Skip to main content

* Research Guide for Upward Bound: Home

Upward Bound - Where to Start

When beginning research, you likely have a few needs:

  • A question! Something you're curious about. This is the first step whether you're researching to buy a new car or to solve a problem dealing with the social forces that prevent people from escaping poverty.
  • Some background about the topic you're interested in. Encyclopedias are a good source for this information.
  • An idea of what the scholars or authorities in the area are discussing. Databases are good for finding out what scholars and scientists are writing about. The University of Rochester has a variety of databases - ones that cover many fields of study, and some that focus on a narrow subject, like Economics or Education.
  • A plan for gathering and then keeping track of information. Creating a document or a spreadsheet at the beginning of your research can help. You might consider using a mind map to organize your ideas and keep track of your research question.

 

 

PIcking your topic is research

Keyword vs Subject

Keyword Searching vs Subject Searching: What's the difference?

Here are some key differences between keyword searching and subject searching:

Keyword

vs.

Subject

Natural language words describing your topic. A good way to start your search.

 

Pre-defined "controlled vocabulary" words assigned to describe the content of each item in a database or catalog.

More flexible for searching. You can combine terms in any number of ways.

 

Less flexible. You must know the exact controlled vocabulary term or phrase.

Database looks for keywords anywhere in the record (title, author name, subject headings, etc.).

 

Database looks for subjects only in the subject heading or descriptor field, where the most relevant words appear.

Often yields too many or too few results.

 

If a subject heading search yields too many results, you can often select subheadings to focus on one aspect of the broader subject.

Often yields many irrelevant results.

 

Results are usually very relevant to the topic.

 

When you do a keyword search or an "any word anywhere" search in a library catalog or a database, you can type in words that describe your research topic in any order and retrieve records containing those search terms. A major disadvantage of a keyword search is that it does not take into account the meaning of the words used as search terms, so if a term has more than one meaning (such as "mouse" - computer hardware or rodent?), irrelevant records may be retrieved.

When you do a subject search or a descriptor search in a library catalog or database, only the subject headings or descriptors are searched for words that match your search terms. In library catalogs and databases, items are assigned subject headings as access points to assist users in locating the content. These subject headings might be subdivided with more information (exampleLibraries--History--20th century) or include a parenthetical note to clarify the meaning (example: Mice (Computers)). Using subject headings ensures that all items about the same topic have consistent subject headings and so they can all be accessed with one search term. This saves you time! If you're looking for information about "death penalty" you don't have to search for every word that might be used to describe the death penalty (execution, electrocution, capital punishment, death row, etc.). Instead, you can check a list of subject headings in an index or a thesaurus and retrieve all items on the topic with just one search.

Get a proper citation from Articles & Books tab

This video has no sound. Open full-size by clicking the icon to the right of "YouTube" at the bottom once the video is playing. 

Fake or Legit? Tips and tools for Evaluating Sources

Evaluating information sources: 


Fact Checking:

Evaluating Images:

Other tools:

Philosophy, Religion and Classics Librarian

Eileen Daly-Boas's picture
Eileen Daly-Boas

Can’t find a time on my schedule that works for you? Meet with the on-call librarian at tinyurl.com/rcloncall.
   
                             
        Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
Rush Rhees Library, Room 106, 755 Library Rd, Rochester, NY 14627
(585)273-5360



Prefer to have a video chat? Find a time with "Meet with Me" and choose the video chat option.

Film and Media Studies Librarian

Nora Dimmock's picture
Nora Dimmock
Contact:
229 Rush Rhees Library
585.273.5010
Skype Contact
Social:Twitter Page

Outreach Librarian for the Social Sciences

Justina Elmore's picture
Justina Elmore
Can’t find a time on my schedule that works for you? Meet with the on-call librarian at tinyurl.com/rcloncall
   
                             
        Chat is unavailable, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
Outreach, Learning, Research Ser.
Rush Rhees Library, 500 Joseph C. Wilson Blvd.
Rochester, NY 14627

* Email me to arrange an evening or off-campus video chat.

League of Librarians
(585) 276-7845
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact

Ask Tyler!

Tyler Dzuba's picture
Tyler Dzuba
Schedule an Appointment
   
                             
        Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
Carlson Library 313F
POA Library, Bausch & Lomb 374
585-275-7659
Social:Twitter Page

Librarian

Sue Cardinal's picture
Sue Cardinal
   
                             
        Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
313A Carlson Library
Rochester, NY 14627-0236
Phone: 585 275-9007
Website / Blog Page

Outreach Librarian

Moriana Garcia's picture
Moriana Garcia
   
                             
        Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
Carlson Science & Engineering Library #313D
585-275-8088

Librarian

Eileen Daly-Boas's picture
Eileen Daly-Boas

Can’t find a time on my schedule that works for you? Meet with the on-call librarian at tinyurl.com/rcloncall.
   
                             
        Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
Rush Rhees Library, Room 106, 755 Library Rd, Rochester, NY 14627
(585)273-5360



Prefer to have a video chat? Find a time with "Meet with Me" and choose the video chat option.

Librarian

Lindsey Rae's picture
Lindsey Rae
chat loading...
Contact:
313 Carlson Library
(585) 275-8829

Government Information and Economics Librarian

Kathy Wu's picture
Kathy Wu
Contact:
585-273-5322
I am available for one-on-one consultation, which will be conducted at Rush Rhees Q&i desk.

I am also the librarian for the English for Academic Purposes Program
Website / Blog Page

Your Course Librarian

Kimberly Hoffman's picture
Kimberly Hoffman
   
                             
        Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
Outreach, Learning, and Research Services
Rush Rhees, Office 106
Website / Blog Page

Business Librarian

Robert Berkman's picture
Robert Berkman
   
                             
        Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
Outreach, Learning and Research Services; Rush Rhees Library, 500 Joseph C. Wilson Blvd. Rochester NY 14627

Government Information and Economics Librarian

Kathy Wu's picture
Kathy Wu
Contact:
585-273-5322
I am available for one-on-one consultation, which will be conducted at Rush Rhees Q&i desk.

I am also the librarian for the English for Academic Purposes Program
Website / Blog Page

History Librarian, University of Rochester

Alan Unsworth's picture
Alan Unsworth
Make an appointment
   
                             
        Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
275-9298

Modern Languages & Cultures Librarian

Kristen Totleben's picture
Kristen Totleben
   
                             
        Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
Rush Rhees Library, room 106

585-275-9304

Your Music Librarian

Deborah Fox's picture
Deborah Fox
Contact:
Art/Music Library on the Ground Floor of Rush Rhees Library.
585-275-1300
Subjects:Music

Outreach Librarian for Art, Dance, Visual & Cultural Studies

Stephanie Frontz's picture
Stephanie Frontz
Schedule an appointment!
Contact:
Art/Music Library
University of Rochester
Rochester, NY 14627
585-275-4476