Skip to main content

*Digital Media Studies: Articles

Welcome

Because digital media studies includes a variety of disciplines - media theory, history, philosophy, journalism, television, radio, electronic media (including the Internet and video games), politics, public policy, intellectual property, copyright law, and so on - no single resource (or call number in the Stacks) will encompass every facet under its umbrella. If there's something you need that you haven't found on this guide, contact me for a research consultation!

Recommended Resources

Multidisciplinary Databases

Citation Tracking: Finding articles by citation

Once you have one (or more) useful article on a topic, use the references at the end of article to find more sources on your topic using our Citation Search tool.  This helps you see what was written previous to your current article, often called citing backward.

Use Google Scholar to see who has cited your article after it was published.  This helps you see what has been written after your article was published, citing forward.

Choosing the right database

Ask yourself what type of source is more likely to have the information you need and how will I use this source?:

  • News articles?
  • Scholarly journal articles?
  • Empirical studies?
  • Data and statistics?
  • Primary documents?

Deciding the most likely source will help determine which database to use. Different databases are composed of information from different types of sources.  BEAM is a method for helping you decide how you might use a source.

Ask yourself if the database you select provides full-text, or only citations and /or abstracts:

  • If the database you need to use does not have full-text, use the button.
  • If you have a citation, use the Citation Search Tool to locate the full-text.

Understand the scope of the database you select. Ask yourself:

  • Does this database cover the subject area (discipline) I really need, or is there a better, more focused database?
  • Does this database provide indexing for the date range I need?
  • Will this database point me to or provide the full-text for articles written during the time period that is appropriate for my research need?

Although retrospective materials are sometimes added to databases, the actual article you need might not be available electronically, because it is too old or too new. 

Ask yourself if there are special advanced features that can improve your search results or make searching easier:

  • Does this database allow me to limit my search to a specific date range, or to a particular magazine or journal?
  • Does this database allow me to email, download, or export articles to my citation manager like Zotero or RefWorks?
  • Are there features that can help me to generate better search terms, like the Thesaurus feature or the "Browse Subject Headings" features in some databases?

Digital Media Studies

Outreach Librarian for the Social Sciences

Justina Elmore's picture
Justina Elmore
Can’t find a time on my schedule that works for you? Meet with the on-call librarian at tinyurl.com/rcloncall
   
                             
        Chat is unavailable, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
Outreach, Learning, Research Ser.
Rush Rhees Library, 500 Joseph C. Wilson Blvd.
Rochester, NY 14627

* Email me to arrange an evening or off-campus video chat.

League of Librarians
(585) 276-7845
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact

Attribution

 This Library Guide by Justina Elmore is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International LicenseAny part of it may be used as long as credit is included.  Derivative works can be licensed under Creative Commons to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.