Skip to main content

* Linguistics: Research Resources

Funding resources for students including research grants, essay competitions, travel, and more.

Databases

ProQuest databases can be searched at the same time by clicking on one of the ProQuest databases, then choosing "Change databses" from the menu along the top of the screen that opens.

  • LLBA - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest):  Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics
  • PsycInfo via ProQuest: Covers an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work
  • Social Science Database (ProQuest): Provides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology

EBSCO databases can be searched at the same time by clicking on one of the EBSCO databases, then clicking on "Choose Databases" above the search box at the top of the screen.

  • CMMC - Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCO): Full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
  • SOCIndex (EBSCO): Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

For classes cross-listed with BCS, BME, or NSC

  • PubMed - Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology, many with links to full text.
  • Web of Science - Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from all disciplines, some with links to full text.

Other helpful databases:

  • Google Scholar - For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.
  • MLA International Bilbliography:  Identifies articles, books, dissertations on literature, linguistics, film and folklore.
  • AnthroSource: Full text electronic archive of all journals from the American Anthropological Association.

Streaming video

  • Alexander Street  Streaming access to 14,000 titles; browse by fields of interest
  • Ethnographic Video Online  Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field (now part of Alexander Street database)
  • Kanopy  Streaming video database with over 20,000 movie titles from a large group of film producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber Edu, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, BBC Active Collection, and many others

Browse Journals & Conference Papers

Browse Comparative and Historical Linguistics journals using Browzine

Screenshot of journals

Browse papers from historical linguistic conferences

  • Enter Historical linguistics--Congresses into the UR Catalog search tab and select Subject Heading from the drop down menu.

Searching for historical linguistics conference papers

 

Browse Computational Linguistics journals using Browzine

Computational Linguistic journals

Browse Anthropological Linguistics and Sociolinguistics journals using Browzine

Anthropological Linguistics journals

Loading ...

Want to Roam the Stacks?

Items pertaining to linguistics can be found in Library of Congress class P. Grammars and dictionaries are interspersed through much of the class according to their language. The below linked document outlines the subclasses in class P and can be of great help if you wish to browse the physical library collections.

Class P (less literature)

Subclass P

Level B

Search Using Articles and Books

Articles & Books searches many of the library's resources at once. This is a powerful, fast research tool!

Tip:  When off-campus , log in with your NetID & password

Enter your keywords in the search box.

Search Faster

  • Search phrases using quotation marks
    • example:  "to be or not to be"
  • Combine words with AND, OR, and NOT in capital letters
    • example:  microcircuits OR nanocircuits
  • Substitute * for several possible letters
    • example:  child*     ...will find child, childhood, children, etc.
  • Complex searches may combine elements
    • example:  homeless AND (healthcare OR "health care") AND (adolescents OR teen*)

 

Reference

The atlas case is located on the back wall of the room adjacent to the Rhees Reference stacks.

  • Oxford English Dictionary  online and Rhees Reference PE1625 .O87 1989
  • Idioms and phrases index  Rhees Reference PE1689 .I3 1983
  • Oxford dictionary of idioms  Rhees Reference PE1464 .O94 2004
  • Dictionary of English collocations : based on the Brown corpus   Rhees Reference PE1689 .K54 1994
Loading ...

Ask Me

Stephanie Barrett's picture
Stephanie Barrett
Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.
Contact:
Rush Rhees Library, 500 Joseph C. Wilson Blvd.
Rochester, NY 14627
585-275-9299

New Linguistics Books!

Loading ...

Interlibrary Loan

Library Locations & Maps

These University of Rochester Libraries house materials useful for research in Linguistics.