LibGuides: HIS 303W International Human Rights: Books and E-books

Books to get you started

Contemporary History of Exclusion: The Roma Issue in Hungary from 1945 to 2015

Hijab and the Republic: Uncovering the French Headscarf Debate

Jewish-Israeli National Identity and Dissidence

Only Hope: Coming of Age Under China's One-Child Policy

Passions of the Cut Sleeve: The Male Homosexual Tradition in China

The American Red Cross from Clara Barton to the New Deal

Human Rights: Realities and Possibilities (Northern Ireland, the Republic of Ireland, Yugoslavia, and Hungary)

Repression and Resistance in Communist Europe

Muslims and the State in Britain, France, and Germany

Unveiling the French Republic: National Identity, Secularism, and Islam in Contemporary France

Champions of Charity: War and the Rise of the Red Cross

Humanitarians at War: The Red Cross in the Shadow of the Holocaust

Finding E-books

River Campus Libraries provides access to over one million e-books covering a large variety of disciplines and publishers. Because our e-books are available through different databases and websites, the easiest way to find an e-book in UR’s collection is to start on the library's homepage and choose "Library Catalog Only" from the dropdown box.

To narrow your search to e-books, choose the Available online, Books, and Book chapters filters from the options on the left-hand side of your results (Show Me)...or use the search box below.

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Also known as the ACLS History Ebook Project, this humanities-focused e-book collection includes nearly 5,400 scholarly titles.

JSTOR Books
In addition to the ebooks U of R purchases through JSTOR, this database provides access to more than 6,000 open access ebooks from leading publishers including some content exclusive to JSTOR.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is U of R's primary e-book platform with thousands of titles from all disciplines. Many of these titles can be found through the library's main search page, but searching Ebook Central directly is a great way to make sure you don't miss e-book titles relevant to your topic.
EBSCOHost eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
Like Ebook Central, EBSCO provides access to a collection of e-books on a wide range of topics. This collection of e-books isn't quite as extensive as Ebook Central, but you still may find some useful books on your topic in this database.
Not all titles are downloadable. It depends on the agreement with the publisher, however many titles can be downloaded. If downloading is permitted, you will see a button in the results list that says "download offline," and on the record for the book itself, a utton that says "Download this ebook" Make sure that you have an up to date version of Adobe Digital Editions. Click here for more help.

Finding books via the library's website

Books are essential resources when conducting research in humanistic fields such as history and religion and classics. The River Campus Libraries provide immediate access to over one million titles including both print and electronic books. Need something not in UR's collection? You can use interlibrary loan (a free service!) to get access to any titles that you need.

One of the best places to find books on your topic is through the library's website. To get started, visit the library's homepage and choose "Library Catalog Only" from the dropdown box...or try out the search box below.

If you see a book of interest, click on the title to see more about the book including subject headings. Subject headings are essentially tags that are assigned to the books based on the overall theme and topic. You can click on these subject headings to find other books in the collection that have been tagged with the same topic (Show Me).

Books may be available as print books or e-books. For e-books, click on the book's title or "Available Online" to access the full-text through one of the library's databases. For print books, click on the book's title or for details and additional options (Show Me).

Assuming the book is available, you can then find the book in the stacks (based on the call number) and check it out at the Q&i Desk using your University of Rochester ID card. If you're not in a rush, you can also request that the item be brought to the Rush Rhees Q&i Desk for you to pick up. If the item is not available (e.g. "Out of library"), you can use the "Request" feature in our catalog to ask that the book be returned and held for you once it is available (Show Me).

Venturing into the stacks yourself to find a book can be a great way to expand your research. Books are organized by subject-based call numbers, so if you find one book on your topic chances are the books nearby will be relevant as well. The Rush Rhees stacks can seem overwhelming at first, but help is available! Either reach out to your librarian for help navigating the stacks or watch this short video tutorial.

Finding books via WorldCat

WorldCat is an online catalog that searches library collections around the world. Using WorldCat can be a great way to find books in UR's collection, as well as titles available from other libraries. Search for your topic and look for the green "UNIV OF ROCHESTER" label to find items in our collection. Once you click on an item's title you should be able to see a "Search the catalog at University of Rochester Libraries" link to find where the book is in our collections (Show Me). Find something not in our collection? No problem! You can use the library's interlibrary loan to have the book sent to River Campus Libraries free of charge.

If you are short on time, you can limit your WorldCat search to items available through UR's library by choosing "Items in my library" and "Items in other U of R libraries" near the bottom of your search screen (Show Me). You can request that items from the Edward G. Miner Library or Sibley Music Library be sent to the Rush Rhees Q&i Desk by using the "Request" feature in UR's library catalog. (Show Me)

HIS 303W International Human Rights