LibGuides: WRTG 105 Uncertainty (Phillips): Research Guide

Picking your topic IS research!

Finding Articles and Books on your topic

Looking for articles or books on your topic? You can search using the DiscoverUR to search UR for them.

PhilPapers - Index of Works in Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Search or browse this comprehensive index of philosophical journals, books, and open access archives.
APA PsycINFO via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related subjects, many with links to full text, 1806 to current.
ISI Citation Databases This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from all disciplines, some with links to full text.
Comprised of three databases that can be searched separately or in combination: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-current), Science Citation Index Expanded (1973-current), Social Sciences Citation Index (1973-current).
Medline - OVID This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology. Many with links to full text.
Full-text articles are provided by Ovid and may include some articles not available though our regular online journal subscriptions. Provides the easiest interface for precise searching with subject headings and subheadings.

If you're looking for articles that are interdisciplinary, or are in popular magazines or newspapers, use the databases below.

ProQuest Research This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles on all topics, many with links to full text. Includes articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, news, trade journals and more.
Identifies articles on all topics, many with links to full text. Includes articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, news, trade journals and more
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.
Wilson OmniFile This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles on many subjects with some full text.
Includes full text from these databases, when available: General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Index to Legal periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Index, Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts.

Social Science Librarian

Eileen Daly-Boas

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Prefer Zoom? If I'm on chat, I'm happy to switch to Zoom.
Pronouns: she/her/hers

(585) 236-4145

Subjects: Citing & Writing, Education, Philosophy, Religion & Theology

Interlibrary Loan

If UR doesn't have the article or book you need, Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that will deliver a copy to you. PDFs of articles usually arrive in two days or less! Just go to the ILL page: https://illiad.lib.rochester.edu/

Still can't find what you're looking for? Please contact me!

Tracking a Scholarly Conversation with Scholar.google.com

Did you know that if you have a citation to a book or article, you can use http://scholar.google.com to see which scholars have cited that work? (1) Find your article in Google Scholar, (2) click the "cited by..." link underneath your chosen article.