LibGuides: REL 167W: Speaking Stones: Home

Resources in Rush Rhees Library

Mt. Hope and Riverside Cemetery Records
This database is an online version of a 4-cd set of microfilmed images produced with a New York State grant. Some 360,000 burials in Mount Hope Cemetery over a period of 164 years are included here, as well as the records of Riverside Cemetery.
The database only includes records up until early 2002. All records since that time have been computerized and are available by contacting the cemetery directly.

Reprints from The hospital review, devoted to the interests of the soldier... by Kevin W. Wilson, editor
Call Number: Special Collections: HB1357.R67 W55 2001
Deaths recorded at Rochester City Hospital, 1864-1890

University of Rochester Archives
Search for alumni, University events, and the Alumni newletter.
Democrat and Chronicle (online)
For dates from 1999-present.
Democrat and Chronicle, Rochester, NY (1884-2011)
This online collection covers years 1884-2011.
Democrat and Chronicle
Microfilm only available for: Feb. 17, 1834-June 1844.
(You must request microfilm from Annex)
If you know the approximate date of death, you may be able to locate an obituary. The Rochester Public Library has a photocopied card file that serves as an index to some back dates of this newspaper. For deaths after 1960, use the Life Records index at Rochester Public Library.
Epitaph: Friends of Mt. Hope Newsletter
Winter 1981 - Summer 2021
This newsletter is dedicated to publishing articles on Mount Hope and the people buried there. Some of the articles were written by students in Th. Emil Homerin's Speaking Stones class.

General catalogue of the University of Rochester : 1850-1928
Call Number: LD4723 1928
Lists names of all alumni who attended UR for at least one year and gives brief biographical information, including death dates.
Click title for online version, hard copies in Rare Books and Rush Rhees stacks

Index to Biographical Sketches of Rochesterians and Monroe Countians
Indexes 70 books with biographical information of Rochesterians. Compiled by Karl Sanford Kabelac.
Markers : the annual journal of the Association for Gravestone Studies.
Older issues in Rhees Stacks, Level A. Recent issues in the Messinger Periodical Reading Room.
Mt. Hope Cemetery Interment Index
In Rare Books and Special Collections:
Lists name, date of interment, age, cause of death, residence and the section of Mt. Hope where the person is buried. There is also an index by cause of death.
Mt. Hope Cemetery Church Records and Plot Books
Useful church records, and the Plot Books at Mt. Hope Cemetery.
Rochester City Directories Online (1827-1946)
Good place to look to find out a person's street address, family members, occupation.
Rochester City Directories (print/microfiche)
Print and fiche copies available in Rhees Stacks Oversized, Rare Books and Special Collections, or by requesting microfiche.
Rochester History
This publication presents articles focussing on some aspect of Rochester history and includes biographical information on many of the people who were influencial in shaping it.
Rush Rhees Rare Books Dept. Alphabetical list of manuscript collections with online registers
Provides descriptions of the contents of many manuscript collections held by the Dept. of Rare Books and Special Collections, many of which contain information about Rochester families. The listing is by family name.
Basic Sources for Rochester History
A guide to printed and online sources available for Rochester history.
American National Biography (online)
Premier biographical work on people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture.
Ancestry - Library Edition
Provides access to census, vital, church, court, and immigration records for the U.S. and Great Britain.

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text of American newspapers from colonial times to the 1920's. Also known as Early American Newspapers. From Readex.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. This databases indexes journal articles, book reviews, book chapters, dissertations, and more and is an essential tool for history research.

Fulton History - local newspapers
Scanned images of many NYS newspapers. Tricky to use, and not full coverage, but sometimes useful.
You'll have to let Flash run temporarily.
Rare Books and Special Collections Homepage

Resources at the Rochester Public Library

115 South Avenue, Rochester, NY 14604 (428-8370)

Index to Local Newspapers: 1818-1850, 1851-1897, 1898-1903 (browsable printed indexes and browsable card file
These are indexes to the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle, the Rochester Times Union and many of the local weekly newspapers in circulation at the time. They are very useful for marriage and death notices.

Vital Records Index.
Births 1881-1929
Deaths 1880-1954
Marriages 1881-1954

Death Notices (1950's & 1960's) (browsable card file)
Includes clippings of obituaries from the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle or Times Union.

Civil War Soldiers (browsable card file)
Indexes notices about civil war soldiers in local newspapers.

WW II names (browsable card file)
Reports of wounded, missing, killed and prisoners of war.

Family Records Researched by the Genealogy round Table (browsable file drawers)
Descriptions and notes on Rochester families (filed by last name).

Early Rochester Family Records (browsable scrapbook)
Clippings from a column in the Rochester Post Express, July 1910-April 1912.

Biography Scrapbooks (late 1930's and 1940's), Scrapbook of biographies of men (1930's- 1950's), Scrapbook of biographies of women (1940's-1960's) (browsable scrapbooks)
These scrapbooks are clippings (mostly from Rochester Democrat and Chronicle and Times Union) of articles that include biographical information about Rochesterians. The Womens' scrapbook only includes last names A-McW. The project was discontinued.

Previous Speaking Stones Essays

Check here to be sure that your person hasn't already been researched: https://urresearch.rochester.edu/viewInstitutionalCollection.action?collectionId=143

Social Science Librarian

Eileen Daly-Boas

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Prefer Zoom? If I'm on chat, I'm happy to switch to Zoom.
Pronouns: she/her/hers

(585) 236-4145

Subjects: Citing & Writing, Education, Philosophy, Religion & Theology

Rare Books and Special Collections

Contact Autumn Haag for information regarding using Rare Books and Special Collections:

Autumn Haag,

Special Collections Librarian/Archivist for Research and Collections
ahaag@library.rochester.edu

University Archives Help

Melissa Mead (University Archives)

Email Me

Contact:

Rush Rhees Library, 225

585-275-9337

Subjects: University of Rochester History