LibGuides: TUR 246 Resistance Literature across the Middle East and North Africa : Home

Library Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a great starting place for most topics. Particularly strong in the humanities and social sciences, JSTOR provides access to a wide range of journals from history, area studies, sociology, and more. Watch this short tutorial for tips on getting the most out of your JSTOR search.
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project Muse is a great resource for finding articles on your topic. Like JSTOR, it provides access to scholarly journal articles from a range of humanities and social science disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The primary resource for sources on literature, linguistics, and related disciplines, MLA International Bibliography is one of the best choices when researching literary topics. If you don't see the full-text for an article, click the red "FindText@UR" button to see if UR provides full-text access through another database (we often do!).
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is a great multidisciplinary database with full-text articles from humanities-based disciplines such as art, film, music, and religion. It also includes research from history, traditionally considered a humanistic social science.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is a great multidisciplinary database with full-text articles from social science-based disciplines such as sociology, anthropology, economics, and political science. It also includes research from history, traditionally considered a humanistic social science.
Abstracts included from 1994-current; full text for many articles from 1994-current.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts is a key database for non-U.S. and non-Canadian historical research. This is an abstract database, so if you don't see the full-text for an article, click the red "FindText@UR" button to see if UR provides full-text access through another database (we often do!).

Modal - JSTOR - Search Tips (jstorModal)

Finding E-books

River Campus Libraries provides access to over one million e-books covering a large variety of disciplines and publishers. Because our e-books are available through different databases and websites, the easiest way to find an e-book in UR’s collection is to start on the library's homepage and choose "Library Catalog Only" from the dropdown box.

To narrow your search to e-books, choose the Available online, Books, and Book chapters filters from the options on the left-hand side of your results (Show Me)...or use the search box below.

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Also known as the ACLS History Ebook Project, this humanities-focused e-book collection includes nearly 5,400 scholarly titles.

JSTOR Books
In addition to the ebooks U of R purchases through JSTOR, this database provides access to more than 6,000 open access ebooks from leading publishers including some content exclusive to JSTOR.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is U of R's primary e-book platform with thousands of titles from all disciplines. Many of these titles can be found through the library's main search page, but searching Ebook Central directly is a great way to make sure you don't miss e-book titles relevant to your topic.
EBSCOHost eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
Like Ebook Central, EBSCO provides access to a collection of e-books on a wide range of topics. This collection of e-books isn't quite as extensive as Ebook Central, but you still may find some useful books on your topic in this database.
Not all titles are downloadable. It depends on the agreement with the publisher, however many titles can be downloaded. If downloading is permitted, you will see a button in the results list that says "download offline," and on the record for the book itself, a utton that says "Download this ebook" Make sure that you have an up to date version of Adobe Digital Editions. Click here for more help.

Humanities Librarian

Lara Nicosia

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

(585) 275-9298

Subjects: Arabic Language and Culture, Classical Greek & Latin, Hebrew Language and Culture, History, Religion & Theology, Turkish Language and Culture

TUR 246 Resistance Literature across the Middle East and North Africa : Home

Welcome

Library Databases

Finding E-books

Humanities Librarian