Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Ad$pender monitors advertising expenditures and occurrence information for 3+ million brands across 18 types of media, from 2010 to the present. The tool allows you to break down information by category, parent, company, subsidiary and brand.
New
Provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century. Predominantly published in the United States or Canada, the collection includes unusual and short-lived magazines as well as better-known titles with long runs. It offers multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America through the eyes of those who lived it, showing how history affected citizens from all walks of life.
  • unlocked-freely available
New
Searchable, authoritative, peer-reviewed guide to academic databases, websites, and tools.
Quick-start guide at http://www.ccadvisor.org/faq
  • unlocked-freely available
New
Full text open access pre-print articles in all areas of chemistry from 2017-present.
New
Full-text series of eBook lectures on research topics in the biomedical and life sciences.
New
Published quarterly, using over 60 goods and services collected at the local level from over 300 independent researchers, COLI is the only local level cost of living index available for the US.
New
Provides annual data covering over 200 countries and 196 variables including measurements for civil unrest, voting, political parties, media, trade, and regime characteristics. Coverage from 1815-present.
CRSP
New
The Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP) maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq stock markets. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolio, treasury bond and risk-free rates, and mutual fund databases.
Special instructions: requires an account for use. Select "University of Rochester" from the institution list when registering.
Please contact Kathy Wu in Rush Rhees Library
kathyw@library.rochester.edu.
New
Dimensions is a next-generation linked research information system that makes it easier to find and access the most relevant information, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy.
Patrons can register using UR credentials.
New
Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
New
Delve into the theatrical world of eighteenth century society and explore how the Larpent plays reflect the politics of the time, the role of women, views on race and religion, opinions on empire, and European and British history.
New
A searchable archive of the US (1867 to present) and UK (1930-2015) editions of Harper's Bazaar. The issues are reproduced as high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and article-level indexing.
New
Formerly known as the Pan Pacific Women’s Association of the U.S.A., the Pan Pacific and Southeast Asia Women’s Association was founded in 1930 to strengthen international understanding and friendship among the women of Asia and the Pacific and women of the U.S.A. The group promoted cooperation among women of these regions for the study and improvement of social, economic, and cultural conditions; engaged in studies on Asian and Pacific affairs; provided hospitality to temporary residents and visitors from Pacific and Asian areas; and presented programs of educational and social interest, dealing with the customs and cultures of Asian and Pacific countries.
New
Provides an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for women’s rights—woman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, for example—grew in the United States and England. Some of the titles in this collection were conceived and published by men, for women; others, conceived and published by male editors with strong input from female assistant editors or managers; others were conceived and published by women, for women.
Intraday Indicators by WRDS
New
This database contains daily stock market indicators obtained from NYSE TAQ data.
Special instructions: requires an account for use. Select "University of Rochester" from the institution list when registering.
Please contact Kathy Wu in Rush Rhees Library
kathyw@library.rochester.edu.
New
The web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts, with over 12338 titles.
New
A bibliography of more than 1.3 million citations for secondary source material about the European Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.
New
The database provides contact and biographical data about the members of the U.S. Congress and the congressional staff. It allows users to collect congressional activity information, including legislative issues, roles and titles, education and work histories, disclosures, social media links and other contextual information.
New
One of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding. Explore extremely rare documents dating from 1554 to the 21st century in this invaluable resource of research material for historians and literary scholars.
  • unlocked-freely available
New
Property data for materials including polymers, metals, alloys, semiconductors, fibers and other engineering materials.
New
Mergent Online provides detailed information on over 50,000 publicly traded companies worldwide and 30 million privately held companies. Special sections include the Investext collection of 18 million current and historical broker research reports on companies, industries, products and markets; and Mergent Horizon which offers supply chain data along with customer, competitor and product information. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
New
This database provides an overall view of some of the most sought-after and controversial legal topics in the United States. Users are able to make basic state-by-state comparisons of current state laws.
New
Search over 15,000 news, business and legal sources. News sources include newspapers and journals. Business sources include full text company and industry news, including accounting literature, and corporate financial information including 10Ks and annual reports. Legal sources include articles, case law, codes and regulations, international case law, patents, and directories of lawyers and law schools and U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
New
OntheBoards.tv provides access to works by the leading voices from the field of contemporary performance, some of which will never be performed again.
New
Osiris has information on listed, and major unlisted/delisted, companies across the globe. The financial reports provided by the database range from summaries, to standardized reports, to raw data. It covers a wealth of complementary information including ratings, earnings estimates, news, industry research, royalty data, corporate actions, stock data, corporate structures and economic backgrounds.
New
Innovative collection of ProQuest databases containing periodicals, newspapers, data, books, videos,government documents, and archival collections.
New
Identifies chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to journal and patent literature of chemistry. The data originates from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry, the Beilstein Handbuch der organischen Chemie and a Patent Chemistry database. To learn more, see About Reaxys.
Users should update their passwords.
New
Updated version of RefWorks, a web-based citation management tool. Export references from databases and format them for papers and bibliographies. For more information consult Reference Managers: New RefWorks.
New
Religions of America traces the history and characteristics of American-born religious movements through manuscripts, pamphlets, newsletters, ephemera, and visual art.
New
Provides access to Indian case law, statutory law, secondary material, foreign and international material. Coverage: varies according to title.
Patrons can register to use IP access using UR credentials.
  • unlocked-freely available
New
Portal to free, publicly-available research and development results sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). It includes technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, software, and data information.
New
A ready-to-use solution with unparalleled power and flexibility, SciVal allows you to visualize your research performance, benchmark relative to peer institutions, develop strategic partnerships, identify and analyze new, emerging research trends, and create uniquely tailored reports.
All users will need to register with a username and password.
Users should update their passwords.
New
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
VPN required for off-campus access.
Users should update their passwords.
New
The South China Morning Post is a Hong Kong English-language newspaper, with coverage from 1903 to the present.
New
Swank provides film streaming to academic institutions. Here you will find films from major Hollywood film studios, both “classic” and contemporary.
Instructors: if you would like a Swank film linked to your course’s Blackboard page and need help, contact Tom Clifford tclifford@library.rochester.edu.
Thomson Reuters
New
The Thomson Reuters databases cover Mutual Funds Holdings (CDA/Spectrum s12) and 13f Institutional Holdings (CDA/Spectrum s34). The Insiders Filings database contains transaction and holdings information filed with the SEC.
Special instructions: requires an account for use. Select "University of Rochester" from the institution list when registering.
Please contact Kathy Wu in Rush Rhees Library
kathyw@library.rochester.edu.
New
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. U.S. Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.
New
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).
New
The records include extensive official correspondence as well as hundreds of letters to and from correspondents throughout the world documenting the work of the organization. In addition there are official records; minutes; complete files of multi- lingual publications entitled "Community Action Series" and "Meeting Community Needs;" miscellaneous publications; conferences and workshop material; oral history transcripts, 1988-89, with related biographical material and writings by individuals; and card files on individual participants, filed by country. The country files also contain published materials pertaining to the status and problems of the world’s women.
New
This collection documents Patricia Lindh’s and Jeanne Holm’s liaison with women’s groups and their advocacy within the White House on issues of special interest to women. Includes material accumulated by presidential Counselor Anne Armstrong and Office of Women’s Programs Director Karen Keesling. Topics include liaison activities with over 300 women’s organizations, agency women’s groups and program units, advisory committees on women and women appointees; public policy; and legislation and regulation of women’s civil rights in the government and the economy.
New
The First World War had a revolutionary and permanent impact on the personal, social and professional lives of all women. Their essential contribution to the war in Europe is fully documented in this definitive collection of primary source materials brought together in the Imperial War Museum, London. These unique documents - charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings, magazines, posters, correspondence, minutes, records, diaries, memoranda, statistics, circulars, regulations and invitations - are published here for the first time in fully-searchable form, along with interpretative essays from leading scholars. Together these documents form an indispensable resource for the study of 20th-Century social, political, military and gender history.
New
World Robotics is a publication that contains reports and statistics on the worldwide distribution of industrial robots based on company reports. It covers about 40 country reports from 2011 to 2016. It can be searched by application areas, industrial branches, types of robots, and other technical and economic variables. It forecasted trends in robot densities.
Please select World Robotics/Statistics and go to Customer Login. Username and password can be obtained by contacting Kathy Wu kathyw@library.rochester.edu.
WRDS SEC analytics Suite
New
Search through the contents of millions of SEC filings. Access Readability and Sentiment scores and Linking Tables.
Special instructions: requires an account for use. Select "University of Rochester" from the institution list when registering.
Please contact Kathy Wu in Rush Rhees Library
kathyw@library.rochester.edu.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...