It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In this text, contemporary dance/movement therapy is applied to 16 of today's most challenging clinical problems. Illustrated case studies cover physical and sexual abuse, co-dependency and addiction, issues in aging, anxiety and depression, multiple or borderline personality disorders, and disturbed and handicapped adolescents, children and infants. It presents an incorporation of dance therapy with visualization methods, dramatic techniques and the visual arts. It should be of particular interest to dance, movement and drama psychotherapy practitioners.
Dance Movement Therapy: Theory and Practice gives dance movement therapists and students, as well as allied professionals, an insight into state-of-the-art DMT practice in the UK. The first book to document UK practice, it provides a clear and balanced picture of representative work in the field, from its use with the mentally ill, learning disabled, delinquent and emotionally disturbed, through to high-functioning adults.
What can dance movement contribute to psychotherapy? This thoroughly updated edition of Dance Movement Therapy echoes the increased world-wide interest in dance movement therapy and makes a strong contribution to the emerging awareness of the nature of embodiment in psychotherapy. Recent research is incorporated, along with developments in theory and practice, to provide a comprehensive overview of this fast-growing field. Helen Payne brings together contributions from experts in the field to offer the reader a valuable insight into the theory and practice of dance movement therapy. The contributions reflect the breadth of developing approaches, covering subjects including: dance movement therapy with people with dementia group work with people with enduring mental health difficulties transcultural competence in dance movement therapy Freudian thought applied to authentic movement embodiment in dance movement therapy training and practice personal development through dance movement therapy. Dance Movement Therapy will be a valuable resource for anyone who wishes to learn more about the therapeutic use of creative movement and dance. It will be welcomed by students and practitioners in the arts therapies, psychotherapy, counselling and other health and social care professions.
Throughout history and in contemporary times, people worldwide have danced to cope with the stresses of life. But how has dance helped people resist, reduce, and escape stress? What is it about dance that makes it a healing art? What insights can we gain from learning about others' use of dance across cultures and eras? Dancing for Health addresses these questions and explains the cognitive, emotional and physical dimensions of dance in a spectrum of stress management approaches. Designed for anyone interested in health and healing, Dancing for Health offers lessons learned from the experiences of people of different cultures and historical periods, as well as current knowledge, on how to resist, reduce, and dance away stress in the disquieting times of the 21st century.
With a companion website that includes short online film episodes, this book proposes expansive ways of deconstructing and re-constituting sexuality and gender and thus more embodied and ethical ways of 'doing' life, and offers an understanding and critique of embodiment through an integration of performance, psychotherapy and feminist philosophy.
Free Play is about the inner sources of spontaneous creation. It is about where art in the widest sense comes from. It is about why we create and what we learn when we do. It is about the flow of unhindered creative energy: the joy of making art in all its varied forms.
How is the mind expressed through the body in movement? Exploring this question has been the life work of movement educator Bonnie Bainbridge Cohen. Her innovative approach to movement analysis and reeducation, body-mind centering, is the subject of this book of collected essays, interviews, and exercises.
Call Number: Art/Music Library -- Art Media Workroom Call Number: DVD GV1789.H267 B73 2009
This is the first documentary about the life and career of Anna Halprin, the American dance pioneer who has helped redefine our notion of modern art with her belief in dance's power to teach, heel, and transform at all ages of life. This cinematic portrait blends recent interviews with counterparts such as the late Merce Cunningham, archival footage, including her establishment of the first multiracial dance company in the U.S., and excerpts of current performances such as "Parades and Changes" at the Georges Pompidou Center in Paris, to weave a stunning inspiring account of one of the most important cultural icons in modern dance.
Call Number: Art/Music Library -- Art Media Workroom Call Number: DVD GV1580 .D363 2009
Looking for me: (30 min.) This 1968 film of Janet Adler's dance/movement therapy work has been celebrated for capturing a series of ongoing sessions between Janet and two autistic girls, ages two and five. As Janet mirrors their gestures, the children gradually develop trust in her, shifting out of their profound isolation. With time, the girls allow themselves to be touched by Janet, building toward a sense of reciprocity and intimacy.
Still looking: (29 min.) Twenty years after looking for me, Janet Adler produced the first filmed sessions featuring Authentic Movement, an embodied awareness practice with roots in dance, somatic healing practices, and mysticism. In this film, Janet allows us to join her as witness to the spontaneous movement experience of eight professional women as they explore the relationships between moving and witnessing. Learning how to see and be seen clearly in the presence of one another, the process of compassionate witnessing invites consciousness, enhancing the integration of body and spirit.
Art/Music Library -- Art Media Workroom
DVD GV1588.6 .R49 2008
Alan Lomax and his associates, beginning in the late 1950s undertook a monumental study of the relationship between style in song and dance cross-culturally. It began with Cantometrics which developed a common language description for the many variables in performance style in the diverse cultures of the world and measured how those variables clustered geographically and in relation to means of subsistence and aspects of social organization. Choreometrics continued this investigation into dance and movement. This compilation includes four films and background information on Choreometrics as studied by Lomax, Forrestine Paulay and others.
Publication Dates: 1980-Present
The Arts in Psychotherapy reports news and comments on national and international conferences and current education information relevant to the creative arts in therapy.
Art & Architecture Source (Formerly Art Full Text and Art Retrospective) is the largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images. Trial access ends November 3rd, 2020.
Please send comments to Stephanie Frontz email@example.com.
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Identifies articles on many subjects with some full text.
Includes full text from these databases, when available: General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Index to Legal periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Index, Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts.
Writing About Dance guides students through various processes of writing about dance, from the informal (journal writing and free writing) to the formal (critiques, essays, and research papers). When students learn both practical and artistic aspects of writing, they become better critical thinkers and writers as they deepen their understanding of dance technique, dance creativity, and dance as an art form.