It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A unique interactive resource designed to bring dance to the Web and make it accessible to everyone. Dover Publications has graciously allowed the use of 170 terms from the Technical Manual and Dictionary of Classical Ballet, which are then demonstrated by ABT Company dancers.
Dancers and Choreographers by Leslie Getz; Lincoln Kirsten (Introduction by)
Here’s what you need to know about the Hula. It’s an expressive traditional dance form originating from the Hawaii Islands. It comes together from the basic foot steps, circular hip movements and gestures symbolizing natural events and mythological subjects - so it’s basically a dance that tells a story. The other fun thing about it is that it’s really easy to learn, and it can also contribute to a healthy lifestyle, being a good and varied physical exercise.
International Dictionary of Ballet by Martha Bremser (Editor)
With nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, the Encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance by Debra Craine; Judith Mackrell
With over 2,600 entries, the second edition of The Oxford Dictionary of Dance is a unique single volume reference on all aspects of dance performance written by two leading dance writers, Debra Craine and Judith Mackrell. The work covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works and countries,
This database package includes online access to Grove Music Online, the largest and most comprehensive music encyclopedia. Grove Music Online includes articles related to ballet, modern, jazz, and folk dances in the context of their relationship to musical styles and theatrical works.
As the official reference manual of the Dance Masters of America, this tap dance resource contains more than 1,500 up-to-date entries about every facet of this uniquely American art form. It provides a history of tap dance as well as the dancers who defined it. This manual also includes a comprehensive dictionary of tap and dance terminology with a special section devoted to teachers.
As soon as you link, change Entire Collection to Performing Arts Dance Research (near bottom of list). Identifies articles in dance journals, books, videotapes, archival materials, etc. Some older material is only listed in print indexes, below.
Identifies and locates books and other materials owned by libraries in the US and internationally.
Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of UR, in all disciplines and formats, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections.
tags: firstsearch, first search, world cat
Dance and Fashion by Valerie Steele (Editor); Adelheid Rasche (Contribution by); Patricia Mears (Contribution by); Mary Davis (Contribution by); Colleen Hill (Contribution by); Melissa Marra (Contribution by); Masafumi Monden (Contribution by); Elizabeth Way (Contribution by); Anna Winestein (Contribution by); Emma McClendon (Contribution by)
Dress and adornment have long played an important role in the visual allure of dance, and fashion designers have often been inspired by the way dancers look. The tutus and pointe shoes of the Romantic ballerina, for example, have influenced designers from Christian Dior to Christian Louboutin. Cristóbal Balenciaga was inspired by the drama of flamenco, Yves Saint Laurent by the Orientalism of the Ballet Russes, and Rick Owens by the dynamism of African-American steppers. Fashion designers are also increasingly collaborating with choreographers to create stylish new dance costumes.
Dance on Its Own Terms by Melanie Bales (Editor); Karen Eliot (Editor)
Dance on its Own Terms: Histories and Methodologies anthologizes a wide range of subjects examined from dance-centered methodologies: modes of research that are emergent, based in relevant systems of movement analysis, use primary sources, and rely on critical, informed observation of movement. The chapters emphasize dance history and core disciplinary knowledge in three categories of significant dance activity: performance and reconstruction, pedagogy and choreographic process, and notational and other written forms that analyze and document dance.
Contemporary American dance scholars agree that the first venue for critically informed, aware, and diverse reflections on dance was Impulse. While Impulse was recognized as the platform for dance scholarship during the years of its publication, following its cessation in 1970, only a handful of libraries and collections retained a full complement of its issues. Over time and out of view Impulse began to fade from memory, and many upcoming dance scholars were unaware of its rich history and seminal contributions to the field. Fortunately, as Impulse collected dust on shelves, technologies evolved that offered hope for the preservation of print and media collections. In 2008 a project was initiated to preserve Impulse as a digital collection and bring together a cohort of dance scholars to analyze each issue from todays point of view. Their collected works are presented in Contemporary Dance History: Revisiting Impulse, 1950-1970.
Legacies of Twentieth-Century Dance by Lynn Garafola
Lynn Garafola has written some of the most influential historical studies and criticism in the field of dance. Legacies of Twentieth-Century Dance is a selection of her essays and reviews that together document the extraordinary transformation of dance, especially ballet, since the early 20th century.
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Identifies articles on art, architecture, dance, folklore, myth, film, journalism, music and religion. Many with links to full text.
The history of modern dance by directed and edited by James Holzknecht; Castalia Media. Distributing by Insight Media, 
Call Number: Art/Music Library -- Art Media Workroom Call Number: DVD GV1783 .H57 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Includes interviews, archival photographs, and footage of dance rehearsals and performances to explore the history of 20th century dance. Features discussion of topics such as shoeless dancing in ballet, the Graham technique, the contributions of the African and Caribbean movements, the use of technology, the role of academia, and more.
Like the rest of UbuWeb, there is a lot of crossover and perhaps moments of purposely curated eclecticism, hence our rather unorthodox mix of pure, art, and pop dance forms.
UbuWeb Dance is a work in process and will continue to grow, perhaps at a rate faster than the rest of the site. Thus the site will stay in beta mode until it is fully seeded with content. Until then enjoy, but understand that it may be a bumpy ride at times.
UbuWeb Dance is presented in partnership with and is largely curated by Contemporary Dance Video Database
Dance comprises an entire world of spriritual and secular ideas, stories, emotions, and human experience, understood and expressed through movement. The rich history of dance in America serves as a reflection and a record of the nation's increasingly diverse, dynamic culture. The list of America's Irreplaceable Dance Treasures is intended to heighten public interest in the magnificence and richness of America's dance heritage and the imperative to document and preserve it for future generations.
Writing About Dance guides students through various processes of writing about dance, from the informal (journal writing and free writing) to the formal (critiques, essays, and research papers). When students learn both practical and artistic aspects of writing, they become better critical thinkers and writers as they deepen their understanding of dance technique, dance creativity, and dance as an art form.