It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WRTG 105 Sports as Politics: The Convergence of Sports and Political Argument in Contemporary United States (Grossman): Home
This guide will help you get started with your research for this class. If you have any questions or need help finding resources, please feel free to reach out to Lara Nicosia...she is happy to help!
Identifies articles on many subjects with some full text.
Includes full text from these databases, when available: General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Index to Legal periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Index, Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts.
Provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education.
U.S. Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
"Sports coverage is hugely powerful in shaping norms and stereotypes about gender." This site from UNESCO summarizes the types of gender biases that exist in sports media coverage and offers way to "Get Involved." Be sure to check out the Her Headline Chrome extension!
The Society of Professional Journalists compiles "codes of ethics from journalism organizations, media outlets, media owners, and journalism groups from around the world." Use this site as a tool to evaluate news sources.