Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
The A&AePortal is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. With innovative functionality and extensive metadata, the site offers students and scholars an engaging experience, encouraging critical thinking skills and supporting rigorous academic research.
New
American Indian Newspapers aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. Representing a huge variety in style, production and audience, the newspapers include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. The 45 unique titles also include bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages.
New
This fully indexed, primary-source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective—with archival collections from North America, Europe, and Asia Pacific — including key field notebooks, images, and recordings of the early- to mid-20th century. The collection brings together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique, and reshape in their own fieldwork endeavors today.
New
More than 410 active full-text, non-open access journals; more than 270 active full-text, non-open access peer-reviewed journals; more than 190 full-text books. Detailed indexing and abstracts for many leading academic journals, magazines and trade publications. Strong international coverage, including periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Coverage dating back to 1914.
New
This collection of U.S. Department of State records focuses on Brazil in the early 1960s. The collection covers the period following the resignation from the presidency of Janio Quadros in 1961 and the succession of Vice President Joao Goulart, whose years in office were marked by high inflation, economic stagnation, and the increasing influence of radical political elements.
New
Provides full-text coverage of 22 Chinese newspapers from 1832-1953.
New
HeinOnline’s Civil Rights database contains publications covering civil rights in the United States, including hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights. The database also includes a curated list of scholarly articles, a varied collection of books on many civil rights topics, and other resources that researchers may find helpful.
New
CMIE Prowess database contains financial performance data over 40,000 Indian companies since 1990, including annual reports and stock exchanges. The database covers the profit and loss statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, quarterly financial statements, share prices, corporate active and daily total returns.
Please contact Kathy Wu (kathyw@library.rochester.edu) for the username and password.
New
This collection was collected and collated by members of the Committee on Historical Research of the Mexican Revolution, under the direction of Isidro Fabela in 1958, in preparation for the publication of historical documents on the Mexican Revolution. This collection reproduces documents from various archives, under the protection of the Archivo General de la Nación, and is divided into the following documentary series: (1) The Flores Brothers revolutionary activities MAGO: movement Comun in the Baja California region; (2) Revolution and regime Madero: correspondence, reports and military activities, reports on the political situation in some States; (3) Emiliano Zapata, the Plan of Ayala and his agrarian policy: land deals, reports of troops and mail operations; (4) Revolution and regime Constitutionalist: circulars, laws, decrees and manifestos; and, (5) Sovereign revolutionary Convention: together prior to the sessions and sessions held 1914-1915. Most of the materials in this collection are written in Spanish.
New
Provides the world’s largest corporate Social Responsibility ratings and information.
Please contact Kathy Wu (kathyw@library.rochester.edu) for the instructions to set up an account on CSRHub.
  • unlocked-freely available
New
Cylinder recordings, the first commercially produced sound recordings, are a snapshot of musical and popular culture in the decades around the turn of the 20th century. With funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the UCSB Libraries have created a digital collection of over 10,000 cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Collections. In an effort to bring these recordings to a wider audience, they can be freely downloaded or streamed online. On this site you will have the opportunity to find out more about the cylinder format, listen to thousands of musical and spoken selections from the late 19th and early 20th centuries, and discover a little-known era of recorded sound.
  • music resource
New
The Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) is a not-for-profit streamed audio resource providing CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays from New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. (CRI) and other important labels. DRAM offers on-demand, high-quality (192kbps/MP4) streaming access to complete works. DRAM is accessible only at the Eastman School of Music, but does not limit the number of users at any one time.
  • unlocked-freely available
New
DataBase systems and Logic Programming (DBLP) provides bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings. DBLP indexes more than one million articles and contains more than ten thousand links to home pages of computer scientists.
New
Newspaper archive for the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle from 1871-1884.
New
Newspaper archive for the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle from 1884-2011.
New
Documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850
New
Online Reference Module designed to serve as an in depth and comprehensive compendium of Earth Systems and Environmental Sciences. Topics include Atmospheric Sciences, Bioscience, Energy and Natural Resources, Geosciences, Global Change, Hydrology, and Oceanography.
New
Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
New
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life for more than 330 different ethnic, cultural, religious, and national groups worldwide.
New
Online reference specifically designed for the needs of linguists and typologists. Search across dozens of languages and hundreds of linguistic phenomena.
New
Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 21,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.
New
This database contains hundreds of titles that analyze the controversial topic of gun regulation in America, including periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, congressional hearings, CRS reports, Supreme Court briefs, scholarly articles, and other resources. Research materials are available on the National Firearms Act, the Miller and Heller decisions, and other key aspects of this subject.
New
Digitized documents from the Justice Department Library and U.S. National Archives covering the Hindu Conspiracy Case, a series of arrests and later trials against Indian Nationalists active in the United States, bankrolled by Germans interested in supporting the overthrow of British colonial rule in India.
New
This robust collection of 19th and 20th century Hispanic American newspapers features hundreds of titles including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. It is based on the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project,” a national research effort directed by Nicolás Kanellos, Brown Foundation Professor of Hispanic Studies at the University of Houston. This database includes content in both Spanish and English.
New
The HistoryMakers Digital Archive features video recorded oral history interviews of prominent African Americans. This archive educates about the struggles, determination and achievements of African American life, history and culture.
New
The ICSD contains an almost exhaustive list of known inorganic crystal structures published since 1913, including their atomic coordinates. ICSD data is comprehensive, curated and is the perfect basis for finding answers on questions in materials research.
New
The Index of Medieval Art online database is a collection of images and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between late Antiquity and the sixteenth century. It includes secular subjects, as well as subjects from medieval Christian, Jewish, and Islamic culture.
New
Independent India’s first years were marked with turbulent events - partition, a massive exchange of population with Pakistan, the IndoPakistani War of 1947 and the integration of over 500 princely states to form a united nation. This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India in the postwar period.
New
For generations of British and Indian Officers and men, the North-West Frontier was the scene of repeated skirmishes and major campaigns against the trans-border Pathan tribes who inhabited the mountainous no-man’s land between India and Afghanistan. This collection contains Army Lists; Orders; Instructions; Regulations; Acts; Manuals; Strength Returns; Orders of Battle; Administration Summaries; organization, commissions, committees, reports, maneuvers; departments of the Indian Army; and regimental narratives.
New
Provides a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. This digital archive highlights the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.
New
The Indigenous Peoples of the Americas Collection contains more than 3,700 titles relating to indigenous American law including 30,000+ pages of tribal codes, 400+ indigenous treaties, federal case law, jurisprudence, scholarly articles, books, pamphlets, and more. The database also includes the Indian Law Reporter, an essential source for indigenous American case law.
New
This database contains daily stock market indicators obtained from NYSE TAQ data.
Special instructions: requires an account for use. Select "University of Rochester" from the institution list when registering.
Please contact Kathy Wu in Rush Rhees Library
kathyw@library.rochester.edu.
New
Based on sources from the collections of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York, this database provides insights into the everyday lives of the American Jewish population over three centuries from their first arrival in New York in 1654 to the integral part that they play today. The database contains a variety of material types including correspondence, scrapbooks, autobiographies, reports and financial records, minutes and committee reports, surveys, and other printed materials.
New
A collection of materials relating to the gay rights movement in America, including an interactive timeline, as well as subject-coded court cases, scholarly articles, books, pamphlets, reports, and more.
New
Newspaper archive for the highest circulation newspaper in Kentucky.
New
Marketresearch.com is the platform that provides access to two leading collections of market research reports: Kalorama and Freedonia Focus. Freedonia Focus Reports provide analysis on a wide variety of markets and industries on 15 industry categories and two major geographic collections. Topics run the gamut from raw materials to finished manufactured products and various consumer goods and services. Kalorama provides worldwide business intelligence and syndicated market research in the life sciences industry (topics include pharmaceutical, biotechnology, medical devices and diagnostics.
New
Mergent Online provides detailed information on over 50,000 publicly traded companies worldwide and 30 million privately held companies. Special sections include the Investext collection of 18 million current and historical broker research reports on companies, industries, products and markets; and Mergent Horizon which offers supply chain data along with customer, competitor and product information. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
  • music resource
New
Instant access to more than 700 full-length Met performances with the online streaming database.
New
Interactive virtual reality and 2D video collection for skills training in counseling, psychology, and mental health. Virtual reality/360 videos can be viewed using UR’s virtual reality headsets. Find info on how to check out our headsets on the Studio X equipment lending page.
New
Newspaper archive for the largest newspaper in Minnesota.
New
Mirabile (Digital Archives for Medieval Culture) is an online content aggregator of Medieval Studies resources, with a focus on medieval Latin and romance languages, texts, authors, and manuscripts. Contains Medioevo latino : a bibliographical bulletin of European culture from Boethius to Erasmus, VI to XV centuries (MEL) ; Bibliotheca scriptorum latinorum medii recentiorisque aevi (BISLAM); Compendium auctorum latinorum medii aevi (500-1500) (CALMA); databases related to Romance-language texts and manuscripts; and several hagiographic databases. Includes full-text content from several related online journals, including Hagiographica, Iconographica, Itineraria, and Micrologus.
New
MLA Handbook Plus is the online version of the 9th edition of the MLA Handbook. It also includes practice exercises, tutorials and other information.
  • unlocked-freely available
New
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. The Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925.
New
Detailed collection of records documenting the history, mission, and intelligence collection and analytic operations of America's largest and most secretive intelligence agency, the National Security Agency (NSA) and its predecessor organizations.
New
Streaming video covering 30 theater performances as well as archival material such as prompt scripts, costume designs, and more.
  • music resource
New
The jazz/R&B/roots music portion of the catalog comprises the Fantasy group of labels (Pablo, Original Jazz Classics, Prestige, Milestone, Stax/Volt, Riverside, Jazzland, Specialty, Takoma, Kicking Mule, Debut, Contemporary/Good Time Jazz, Bluesville, and others).
New
Find the most comprehensive and complete 50-state information in NCSL's searchable bill tracking databases. Select a topic listed below to find complete bill information. The status of bills listed in these databases is updated every week. Search by subtopics, year, status (e.g., pending, enacted, to governor, etc.) or enter keywords to identify bills.
New York Census Research Data Center (NYCRDC Membership
New
The Cornell Federal Statistical Research Data Center (FSRDC) is one of 31 Federal Statistical Research Data Centers, part of a network managed by the U.S. Census Bureau. Researchers with approved projects are able to access confidential internal use files from various federal statistical agencies including the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, and the National Center for Health Statistics. This network of data centers is managed by the U.S. Census Bureau. CISER coordinates the relationship with the Census Bureau for Cornell and houses the secure facility that is managed by the Bureau.
For more information, contact Kathy Wu kathyw@library.rochester.edu
New
Comprehensive collection of crystal structure data of inorganic compounds containing more than 210,000 entries and covering the literature from 1913.
New
The Justice Initiative publishes reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice.
New
Osiris has information on listed, and major unlisted/delisted, companies across the globe. The financial reports provided by the database range from summaries, to standardized reports, to raw data. It covers a wealth of complementary information including ratings, earnings estimates, news, industry research, royalty data, corporate actions, stock data, corporate structures and economic backgrounds.
New
An interdisciplinary bibliography for African Studies that combines broad introductions to subjects such as African society, politics, and literature, with specific studies of individual states, peoples, literary traditions, and more.
New
An interdisciplinary bibliography of the movement of peoples, ideas, and things in the Atlantic World – encompassing many islands and the continents of Africa, Europe, North America, South America. Covers the period from the late fifteenth century to the late nineteenth century.
New
A bibliography of selected articles, books, and other resources that covers an expansive range of periods, authors, works, and disciplines key to the study of British and Irish Literature today.
New
An interdisciplinary bibliography that includes the range of foundational documents, traditions, institutions, and history of Muslims in various countries and regions throughout the world from the origins of Islam to the present day. Includes history, religion, philosophy, anthropology, Arabic language and literature, and literature in other languages including Persian, Turkish, and Urdu.
New
An interdisciplinary bibliography for the study of Latin America, including perspectives from history, sociology, economics, anthropology, and political science.
New
An interdisciplinary bibliography for Latino Studies, including perspectives from history, sociology, anthropology, political science, linguistics, religion, cultural studies, literature, art, and more.
New
An interdisciplinary bibliography for the study of European, Byzantine, and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries, including history, literature, art, archaeology, religion, gender studies, and more.
New
A bibliography of selected articles and books organized into Renaissance and Reformation subject areas.
New
A regional selection of 49 Northeastern newspaper archives including the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle.
New
ProQuest Research Companion is an information literacy platform featuring more than 80 short videos that are organized into nine Learning Modules that answer questions like "How do I choose a topic?" "Where do I find information?" and "How do I evaluate sources?" Different kinds of "pre" and "post" assessment questions make the viewing experience more interactive, while allowing educators to measure students’ learning and identify gaps in their understanding. The resource is designed to help students do more effective scholarly research and to support educators as they teach the core information literacy principles of finding, evaluating, and using information.
  • unlocked-freely available
New
Punctum books is an open access and print-on-demand independent publisher dedicated to radically creative modes of intellectual inquiry of high-quality academic books in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Fine Arts, and Architecture & Design. Punctum is devoted to cultivating trans-disciplinary academic work that takes risks with form and style, and to fostering the work of both traditional and non-traditional scholar-researchers, including thought leaders at prestigious universities, early to mid-career researchers at a wide variety of academic institutions, precarious academics, independent scholars, and others who understand the importance of sharing their work with the Open Commons.
New
Database of representative repetitive sequences from eukaryotic species used worldwide as the reference standard for annotating the presence of repetitive DNA in genomic data.
New
This collection of U.S. State Department records consists of political and military documents relating to the Mexican Revolution and its aftermath -1910-1924. These unique and insightful records provide an unprecedented look at the Mexican Revolution, which began in 1910 and continued sporadically until the new Constitution was adopted in 1917, through to and including the election of Calles.
New
Science of Synthesis provides a critical review of the synthetic methodology developed for organic and organometallic chemistry.
  • unlocked-freely available
New
The ScienceMakers Digital Archive, funded by the National Science Foundation, features video recorded oral history interviews of over 200 of the United States’ top African American scientists. This archive charts the successful career pathways of these scientists across a variety of STEM disciplines while providing important role models for current and future generations.
NOTE: Each user creates their own free account to access this archive as a BasicMaker member: https://www.thehistorymakers.org/civicrm/contribute/transact?reset=1&id=7.
New
Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow and Retrosynthesis Plan A separate registration is required before the first use. See About SciFinder for more detail.
To use off campus, use VPN.
New
This collection brings together essential legal materials relating to the history of slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every federal, state, and colony statute on slavery, as well as all reported state and federal cases on the subject. In this database, slavery-related case coverage extends into the 20th century because long after slavery ended, courts were still resolving issues emanating from the practice. Materials include pamphlets and books written about slavery and English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920 from the U.S. and elsewhere. It provides not only access to pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century, but also many modern histories of slavery and modern law review articles on this subject.
New
New
Encyclopedia articles on industrial chemical science and technology.
New
An introduction to human body systems in visual interactive chapters presented in 3D model sets, animations and illustrations; includes quizzes for assessing self-paced learning. Note that due to the image-rich nature of the resource, there will be a delay when loading Visible Body at the start. VPN required for off-campus access.
To access other modules from Miner Library subscription, click here: Visible Body (through Miner Library, URMC)..
New
Interactive anatomy models and 3D physiology animations for reference and patient education. Current modules: Human Anatomy Atlas; Muscle Premium; Skeleton Premium; Physiology Animations; and Heart & Circulatory Premium. Click here for access to Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology Module.
New
WARC provides insight, intelligence, evidence, expertise, case studies, benchmarks and guidance for marketers. It focuses on providing a wide range of data on global advertising and marketing trends, such as expenditure data, industry trends and consumer insights. Advertising expenditure includes data both by medium and format from 1982 onwards.
New
This collection or Records from the British Foreign Office documents the Russian entrance into World War I and culminates in reporting on the Revolution in Russia in 1917 and 1918. The documents consist primarily of correspondence between the British Foreign Office, various British missions and consulates in the Russian Empire and the Tsarist government and later the Provisional Government.
New
Search through the contents of millions of SEC filings. Access Readability and Sentiment scores and Linking Tables.
Special instructions: requires an account for use. Select "University of Rochester" from the institution list when registering.
Please contact Kathy Wu in Rush Rhees Library
kathyw@library.rochester.edu.
New
Free, open source, easy-to-use reference manager tool that helps users collect, organize, cite, and share research sources. Create an account with your institutional email for unlimited cloud storage through a River Campus Libraries subscription (free cloud storage: 300 MB).
The Zotero browser extension will give an error when you are at the item's individual page. Use "export to RIS" and use Zotero's import function. For more information, see: https://libguides.lib.rochester.edu/referencemanagers/Zotero
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...