It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art is produced, circulated, consumed and disseminated within an economic system--it depends on money for its creation, for the livelihood of its makers, and for its distribution. In this sense, art can be understood as an enterprising activity. However, profit-making is rarely the primary goal of artists, and indeed the entanglement of art with enterprise generates significant aesthetic, conceptual, philosophical and ethical challenges for contemporary art practice. Social enterprise has emerged from this complex terrain with the promise of an alternative model of economic organisation in the arts. Grace McQuilten and Anthony White argue that artists can, and have, engaged critically in the commercial market, by way of this model. Art as Enterprise brings a fresh perspective to the debate about the roles of contemporary art in consumer capitalist society.
A fascinating look at the art dealer Paul Durand-Ruel, revealing the crucial role he played in the development of French Impressionism One of the most forward-thinking art dealers of all time, Paul Durand-Ruel (1831-1922) played a crucial role in the rise of French Impressionism. This book explores how Durand-Ruel discovered, exhibited, and shaped an audience for Impressionist paintings at a time when they were not yet appreciated.
Call Number: Memorial Art Gallery Library Stacks Call Number: N8660.D77 A3 2014
Publication Date: 2014-11-11
Paul Durand-Ruel redefined the role of the art dealer. An exceptional entrepreneur and precursor of the international art market scene, he established a network of galleries between Paris, London, Brussels, and New York, and organized international traveling exhibitions. The first to recognize the talent of the Barbizon School artists and the Impressionists, and confident in his role championing their art, Paul Durand-Ruel was able to establish the careers of ground-breaking artists including Renoir, Monet, Sisley, Berthe Morisot, and Mary Cassatt. Paul Durand-Ruel: m. Retracing his life from 1831 to 1922, the book features more than sixty illustrations including archival documents and reproduction of works of art, a selection of articles and letters, a list of the principal exhibitions and artworks he displayed, as well as a biographical timeline and family tree.
A visual history of the birth of Impressionism thanks to art merchant Paul Durand-RuelThe book is published on the occasion of the exhibition Paul Durand-Ruel, le pari de l'impressionnisme presented at the Musee du Luxembourg, Paris, October 2014 to February 2015, then at the National Gallery in London ( Inventing Impressionism ) and the Philadelphia Museum of Arts ( Discovering Impressionists )Paul Durand-Ruel, a man of strong convictions, became an art dealer against his will. He spent his entire life supporting and promoting the painters he loved, despite incomprehension from the public and violent opposition from the official art milieus.
The global art market has recently been valued at close to $50bn - a rise of over 60% since the global financial crisis. These figures are driven by demand from China and other emerging markets, as well as the growing phenomenon of the artist bypassing dealers as a market force in his/her own right. This new textbook integrates, updates and enhances the popular aspects of two well-regarded texts - Understanding International Arts Markets and The Art Business. Topics covered include: Emerging markets in China, East Asian, South East Asian, Brazilian, Russian, Islamic and Indian art, Art valuation and investment, Museums and the cultural sector. This revitalized new textbook will continue to be essential reading for students on courses such as arts management, arts marketing, arts business, cultural economics, the sociology of arts, and cultural policy.
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. BHA includes articles from over 1,200 journals. BHA includes all articles within the subject scope of BHA regardless of the subject focus of a particular journal. Thus, many of the journals on this list are covered partially, as only some of their articles are within BHA's scope.
Over 1,000,000 images covering art, architecture,fashion and archeology. Software tools support teaching and research.
including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.
Digital collections that feature areas of special collections from the Research Library are available online. Digital collections may complement a Research Institute exhibition or focus on a particular artist, subject, collection, or group of collections. In addition to images and other media, they may include contextual and historical information and links to related resources both inside and outside the Getty.
Getty Images, the world's largest photo agency, has made up to 35 million photos free to use, in an effort to combat piracy, through their new "embed tool. Images can also be shared on social media sites Twitter and Tumblr.
flickr has partnered with the Internet Archive to display all images from their books scanned in separate image searches. The flickr site allows you to then look at all the images in that one book (where the one image was found) or read the text of that book.
More than 400,000 high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum’s collection may be downloaded directly from the Museum’s website for non-commercial use—including in scholarly publications in any media—without permission from the Museum and without a fee.
Database includes 22,000 historical and contemporary images from Rochester and Monroe County. Images were chosen from the collections of the Central Library of Rochester and Monroe County Local History Division, the City of Rochester Municipal Archives and City Hall Photo Lab, the Rochester Museum & Science Center, the Town of Brighton Historian's Office, the Town of Perinton Historian's Office, the Village of East Rochester Historian's Office and the Village of Hilton Historian's Office.
Thousands of years of visual culture made free through Wellcome Images; over 100,000 high resolution images including manuscripts, paintings, etchings, early photography and advertisements are being released under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) license.
Search using the "Moving Images" tab on the River Campus Libraries homepage. Restrict to either DVD or Streaming.
If you don't locate what you need using the Moving Images tab, which restricts the search to those items in the River Campus Libraries and also to those streaming via the River Campus Libraries, search for DVDs and videotapes in all the UR Library collections, as well as streaming video titles, using the Voyager Catalog. Use the limit feature inVoyager to restrict to DVD.
Kanopy is a streaming video database with over 20,000 movie titles from a large group of film producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber Edu, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, BBC Active Collection, and many others. All films have Public Performance Rights (PPR).
“Please note: If you do not have the most current Zotero Chrome addon you may encounter problems with other services such as Kanopy that require a proxy connector. This conflict, if experienced, is resolved by uninstalling the Zotero Chrome addon and installing the most current version.”
Archnet is focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world. Archnet’s mission is to provide ready access to unique visual and textual material to facilitate teaching, scholarship, and professional work of high quality. Officially launched in 2002 as a partnership between the Aga Khan Trust for Culture and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Archnet has since evolved into the largest open, online architectural library with a focus on Muslim cultures.
Artsy is an online platform for discovering, learning about, and collecting art. The growing collection comprises 140,000+ artworks by 25,000+ artists from leading art fairs, galleries, museums, and art institutions. Artsy provides one of the largest collections of contemporary art available online.