Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WRTG 105 The Modern Shapeshifter (Tapia)

What Is an Annotated Bibliography?

How to Create an Annotated Bibliography

Annotated bibliographies differ from abstracts or summaries of articles. An annotated bibliography is a list of sources (journal or news articles, books, websites, datasets, etc.) on a particular topic. The list is in alphabetical order by author's last name and employs a single citation style. The purpose of an annotated bibliography is to:

  • Prove you have done some valid research to back up your argument and claims
  • Explain the content of your sources, assess their usefulness, and share this information with others who may be less familiar with them

Some questions to answer in your annotated bibliography and to help with your analysis of a source might include:

  • What’s the main point or thesis of this source?
  • Does the author seem to have particular biases or are they trying to reach a particular audience?
  • How does this source relate to your own research and ideas?
  • How does this source relate to other sources you have read? Do they have aspects of the same argument or opposing views?

Here are a few links to help you better understand and construct an annotated bibliography:

Graphic Organizers to help you build an annotated bibliography: