It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ATHS 167M Who Owns the Past? Archaeology, Museums and Politics in the 21st Century
JSTOR is a great starting place for most topics. Particularly strong in the humanities and social sciences, JSTOR provides access to a wide range of journals from history, anthropology, area studies, and more. Watch this short tutorial for tips on getting the most out of your JSTOR search.
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
This database is a great multidisciplinary database with full-text articles from humanities-based disciplines such as art, film, music, and religion. It also includes research from anthropology and history, which use research methods consistent with both the humanities and social science fields.
This database is a great multidisciplinary database with full-text articles from social science-based disciplines such as sociology, economics, and political science. It also includes research from anthropology and history, which use research methods consistent with both the humanities and social science fields.
Abstracts included from 1994-current; full text for many articles from 1994-current.
Historical Abstracts is a key database for non-U.S. and non-Canadian historical research. This is an abstract database, so if you don't see the full-text for an article, click the red "FindText@UR" button to see if UR provides full-text access through another database (we often do!).
Researching a U.S.- or Canadian-based topic? Be sure to search in America: History and Life. As with Historical Abstracts you may not see the full-text for an article of interest. Simply click the red "FindText@UR" button to see if UR provides full-text access through another database (we often do!).
Modal - JSTOR - Search Tips (jstorModal)
Video: Search Tips When Using JSTOR
This tutorial includes a series of three videos. While I recommend watching the full tutorial (total runtime: 5 minutes, 31 seconds), you can also select a specific segment from this list:
Setting your search options in JSTOR (runtime: 1 minute, 53 seconds)
Managing your results list in JSTOR (runtime: 2 minutes, 40 seconds)