It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WRTG 105 Expression at Large: Arts in the 21st Century (Morrice): Home
DiscoverUR also helps you manage your research. Sign-in to your account for additional functionality including:
Renewing books and videos
Creating a favorites lists of books, articles, and more
Saving your searches
Exporting citations to Refworks, Endnote, and other citation managers
View full search results (some databases only show results when you're signed in)
Call Number: Currently shelved at Q&i desk- Reserve Collection
Publication Date: 1995-09-01
"Thirty years ago my older brother, who was ten years old at the time, was trying to get a report on birds written that he'd had three months to write. It was due the next day. We were out at our family cabin in Bolinas, and he was at the kitchen table close to tears, surrounded by binder paper and pencils and unopened books on birds, immobilized by the hugeness of the task ahead. Then my father sat down beside him, put his arm around my brother's shoulder, and said, 'Bird by bird, buddy. Just take it bird by bird.'"
The artist's book as activist tactic: a toolkit Freedom of the Presses is at once a textbook and a toolbox for using artists' books and creative publications to further community engagement and social justice projects. Far from being a staid survey of an art historical practice, Freedom of the Presses intervenes in an ongoing discussion about art and activism in the present day by considering the place of the art book in the 21st century. The publisher, Booklyn, has been involved in this conversation since 1999, when a group of six artists decided to band together to promote contemporary artists' books and publications. Booklyn's focus has always been voracious, encompassing street art, punk and activist culture alongside more conventional artists' books. This restless energy is present in Freedom of the Presses, which brings together a provocative mix of humorous, intimate and scholarly writing in order to expand how we think about the concept, content, design, production and distribution of artists' and activists' publications today.
Introduction. A New Realm of Play; 1 Games and New Frontiers; 2 Playing Cowboys and Indians in the Digital Wild West; 3 Cold War Gaming; 4 9/11 Code; 5 Fighting the Virtual War on Terror; 6 Grand Theft Los Angeles; 7 Second Life, Second America; Conclusion. Converging Worlds;
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies brings together over 200 critical essays to redraw the boundaries of this rapidly evolving and dynamically complex area. Global in scope, wide-ranging in its inclusion of topics, and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars, this is the definitive resource for the field.
The Modern Art Notes Podcast, hosted by Tyler Green, is a weekly, hour-long interview program featuring artists, historians, authors, curators and conservators. While the program is typically studio-based, it has taped live-audience episodes at nearly a dozen American art museums, such as the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Baltimore Museum of Art and the Nasher Sculpture Center. The program has published new episodes each Thursday since 2011.
Music has been an integral part of film exhibition from its beginnings in the late nineteenth century. With the arrival of sound film in the late 1920s, music became part of a complex multimedia text. Although industry, fan-oriented, and scholarly literatures on film music have existed from early on, and music was frequently among the topics discussed and disputed, only in the past thirty years has sustained scholarly attention gone to music in visual media, beginning with the feature film.
Call Number: Art/Music Library HM291 .D413 1983 -- Art Stacks
For the first time, Guy Debord's pivotal work Society of the Spectacle appears in a definitive and authoritative English translation. Originally published in France in 1967, Society of the Spectacle offered a set of radically new propositions about the nature of contemporary capitalism and modern culture. At the same time it was one of the most influential theoretical works for a wide range of political and revolutionary practice in the 1960s. Today, Debord's work continues to be in the forefront of debates about the fate of consumer society and the operation of modern social power. In a sweeping revision of Marxist categories, the notion of the spectacle takes the problem of the commodity from the sphere of economics to a point at which the commodity as an image dominates not only economic exchange but the primary communicative and symbolic activity of all modern societies. Guy Debord was one of the most important participants in the activities associated with the Situationist International in the 1960s. Also an artist and filmmaker, he is the author of Memoires and Commentaires sur la société du spectacle. A Swerve Edition, distributed for Zone Books.
Call Number: Currently shelved at Q&i Desk - Reserve Collection
Publication Date: 2018-06-11
This book identifies the key rhetorical moves in academic writing. It shows students how to frame their arguments as a response to what others have said and provides templates to help them start making the moves. The fourth edition features many NEW examples from academic writing, a NEW chapter on Entering Online Discussions, and a thoroughly updated chapter on Writing in the Social Sciences. Finally, two NEW readings provide current examples of the rhetorical moves in action.
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. This databases indexes journal articles, book reviews, book chapters, dissertations, and more and is an essential tool for history research.
More than 410 active full-text, non-open access journals; more than 270 active full-text, non-open access peer-reviewed journals; more than 190 full-text books. Detailed indexing and abstracts for many leading academic journals, magazines and trade publications. Strong international coverage, including periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Coverage dating back to 1914.
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Expands and enhances the global bibliography of writings on music with the addition of a million pages of full-text content from more than 200 key periodicals, many of which are not available anywhere else online.
If you don't locate what you need using the Videos & More link, which restricts the search to those items in the River Campus Libraries, located in the Art/Music Library, and also those streaming via the River Campus Libraries, search for DVDs or streaming media using DiscoverUR.
The Art21 Library includes every film produced by Art21 since its first broadcast in 2001. Over 65 hours of full episodes from each of Art21’s television and digital series are always on view, free of charge.
Over 1,000,000 images covering art, architecture,fashion and archeology. Software tools support teaching and research.
including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.
Digital collections that feature areas of special collections from the Research Library are available online. Digital collections may complement a Research Institute exhibition or focus on a particular artist, subject, collection, or group of collections. In addition to images and other media, they may include contextual and historical information and links to related resources both inside and outside the Getty.
Database includes 22,000 historical and contemporary images from Rochester and Monroe County. Images were chosen from the collections of the Central Library of Rochester and Monroe County Local History Division, the City of Rochester Municipal Archives and City Hall Photo Lab, the Rochester Museum & Science Center, the Town of Brighton Historian's Office, the Town of Perinton Historian's Office, the Village of East Rochester Historian's Office and the Village of Hilton Historian's Office.