using the "-" sign in front of the word you wish to exclude

Featured resources for data & statistics

Cross-National Time Series Data Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides annual data covering over 200 countries and 196 variables including measurements for civil unrest, voting, political parties, media, trade, and regime characteristics. Coverage from 1815-present.
ICPSR - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Datasets and codebooks in political science, health and welfare, education and economics.
Datasets, with codebooks, on political attitudes, health and welfare, education and economic behavior. Almost all codebooks are online. If a codebook is only available in hard copy, you may contact us for more info.
NYRDC database
As a member of the New York Federal Statistical Research Data Center Consortium (NYRDC), researchers affiliated with UR now have access to restricted-use microdata from various statistical agencies, such as the U.S. Census Bureau, National Center for Health Statistics, etc.
For accessing information, please contact Kathy Wu kathyw@library.rochester.edu.
We now are a member of the New York Federal Statistical Research Data Center Consortium (NYRDC), which comprises 13 universities and research institutions in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut. The consortium operates at three locations: Baruch College, Cornell University, and Yale University.

As a member of NYRDC, UR qualified researchers now can access restricted-use microdata from a variety of statistical agencies to address import research questions. Federal and state statistical agencies work collaboratively with the U.S. Census Bureau to provide restricted-use microdata to approved researchers in the secure federal statistical research data center environment. These restricted-use data have not been released publicly for reasons of confidentiality. A wide variety of data sets produced by the Census Bureau, National Center for Health Statistics, Agency for Health Research and Quality, Bureau of Labor Statistics, and Bureau of Economic Analysis are available at NYRDC.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window US and international statistics. Includes full text statistical tables and abstracts of additional statistical sources.
Covers material in American Statistics Index (ASI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and Statistical Reference Index (SRI). Googling for material not in full text in the database works quite well.
Reference Solutions via Data Axle This link opens in a new window Comprehensive company/residential directory; build lists using 30 variables or Map Based Search. Includes consumer demographics and historical business data.
Reference Solutions is a series of databases from Data Axle, the largest business and residential data compiler in the US. Data is updated on a monthly basis and telephone verified for accuracy, and geocoded. Users can build lists of companies using more than 30 selections such as geography, industry, and employee size. Users can pinpoint their geographical parameters using Reference Solutions' Map Based Search feature which allows radii and polygons to be formed, allowing for the study of very specific areas. Data breakdowns can also be viewed in exportable graphs, charts and heat maps. Plus, the U.S. Historical Businesses database provides 10 years of historical data. Reference Solutions also maintains a database for US Consumers to allow the study of consumer demographics compiled at the individual level. The new US Jobs database is updated hourly with content on current job and internship postings.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides interactive tools to create maps, presentations, and analysis of U.S. and international data, including census, health, crime, religion, and business.
Statistical DataSets This link opens in a new window
Graphical, interactive access to hundreds of datasets covering the social sciences, healthcare, and more. US, some international. Also known as Data Planet Statistical DataSets.

Geoscience Data

EarthChem Portal
Geochemical data from a variety of sources worldwide. Advanced search interface allows users to define many parameters to find appropriate information.
National Climatic Data Center
A large archive of climate data.
GeoGratis
Geospatial information from the Canadian federal government, including topographic maps and GIS data.
National Geophysical Data Center
Bathymetry, earth observations from space, geomagnetic data & models, marine geology & geophysics, natural hazards, space weather & solar events.
ShareGeo Open
ShareGeo Open is a spatial data repository that promotes data sharing between creators and users of spatial data. Geospatial data of all kinds is available.

Pangaea This link opens in a new window
Open access data repository that archives, publishes and distributes georeferenced data from earth system research.

National Geologic Map Database
Database by the USGS and the Association of American State Geologists

Geographic Information Systems (GIS)/Geotechnology

National GeoPlatform (EPA)
Provides shared and trusted geospatial data, services, and applications for use by the public.
Free GIS Data
A database of spatial data sources and other GIS information.
GADM database of Global Administrative Areas
A spatial database of the location of the world's administrative areas including countries and lower level subdivisions such as provinces, departments, bibhag, bundeslander, daerah istimewa, fivondronana, krong, landsvæðun, opština, sous-préfectures, counties, and thana.
GeoNetwork
Find interactive maps, GIS data sets, satellite imagery and related applications.
Geospatial Data Gateway
The Geospatial Data Gateway (GDG) is the One Stop Source for environmental and natural resources data.
Harvard Geospatial Library
A collection of 7,908 worldwide and regional geographic data layers, scanned historic maps and associated descriptive information that can be searched mapped and downloaded for use with your GIS software.
National Climatic Data Center
A large archive of climate data.
National Geospatial Program
A gateway to resources that help visualize national geospatial data in map format.
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
Free aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2015.
National Weather Service GIS Data
GIS data with a Meteorological slant issued by the National Weather Service
Natural Earth
A public domain map dataset available at 1:10m, 1:50m, and 1:110 million scales. includes vector and raster data, can also create maps.
GeoData at Tufts
An open source, federated web application framework to rapidly discover, preview and retrieve geospatial data from multiple repositories.
OpenStreetMap
National Geospatial Program (USGS)
A resource that provides access to free downloads of various layers of National Geospatial Data.
U.S. Census Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing (TIGER)
Spatial extracts from the Census Bureau's MAF/TIGER database, containing features such as roads, railroads, rivers, as well as legal and statistical geographic areas
UNEP - Geo Data
The GEO Data Portal is the authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. Its online database holds more than 500 different variables, as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP.
USDA - Web Soil Survey
"Provides soil data and information [in map form] produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey."
USGS - Land Processes Distributed Active Archive Center (LP DAAC)
"A component of NASAs Earth Observing System (EOS) Data and Information System (EOSDIS). LP DAAC processes, archives, and distributes land data and products derived from the EOS sensors."

Health Statistics

CDC National Survey Collections
Public health statistics
CDC WONDER
WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.
healthdata.gov
Datasets, tools, and applications gathered from agencies across the Federal government
Dryad
Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes research data discoverable, freely reusable, and citable.
Global Health Observatory (GHO)
A centralized and comprehensive source of information and analyses on global health R&D activities for human disease.
HIV/AIDS Database
Data from 219 countries and areas on the prevalence of HIV infection and AIDS cases and deaths.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Contains current data from surveys such as the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), birth and mortality detail files, National Immunization Survey, Longitudinal Study of Aging, and National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG)
NIH Data Sharing Repositories
NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse
Patient Characteristics Survey (NY Office of Mental Health)
The PCS is conducted every two years, and collects demographic, clinical, and service-related information for each person who receives a public mental health service during a specified one-week period.
SAMHSA
Data published by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
U.S. Small-area Life Expectancy Estimates Project (USALEEP)
Estimates of life expectancy at birth—the average number of years a person can expect to live—for most of the census tracts in the United States for the period 2010-2015.

Humanities

Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America
This archive has free access to original historical linguistic data from 400 indigenous languages. You do need to register if you want to download files.
British Library Datasets
Includes ZIP files of the British National Bibliography, as well as Open RDF/XML data on the British National Bibliography, British Library Integrated Catalogue (Books), and British Library printed music. Finally, there are numerous history datasets (i.e., Black History Month, Magna Carta, Women’s rights, etc.), literature datasets (datasets focused on famous authors), music datasets (i.e., History of Music), and other datasets (i.e., National parks, Theology, etc.).
Caselaw Access Project (CAP)
Created by Harvard University’s Library Innovation Lab, the Caselaw Access Project (CAP) has 360 years of United States caselaw, and access to API and Bulk Data Service.
Digital Humanities Toychest
A collection of digital humanities resources curated by Alan Liu. Includes collections and datasets.
Early English Books Online
A collection of fully searchable and SGML/XML-encoded texts corresponding with the Early English Books online. Data created by partnership with ProQuest and more than 150 libraries.
Early Novels Database (END)
The END project generates high-quality metadata about novels published between 1660 and 1850 in order to make early works of fiction more available to both traditional and computational modes of humanistic study.
EarlyPrint
A collaborative effort by Northwestern University and Washington University in St. Louis to transform the early English print record, from 1473 to the early 1700s, into a linguistically annotated and deeply searchable text corpus.
GDELT: A Global Database of Society
GDELT monitors print, broadcast, and web news media in over 100 languages from across every country in the world to keep continually updated on breaking developments everywhere on the planet.
HTRC Derived Datasets
Metadata representing the curated collection of HathiTrust volumes. Datasets include NovelTM Datasets for English-Language Fiction, 1700-2009, Word Frequencies in English-Language Literature, 1700-1922, and Geographic Locations in English-Language Literature, 1701-2011.
HumanitiesData.com
A collection of publicly available humanities datasets.
Journal of Open Humanities Data
This peer-reviewed journal describes humanities research objects with high potential for reuse. These might include curated resources like (annotated) linguistic corpora, ontologies, and lexicons, as well as databases, maps, atlases, linked data objects, and other datasets created with qualitative, quantitative, or computational methods.
Library of Congress Web Archive Datasets
Derivative datasets of the Library of Congress Web Archives. Includes, but is not limited to, datasets on the United States Elections Web Archive, the American Folklife Center’s Web Cultures Web Archive, and the Webcomics Web Archive.
Melanie Walsh Collection of Datasets
A growing repository of datasets related to culture and the humanities. Notable datasets include one on African American Literature, Colonial South Asian Literature, txtLAB’s Multilingual Novels, U.S. Inaugural Addresses, Refugee Arrivals to the U.S. from 2005-2015, etc.
Natural Language Processing (NLP) Datasets
List of natural language processing datasets which can be found on GitHub.
Oxford Text Archive (OTA)
A repository of full-text literary and linguistic resources. Includes thousands of texts in more than 25 languages.
Philosophy Data Project
A data project focused on using modern data analysis techniques to great texts in the history of philosophy. Current corpus has over 50 texts and 30 authors.
TalkBank
TalkBank is the world’s largest open access integrated repository for spoken language data. It provides language corpora and other audio resources to support researchers in Psychology, Linguistics, Education, Computer Science, and Speech Pathology.
UCLA Phonetics Lab Archive
This archive possesses recordings from more than 200 languages.
World-Historical Dataverse
Created by the World History Center at the University of Pittsburgh, the World-Historical Dataverse possesses links to many datasets connected to history all over the world.

Labor Statistics

International Labour Organization
International labor statistics, standards, key indicators of the labor market, labor force surveys, safety, work conditions, child labor, and labor legislation.
UNCTAD Stat
Information on international trade and economic development trends, markets, and labor force.
United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE)
Provides international labor force and wage information and other economic statistics (1990-present).
OECD Employment database
Contains international policies and data on employment, health, families and children, pension systems, international migration and other social policies and data. Downloadable files in Excel, CSV, PC-axis, or XML.
ICTWSS Database
Database covers four key elements of modern political economies in advanced capitalist societies: Institutional Characteristics of Trade Unions, Wage Setting, State Intervention and Social Pacts in 49 countries between1960 and 2010
Social protection systems (MISSOC)
Provides detailed, comparative tables for social protection systems for 31 countries. Areas covered include financing, healthcare, sickness, maternity, invalidity, old-age, survivors, employment injuries and occupational diseases, family, unemployment, guaranteed minimum resources and long-term care.
Social Security Online
Highlights the principal features of social security programs in more than 170 countries. Public use data downloadable as TXT or SAS zip files.
AFRO Barometer (International)

Polling Data (U.S. & International)

American National Elections Studies ANES conducts national surveys of the American electorate in presidential and midterm election years and carries out research and development work through pilot studies in odd-numbered years." 1948-
ABC News & Washington Post News Polls (U.S.)
Ipsos Polls (U.S. & Canada)
Associated Press Poll Data (U.S.)
CBS News Poll Database (U.S.)
FiveThirtyEight aggregates polls and uses statistical analysis to tell stories about elections, sports, economics, etc
FOX News Polls (U.S.)
General Social Survey A standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest, that has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.
New York Times Polls (U.S.)
Polling Report Polls from over 36 sources, including Gallup, Harris, Pew Research, and media orgs. Recent polls listed on homepage; to browse by topic, use links for Politics and Policy, Business/Economy, or The American Scene on the left. Some info only for subscribers.

Roper Center for Public Opinion - iPOLL This link opens in a new window Survey results, questionnaires, and possible dataset download option for an extensive collection of public opinion polls.

Roper US Elections Exit Poll Data Primary, national, and state exit polling data for presidential elections from 1976 to the present.
Washington Post Polls (U.S.)
National Opinion Research Center (U.S.)

International

AFRO Barometer (International)
ASEP/JDS data bank Provides social science statistical data and survey data files for the following collections: • The Values Surveys • Immigrants Collection • Latinobarómetro • 'The Public Opinion of Spaniards' survey (ASEP, Spain) • Afrobarometer • CIRES (Centre for Research on the Social Reality) • East-Asian Barometer • Centre for the Study of the Contemporary Reality (CERC) • Comparative Studies on Electoral Systems (CSES) • Globalbarometer • Real Instituto Elcano de Estudios Internacionales y Estratégicos • International Social Survey Program (ISSP)
Canadian Opinion Research Archive
LAPOP-Latin American Public Opinion Project (International)
Latinobarometro (International)
Odum Institute of for Research in Social Science Data Archive
Access national and international economic, electoral, demographic, financial, health, public opinion and other types of data
Pew Research Data (International)
World Public Opinion.org (International)
World Values Survey (International) The World Values Survey has conducted five waves of surveys in 87 countries since 1981.

Social Media Statistics/Datasets

Here are a few articles and guidelines for deepening your understanding of the ethical considerations in social media research:

Association of Internet Researchers, “Ethical Decision-Making and Internet Research”, 2012.
Annette Markham, “OKCupid data release fiasco”, May 18, 2016.
North Carolina State University Libraries, “Social Media Toolkit: Legal and Ethical Implications”, 2015.
Katrin Weller and Katharina Kinder-Kurlanda, “A manifesto for data sharing in social media research”, Proceedings of the 8th ACM Conference on Web Science, 2016.

UR provides access to Mathematica, SAS, SPSS/AMOS, STATA, MATLAB, IMSL, PV-Wave, and JMP. Or download R from The R Project.

Data Mine
Infographics and stats on social media topics
Data Repository for NaN Group
Public datasets and tools for processing data for researchers
Nielsen State of the Media Reports
Reports on mobile and social media use.
Pew Internet & American Life Project Datasets
Social Computing Data Repository at Arizona State University
Repository of datasets from social media sites included in this repository are BlogCatalog, Twitter, MyBlogLog, Digg, StumbleUpon, del.icio.us, MySpace, LiveJournal, The Unofficial Apple Weblog (TUAW), Reddit, etc.
Social Feed Manager
Social Feed Manager is open source software that harvests social media data and web resources from Twitter, Tumblr, Flickr, and Sina Weibo. Find social media data such as Tweets from 60 Twitter accounts belonging to the President, Vice President, White House and administration officials, Cabinet members, political appointees members of Congress, official offices, and other related accounts, activists for the 2017 women’s march, news outlets, and more.
StatCounter Social Media Stats
YouTube Statistics
Twitter - 2016 United States Presidential Election Tweet Ids
This dataset contains the tweet ids of approximately 280 million tweets related to the 2016 United States presidential election. They were collected between July 13, 2016 and November 10, 2016 from the Twitter API
Twitter - DocNow Catalog
Provides a listing of publicly available Twitter datasets.
Twitter - Beyond the Hashtags Twitter data
40 million tweet dataset of tweets posted between June 1, 2014 and May 31, 2015
Twitter - Historical PowerTrack (Fee based)
An API that provides access to the entire historical archive of public Twitter data-- to use the API you must set up an account through a sales representative.

Sports Data

Data.gov Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act Data
Data drawn from the OPE Equity in Athletics Disclosure Website database reported by all co-educational postsecondary institutions that receive Title IV funding (i.e., those that participate in federal student aid programs) and that have an intercollegiate athletics program.
Equity in Athletics Data Analysis Cutting Tool
Provide customized reports for public inquiries relating to equity in athletics data.
NCAA.com
Rankings and championship historical data by school or sport.
Official Olympic Games results
Reference.com
Professional sports data for major and minor league baseball, NBA, NFL, NHL as well as college football, college basketball and olympic sports.
Tableau Software's Sport's Data Sites
Links to sports data on American Football, Baseball, Basketball, Cricket, Cycling, Fencing, Golf, Hockey, Olympics, Poker, Racing, Rugby, Soccer, Tennis, and Volleyball.

Transportation Data

Airline Data Project
Provides statistical and financial data for the airline industry
International Transport Forum
Contains data relevant to a range of transport policy issues including investment & maintenance, transport statistics, emissions, road taxation and safety.
The Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS)
Part of the division of the Research and Innovative Technology Administration of the U.S. Department of Transportation. The BTS compiles, analyzes, and publishes statistical information on U.S. transportation systems. Data downloadable as CSV file (1995-present).

Other specialized datasets

DBpedia Data Sets
Downloads a community effort to extract structured info from Wikipedia and make that data publicly available on the web
NASA Earth Data
Data for Earth Sciences
NASA Planetary Data System (PDS) Datasets
The PDS archives and distributes scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements.
NBA Stats
Historical stats and data dating back to the NBA's first season in 1946.

* Data and statistics: Open Data Sets By Topic

Need Data Fast?