It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FWS 121 Shakespeare in a Divided America (Baldo): Home
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Full-text of books from the beginning of printing in England through 1700.
EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700. EEBO now contains about 100,000 of the titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Downloading as PDF is supported from the marked list or from inside a title. See the publisher's instructions - http://eebo.chadwyck.com/help/download.htm.
Full text articles published in the New York Times via the ProQuest platform.
Includes international, national and New York regional news, in addition to business, science, medicine, arts, sports and lifestyle news. Some issues for 1953, 1962-1963, 1965, 1978 were never published due to pressman's strikes. No Sunday issue was published until April 21, 1861.
Full text - articles, ads, pictures - of New York Times (1851 - 2011) & other major papers. Click "More" link for their names.
Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1984) Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) Baltimore Sun (1837-1992) Boston Globe (1872 - 1985) Chicago Defender (1909-1975) Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1993) Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004) Globe and Mail (1844-2014) Irish Times (1859 - 2016) Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1993) New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) New York Times (1851 - 2013) Some issues for 1953, 1962-1963, 1965, 1978 were never published due to pressman's strikes. No Sunday issue was published until April 21, 1861. New York Tribune (1841-1962) Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) South China Morning Post (1903-1998) Times of India (1838-2008) Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2000) Washington Post (1877 - 2000)
Full text of complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines. Primary source material reflects the development of the entertainment industry as it evolved over the 20th century. Archive 1: Music, Radio and The Stage contains 17 titles such as Billboard (1894-2000), New Music Express (NME) (1946-2000) and The Stage (1880-2000. Archive 2: Film and Television includes 10 titles such as Variety (1905-2000), Boxoffice
(1920-2000) and Broadcast (1960-2000).
Kanopy is a streaming video database with over 20,000 movie titles from a large group of film producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber Edu, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, BBC Active Collection, and many others. All films have Public Performance Rights (PPR).
“Please note: If you do not have the most current Zotero Chrome addon you may encounter problems with other services such as Kanopy that require a proxy connector. This conflict, if experienced, is resolved by uninstalling the Zotero Chrome addon and installing the most current version.”
Swank provides film streaming to academic institutions. Here you will find films from major Hollywood film studios, both “classic” and contemporary.
Instructors: if you would like a Swank film linked to your course’s Blackboard page and need help, contact Tom Clifford firstname.lastname@example.org.
This collection includes streaming videos of the 37 Shakespeare plays that the BBC produced for television broadcast between 1978 and 1985 in the series created by Cedric Messina. The videos include performances by some of Britain's most distinguished actors and actresses. Each play may be viewed in its entirety or each act may be viewed separately. All videos have optional closed captioning.
Streaming video covering 30 theater performances as well as archival material such as prompt scripts, costume designs, and more. Trial access ends November 6th, 2020.
Please send comments to Pauline Schwartzman email@example.com.
Is my source scholarly?
Here are a few criteria for determining if your source is scholarly: Author(s) credentials - are they experts working or teaching in this field of study? Length - is it a few brief paragraphs or a longer, more substantive article? Language - is it written for other scholars in the field? Do they used specialized or technical language specific to this field of study? References - is the author(s) citing other scholars in this field of study? Do they have a robust reference list? Journal or Book Type - If it's a journal article, what kind of journal is the article is published in? Is it a scholarly journal, or even peer reviewed? If it’s a book, is it published by a university press or other well-respected commercial publisher known for publishing scholarly works?
Books, journal articles and just about everything else available at the University of Rochester can be found through Articles & Books, at http://library.rochester.edu
By default, Articles & Books searches across all of the available metadata—e.g., searching for Harry Potter Rowling will retrieve all of the books, book reviews, newspaper & magazine articles, DVDs and more where that search phrase is present. To find something more specific, start off with an Advanced Search, or drill down using Article & Books' filtering features, which show up on the left hand side of your search results.
Choosing the right database
Ask yourself what type of source is more likely to have the information you need and how will I use this source?:
Scholarly journal articles?
Data and statistics?
Deciding the most likely source will help determine which database to use. Different databases are composed of information from different types of sources. BEAM is a method for helping you decide how you might use a source.
Ask yourself if the database you select provides full-text, or only citations and /or abstracts:
If the database you need to use does not have full-text, use the or buttons.