Skip to main content

* Film & Media Studies: Film Research Guide

Resources for Film and Media Research

Streaming Video @ UR

Film & Media Studies Databases

Finding Film Reviews

New York Times Film Reviews- Search Proquest Historical Newspapers online to find the full text of reviews from 1857- 2007. More current reviews, 1980 - current, are found in Proquest National Newspapers.

 

Proquest Research- includes Time, Newseek, New York Times Magazine, Vanity Fair, People, Us Weekly, Entertainment Weekly and many other popular magazines with film reviews.

 

Rotten Tomatoes- has links to popular reviews

Finding ebooks

River Campus Libraries provides access to over one million e-books covering a large variety of disciplines and publishers. Because our e-books are available through different databases and websites, the easiest way to find an e-book in UR’s collection is to start on the library's homepage and choose "Library Catalog" from the dropdown box.

To narrow your search to e-books, choose the Click to access resource and Book/e-book filters from the options on the left-hand side of your results (Show Me)...or use the search box below.

E-books

The library also has several collections of e-books that are worth searching in for your topic. While books in these collections are pulled into all of our catalog searches, relevant titles can sometimes get buried within thousands of results. Try searching these databases directly for e-books on your topic:

Freely Available Film and Video Resources

Film Librarian

Pauline Schwartzman's picture
Pauline Schwartzman
                             
        Chat is unavailable, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
Learning Initiatives
Rush Rhees Library, 755 Library Road, Rochester, NY 14627
585-275-9296