It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Architecture of the Islamic World by George Michell; Ernst J. Grube
Call Number: on Reserve, Art/Music Library
Publication Date: 1995-10-01
From mosques to markets, from citadels to cemetries, this text is a survey of the entire field of Islamic architecture. Although Islamic buildings may make an immediate visual impact, it can be useful to know something of the society which they serve. This text relates the architecture to the social areas of religion, power structure, commerce and communal life, placing emphasis on function and meaning rather than on style and chronology.
Islam dominates the news, often in stories filled with images of violence. Yet these disturbing images are at odds with a faith that most adherents--who now number over a billion worldwide--would regard as no less pacific than Buddhism or Christianity. Indeed, the word Islam in Arabic means "self-surrender" and is closely related to salaam, the word for peace.
Islam; A very short introduction by Malise Ruthven
Publication Date: 2000-06-15
Islam features widely in the news, often in its most militant versions. But few people in the non-Muslim world really understand the nature of Islam, both as Ideology and religion. Islam: A Very Short Introduction offers essential insight into the structure and beliefs of this major world religion. Malise Ruthven answers fundamental questions about the nature and scope of Islam such as why the greatest Jihad (holy war) is now against the enemies of Islam, rather than the struggle against evil, why Islam has such major divisions between movements such as the Shiis, the Sunnis, and the Wahhabis, and how the Sharia (Islamic law) has become such an important aspect of Islamic life. In addition, he prompts further questioning into the ideas of Islamic resurgence as both an old and new concept, whether or not women can find fulfillment and equality within an Islamic framework, and the sort of problems facing Islam and its confrontations with the modern world.
Islamic Art and Architecture by Robert Hillenbrand
Call Number: on Reserve, Art/Music Library
Publication Date: 1999-01-17
Covering one thousand years of history and an area stretching from the Atlantic to the borders of India and China, Robert Hillenbrand incorporates all the latest discoveries and interpretations in this authoritative guide to the arts of Islam. From the supreme confidence of the Dome of the Rock in Jerusalem to the scores of exquisite buildings of Ottoman Istanbul; from the extraordinary virtuosity of Persian painting in the fifteenth century to the vivid ceramic tradition of Ottoman Iznik.
The non-Muslim world's perceptions of Islam have often tended to be dominated by unrepresentative radical extremist movements. At the same time, many who have had a formal training in Islamic studies have tended to concentrate on the traditional. This book covers the full range of Islamic thought, and also provides coverage of contemporary trends.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World by John L. Esposito (Editor)
The first encyclopedia dedicated to the institutions, religion, politics, and culture in Muslim societies throughout the world, this work contains over 750 articles that focus on the Islamic dimension of the Muslim experience in recent history. Entries address political and social action as well as formal texts, and emphasis is placed on the practice and theory of Islam in the Arab heartland, as well as in South and Southeast Asia, and in Europe and the Americas.
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
World's most comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of Western art from late antiquity to the present.
BHA includes and extends the coverage of two predecessor art indexes, RAA (Répertoire d'Art et d'Archéologie) from 1973 to 1989 and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) from 1975 to 1989.
If you have a citation to an article, Citation Linker will check to see if the library has it online. Enter as much of the citation as you have. If nothing is found, try again after removing page numbers and dates.
Over 1,000,000 images covering art, architecture,fashion and archeology. Software tools support teaching and research.
including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.
Digital collections that feature areas of special collections from the Research Library are available online. Digital collections may complement a Research Institute exhibition or focus on a particular artist, subject, collection, or group of collections. In addition to images and other media, they may include contextual and historical information and links to related resources both inside and outside the Getty.
Getty Images, the world's largest photo agency, has made up to 35 million photos free to use, in an effort to combat piracy, through their new "embed tool. Images can also be shared on social media sites Twitter and Tumblr.
More than 400,000 high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum’s collection may be downloaded directly from the Museum’s website for non-commercial use—including in scholarly publications in any media—without permission from the Museum and without a fee.
Database includes 22,000 historical and contemporary images from Rochester and Monroe County. Images were chosen from the collections of the Central Library of Rochester and Monroe County Local History Division, the City of Rochester Municipal Archives and City Hall Photo Lab, the Rochester Museum & Science Center, the Town of Brighton Historian's Office, the Town of Perinton Historian's Office, the Village of East Rochester Historian's Office and the Village of Hilton Historian's Office.
Thousands of years of visual culture made free through Wellcome Images; over 100,000 high resolution images including manuscripts, paintings, etchings, early photography and advertisements are being released under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) license.
Archnet is focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world. Archnet’s mission is to provide ready access to unique visual and textual material to facilitate teaching, scholarship, and professional work of high quality. Officially launched in 2002 as a partnership between the Aga Khan Trust for Culture and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Archnet has since evolved into the largest open, online architectural library with a focus on Muslim cultures.
Artsy is an online platform for discovering, learning about, and collecting art. The growing collection comprises 140,000+ artworks by 25,000+ artists from leading art fairs, galleries, museums, and art institutions. Artsy provides one of the largest collections of contemporary art available online.
Search using the "Moving Images" tab on the River Campus Libraries homepage. Restrict to either DVD or Streaming.
If you don't locate what you need using the Moving Images tab, which restricts the search to those items in the River Campus Libraries and also those streaming via the River Campus Libraries, search for DVDs and videotapes in the Art/Music Library, the Memorial Art Gallery Library and the Sibley Music Library, as well as streaming video titles, using the Voyager Catalog. Use the limit feature in Voyager to restrict to DVD.
Created with the support of the American Library Association's Office for Information Technology. Answers some questions about a specific work and the tool will give you information regarding its copyright status.