Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Early Connection Opportunity (ECO) Program, 2020: Home

Library Homepage Overview

The River Campus Libraries' homepage (https://library.rochester.edu) is your access point for all library resources and services – start your research here!

Click on the Question mark in a purple circle (purple icons) to find out more important about that particular website feature.

Screenshot of the River Campus Libraries homepage

Get help from RCL Staff

River Campus Libraries (RCL) staff are available to support your research and answer any questions you may have about the library and its services. Use the "Get Help" tab at the top of the library's homepage to find contact information for an Outreach Librarian, access an assortment of research guides expertly crafted by a librarian for your class or subject area, or check out our #RCLatHome video series to help you get the most out of RCL's resources while away from the library or campus.

Access RCL Services

The River Campus Libraries has a myriad of services to support you and your research. Need to access an assigned reading for class? Course Reserves has you covered. Trying to read an article not in RCL's collection? Try out our free Interlibrary Loan service. Have a new idea or problem you're trying to solve? Schedule an appointment with an iZone consultant. Stop by the library's "Services" page for a full list of available services.

Find Articles, Books, and More

Use the big search box in the middle of the library's homepage to search Summon, a tool that searches across the University of Rochester's library collections including resources available through RCL's plethora of databases and items located in Rush Rhees Library, Carlson Science and Engineering Library, Physics-Optics-Astronomy Library (POA), Sibley Music Library (ESM), Edward G. Miner Library (URMC), and more.

Need help finding what you need? Ask a librarian for help getting started!

Live Help from RCL Staff

Help is available! Use the "Chat Live" button near the bottom right corner of the library's homepage to chat with an RCL staff member. We are always happy to answer your questions.

Learn about Library Services

Finding ebooks

River Campus Libraries provides access to over one million e-books covering a large variety of disciplines and publishers. Because our e-books are available through different databases and websites, the easiest way to find an e-book in UR’s collection is to start on the library's homepage and choose "Library Catalog" from the dropdown box.

To narrow your search to e-books, choose the Click to access resource and Book/e-book filters from the options on the left-hand side of your results (Show Me)...or use the search box below.

E-books

The library also has several collections of e-books that are worth searching in for your topic. While books in these collections are pulled into all of our catalog searches, relevant titles can sometimes get buried within thousands of results. Try searching these databases directly for e-books on your topic:

What is a Librarian?

Test Your Knowledge of Library Services

Test Your Knowledge of Library Services

What library services do you think would be helpful when encountering each of the scenarios listed below?  Click "reveal services" to show some of the services recommended by River Campus Libraries (RCL).  Remember, you can reach out to any RCL staff member for help...we'll point you in the right direction!

Scenario 1: 

You’ve just been assigned your final project for your Writing 105 class. The professor wants you to write a research paper addressing the themes of community and belonging, but the specific research topic is up to you. You need help with choosing and narrowing down a topic so you can get started on your paper. What do you do now?  Reveal services...

  • Contact an Outreach Librarian
    Our Outreach Librarians can help you narrow down your topic and get you started with your research
  • Find a Research Guide on your topic
    Our online guides are expertly crafted to help you find sources for your project and refine your research

Scenario 2: 

You just met with your professor during her office hours and discussed your topic for your final research paper. She recommended a few books and articles that would be great for your research! When you look for them on the libraries’ web site and in Google, you cannot immediately get access to their contents in print or online. What do you do now? Reveal services...

  • Request the books and article through interlibrary loan
    Our interlibrary loan team can get you what you need and is always happy to help if you have questions
  • Stop by the Q & i Desk
    Our Q & i team can check if we have the resources that you need and help you place an interlibrary loan request
  • Contact an Outreach Librarian
    Our Outreach Librarians can help you find alternative sources for your project and show you how to place an interlibrary loan request

Scenario 3: 

You are writing a paper on Susan B. Anthony, a prominent 20th century women's rights activist, and would like to include some old photographs and newspaper clippings. You have worked a little with primary sources in the past, but are not sure what is available at the University of Rochester. What do you do now? Reveal services...

  • Reach out to the Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation department
    The RBSCP department has an amazing collection of primary source materials include papers from Susan B. Anthony
  • Stop by the Q & i Desk
    Our Q & i team can always point you in the right direction
  • Contact an Outreach Librarian
    Our Outreach Librarians can show you how to find primary source materials in UR's library databases and suggest other sources that might help