It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MUSC 224: History of Western Music 1850-present: Home
Welcome to the Art/Music Library
Welcome to the Art/Music Library. Please ask us for help! Our librarians and student workers at the desk can help you find resources and information.
The Art/Music Library is located on the ground floor of Rush Rhees Library. All scores (M call numbers) and music books (ML and MT call numbers) are located on the open shelves within the Art/Music Library, as are current copies of our music magazines and journals.
CDs are kept in the back and may be requested from the desk. LPs are stored in the Art stacks.
Recordings may be listened to in the Art/Music library or checked out for a limited time period.
Reference books are located in the rear left nook.
Finale and Sibelius music-writing programs are available at two of our work stations. Please ask at the desk.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
The jazz/R&B/roots music portion of the catalog comprises the Fantasy group of labels (Pablo, Original Jazz Classics, Prestige, Milestone, Stax/Volt, Riverside, Jazzland, Specialty, Takoma, Kicking Mule, Debut, Contemporary/Good Time Jazz, Bluesville, and others).
Cylinder recordings, the first commercially produced sound recordings, are a snapshot of musical and popular culture in the decades around the turn of the 20th century. With funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the UCSB Libraries have created a digital collection of over 10,000 cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Collections. In an effort to bring these recordings to a wider audience, they can be freely downloaded or streamed online. On this site you will have the opportunity to find out more about the cylinder format, listen to thousands of musical and spoken selections from the late 19th and early 20th centuries, and discover a little-known era of recorded sound.
The Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) is a not-for-profit streamed audio resource providing CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays from New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. (CRI) and other important labels. DRAM offers on-demand, high-quality (192kbps/MP4) streaming access to complete works. DRAM is accessible only at the Eastman School of Music, but does not limit the number of users at any one time.
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. The Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925.
This video streaming database contains 24,192 titles spanning just about every subject area: performing arts, visual arts, social sciences and the “hard” sciences. The Music & Dance category contains 900 films covering a huge variety of music and dance.
Useful books for this course
Here is a random sampling of books from the Art Music Library that may pertain to your class. Come in to browse the bookshelves, or search for call number in Voyager Catalog, by subject, keyword, or title. Most of the Music History books have an ML call number and can be found in the Art/Music Library located on the ground floor of Rush Rhees Library.
The Cambridge History of Nineteenth-Century Music by Jim Samson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2001-12-03
New Grove, Late Romantic Masters by Stanley Sadie; Deryck Cooke
Publication Date: 1986-01-01
Music at the Turn of the Century by Joseph Kerman (Editor)
Publication Date: 1990-01-01
Modernism and Music by Daniel Albright (Editor, Commentaries by)
Publication Date: 2004-02-03
John Cage by David W. Patterson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008-10-17
Constructive Dissonance by Juliane Brand (Editor); Christopher Hailey (Editor)
Publication Date: 1997-05-27
Operatic Subjects by Sandra Corse
Publication Date: 2000-07-01
Amy Beach, Passionate Victorian by Adrienne Fried Block
Publication Date: 1998-12-17
Amy Marcy Cheney Beach (1867-1944), the most widely performed composer of her generation, was the first American woman to succeed as a creator of large-scale art music. Her "Gaelic" Symphony, given its premiere by the Boston Symphony Orchestra in 1896, was the first work of its kind by an American woman to be performed by an American orchestra. Almost all of her more than 300 works were published soon after they were composed and performed, and today her music is finding new advocates and audiences for its energy, intensity, and sheer beauty. Yet, until now, no full-length critical biography of Beach's life or comprehensive critical overview of her music existed. This biography admirably fills that gap, fully examining the connections between Beach's life and work in light of social currents and dominant ideologies.
The Rest Is Noise by Alex Ross
Publication Date: 2007-10-16
The scandal over modern music has not died down. While paintings by Pablo Picasso and Jackson Pollock sell for a hundred million dollars or more, shocking musical works from Stravinsky's "Rite of Spring "onward still send ripples of unease through audiences. At the same time, the influence of modern music can be felt everywhere. Avant-garde sounds populate the soundtracks of Hollywood thrillers. Minimalist music has had a huge effect on rock, pop, and dance music from the Velvet Underground onward. Alex Ross, the brilliant music critic for "The New Yorker," shines a bright light on this secret world, and shows how it has pervaded every corner of twentieth century life.""
The New Grove 20th Century French Masters by Jean-Michel Nectoux