Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
The A&AePortal is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. With innovative functionality and extensive metadata, the site offers students and scholars an engaging experience, encouraging critical thinking skills and supporting rigorous academic research.
New
This fully indexed, primary-source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective—with archival collections from North America, Europe, and Asia Pacific — including key field notebooks, images, and recordings of the early- to mid-20th century. The collection brings together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique, and reshape in their own fieldwork endeavors today.
Trial
Access to the ASTM Standards & Digital Library, which includes all versions of ASTM’s ~13,000 Standards, plus all digitized ASTM Manuals, Monographs, STPs, Data Series and 9 Journals.
Users must register at the site.
Trial access ends April 1st, 2021.

Please send comments to Lindsay Cronk
lcronk@library.rochester.edu.
New
Provides full-text coverage of 22 Chinese newspapers from 1832-1953.
  • unlocked-freely available
New
Cylinder recordings, the first commercially produced sound recordings, are a snapshot of musical and popular culture in the decades around the turn of the 20th century. With funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the UCSB Libraries have created a digital collection of over 10,000 cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Collections. In an effort to bring these recordings to a wider audience, they can be freely downloaded or streamed online. On this site you will have the opportunity to find out more about the cylinder format, listen to thousands of musical and spoken selections from the late 19th and early 20th centuries, and discover a little-known era of recorded sound.
  • music resource
New
The Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) is a not-for-profit streamed audio resource providing CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays from New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. (CRI) and other important labels. DRAM offers on-demand, high-quality (192kbps/MP4) streaming access to complete works. DRAM is accessible only at the Eastman School of Music, but does not limit the number of users at any one time.
New
Newspaper archive for the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle from 1871-1884.
New
Newspaper archive for the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle from 1884-2011.
New
Documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850
New
Online Reference Module designed to serve as an in depth and comprehensive compendium of Earth Systems and Environmental Sciences. Topics include Atmospheric Sciences, Bioscience, Energy and Natural Resources, Geosciences, Global Change, Hydrology, and Oceanography.
New
Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
New
Online reference specifically designed for the needs of linguists and typologists. Search across dozens of languages and hundreds of linguistic phenomena.
New
Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 21,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.
New
Digitized documents from the Justice Department Library and U.S. National Archives covering the Hindu Conspiracy Case, a series of arrests and later trials against Indian Nationalists active in the United States, bankrolled by Germans interested in supporting the overthrow of British colonial rule in India.
New
Independent India’s first years were marked with turbulent events - partition, a massive exchange of population with Pakistan, the IndoPakistani War of 1947 and the integration of over 500 princely states to form a united nation. This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India in the postwar period.
New
For generations of British and Indian Officers and men, the North-West Frontier was the scene of repeated skirmishes and major campaigns against the trans-border Pathan tribes who inhabited the mountainous no-man’s land between India and Afghanistan. This collection contains Army Lists; Orders; Instructions; Regulations; Acts; Manuals; Strength Returns; Orders of Battle; Administration Summaries; organization, commissions, committees, reports, maneuvers; departments of the Indian Army; and regimental narratives.
New
Provides a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. This digital archive highlights the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.
New
This database contains daily stock market indicators obtained from NYSE TAQ data.
Special instructions: requires an account for use. Select "University of Rochester" from the institution list when registering.
Please contact Kathy Wu in Rush Rhees Library
kathyw@library.rochester.edu.
New
Newspaper archive for the highest circulation newspaper in Kentucky.
New
Marketresearch.com is the platform that provides access to two leading collections of market research reports: Kalorama and Freedonia Focus. Freedonia Focus Reports provide analysis on a wide variety of markets and industries on 15 industry categories and two major geographic collections. Topics run the gamut from raw materials to finished manufactured products and various consumer goods and services. Kalorama provides worldwide business intelligence and syndicated market research in the life sciences industry (topics include pharmaceutical, biotechnology, medical devices and diagnostics.
New
Mergent Online provides detailed information on over 50,000 publicly traded companies worldwide and 30 million privately held companies. Special sections include the Investext collection of 18 million current and historical broker research reports on companies, industries, products and markets; and Mergent Horizon which offers supply chain data along with customer, competitor and product information. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
  • music resource
New
Instant access to more than 700 full-length Met performances with the online streaming database.
New
Newspaper archive for the largest newspaper in Minnesota.
  • unlocked-freely available
New
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. The Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925.
New
Detailed collection of records documenting the history, mission, and intelligence collection and analytic operations of America's largest and most secretive intelligence agency, the National Security Agency (NSA) and its predecessor organizations.
  • music resource
New
The jazz/R&B/roots music portion of the catalog comprises the Fantasy group of labels (Pablo, Original Jazz Classics, Prestige, Milestone, Stax/Volt, Riverside, Jazzland, Specialty, Takoma, Kicking Mule, Debut, Contemporary/Good Time Jazz, Bluesville, and others).
New
Osiris has information on listed, and major unlisted/delisted, companies across the globe. The financial reports provided by the database range from summaries, to standardized reports, to raw data. It covers a wealth of complementary information including ratings, earnings estimates, news, industry research, royalty data, corporate actions, stock data, corporate structures and economic backgrounds.
New
A bibliography of selected articles and books organized into Renaissance and Reformation subject areas.
New
A regional selection of 49 Northeastern newspaper archives including the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle.
New
Database of representative repetitive sequences from eukaryotic species used worldwide as the reference standard for annotating the presence of repetitive DNA in genomic data.
New
Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow and Retrosynthesis Plan A separate registration is required before the first use. See About SciFinder for more detail.
To use off campus, use VPN.
New
The Thomson Reuters databases cover Mutual Funds Holdings (CDA/Spectrum s12) and 13f Institutional Holdings (CDA/Spectrum s34). The Insiders Filings database contains transaction and holdings information filed with the SEC.
Special instructions: requires an account for use. Select "University of Rochester" from the institution list when registering.
Please contact Kathy Wu in Rush Rhees Library
kathyw@library.rochester.edu.
New
Encyclopedia articles on industrial chemical science and technology.
New
Interactive anatomy models and 3D physiology animations for reference and patient education. Current modules: Human Anatomy Atlas; Muscle Premium; Skeleton Premium; Physiology Animations; and Heart & Circulatory Premium. Click here for access to Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology Module.
New
An introduction to human body systems in visual interactive chapters presented in 3D model sets, animations and illustrations; includes quizzes for assessing self-paced learning. Note that due to the image-rich nature of the resource, there will be a delay when loading Visible Body at the start. To access other modules from Miner Library subscription, click here: Visible Body (through Miner Library, URMC)..
New
Search through the contents of millions of SEC filings. Access Readability and Sentiment scores and Linking Tables.
Special instructions: requires an account for use. Select "University of Rochester" from the institution list when registering.
Please contact Kathy Wu in Rush Rhees Library
kathyw@library.rochester.edu.
New
Free, open source, easy-to-use reference manager tool that helps users collect, organize, cite, and share research sources. Create an account with your institutional email for unlimited cloud storage through a River Campus Libraries subscription (free cloud storage: 300 MB).
The Zotero browser extension will give an error wher you are at the item's individual page. Use "export to RIS" and use Zotero's import function. For more information, see: https://libguides.lib.rochester.edu/referencemanagers/Zotero
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...