It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WRTG 105 & 105A Disease & Society (Schaefer): Home
Resources for writing class that studies public health issues, diseases, mental health and more
Science encyclopedia articles, definitions, biographies, study guides and graphics.
includes McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science and Technology,9th ed.,McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 6th edition,McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science and Technology and more. updated daily.
Identifies journal and other articles on all topics, many with full text. Click the "Scholarly Journals" tab to limit to scholarly (but not necessarily peer-reviewed) articles. Includes many topical sub-sections on gender, health, ethnicity, etc.
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Graphical, interactive access to hundreds of datasets covering the social sciences, healthcare, and more. US, some international. Also known as Data Planet Statistical DataSets.
Site searching using Google
Article Databases by Discipline
The resources listed below are subject specific. A suggested strategy would be to explore your topic in Articles & Books search and Google Scholar and Proquest in the "Getting Started" section, and then try one or more of the others depending on the direction you decide to take.
Public Health Guide
libguides.lib.rochester.edu/PH - Here you will find a number of resources related to public health. This guide has been curated by the Public Health librarian, Stephanie Barrett.
Sociological Information (Past and Present Human Societies)
Identifies articles in medicine, biomedicine and psychology, many with links to full text. Majority of the material is written for medical professionals.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes access to molecular and bioinformatic databases from the NCBI system (previous Entrez). Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.
Has a section devoted to "Pro/Con" essays - in-depth discussions, with references at the end. Similar to "Opposing Viewpoints," that you may have used in high school. Similarly, try: procon.org - note the "Footnotes & Sources" for each topic, detailing where the information came from.
Reports include legislative background information, chronologies, pro and con commentary and suggested resources.
Especially good for information regarding proposing or evaluating a health-related policy.
Includes demographic, business and census data with abstracts and updated weekly. Profile provides users with web links to contributing organization's home page, email address, scholar biographies and full text.
Literary Information (Includes How Literacy Works and reviews and criticisms)
Browse the full list of University of Rochester's databases/ search tools.
UR Catalog Search (using Articles, Books & More)
Use the Catalog Search in Articles, Books & More to search specifically for books or journal titles or other materials available at the University of Rochester Library. Use the full Articles & Books for searching for article authors and titles.
If you think the library should purchase a copy of a book, report, or other types of materials, please fill out this form to let us know. UR login required.
Off Campus Access
All electronic library resources, including e-journals, databases, and course reserves, are available to current students, faculty, and staff from off-campus using either your My Account/NetID or VPN access. When you click on the link of a restricted library resource from the libraries' website, you will be prompted to login.
Virtual Private Networking (VPN) establishes a connection so that you appear to be part of the University network. This eliminates repetitive logins. DUO two-factor authentication is necessary to set up your VPN.
The University uses Duo to better protect University data. Duo authentication occurs after you log in with your user name and password using a mobile phone, tablet, or landline to verify your identity.
Citation Tracking: Finding articles by citation
Once you have one (or more) useful article on a topic, use the references at the end of article to find more sources on your topic using our Citation Search tool. This helps you see what was written previous to your current article, often called citing backward.
Use Google Scholar to see who has cited your article after it was published. This helps you see what has been written after your article was published, citing forward.
A visual tool to help researchers find research on a topic or other papers cited by or closely connected to what you've already found. Search by topic, title of a paper you've already found, by DOI or by paper urls from archives like PubMed, Semantic Scholar, or arXiv.