It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
DiscoverUR also helps you manage your research. Sign-in to your account for additional functionality including:
Renewing books and videos
Creating a favorites lists of books, articles, and more
Saving your searches
Exporting citations to Refworks, Endnote, and other citation managers
View full search results (some databases only show results when you're signed in)
The Modern Art Notes Podcast, hosted by Tyler Green, is a weekly, hour-long interview program featuring artists, historians, authors, curators and conservators. While the program is typically studio-based, it has taped live-audience episodes at nearly a dozen American art museums, such as the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Baltimore Museum of Art and the Nasher Sculpture Center. The program has published new episodes each Thursday since 2011.
Farah Nayeri addresses the difficult questions plaguing the art world, from the bad habits of Old Masters, to the current grappling with identity politics. For centuries, art censorship has been a top-down phenomenon--kings, popes, and one-party states decided what was considered obscene, blasphemous, or politically deviant in art. Today, censorship can also happen from the bottom-up, thanks to calls to action from organizers and social media campaigns. Artists and artworks are routinely taken to task for their insensitivity. In this new world order, artists, critics, philanthropists, galleries and museums alike are recalibrating their efforts to increase the visibility of marginalized voices and respond to the people's demands for better ethics in art. But what should we, the people, do with this newfound power? With exclusive interviews with Nan Goldin, Sam Durant, Faith Ringgold, and others, Nayeri tackles wide-ranging issues including sex, religion, gender, ethics, animal rights, and race.
This book explores digital artists' articulations of globalization. Digital artworks from around the world are examined in terms of how they both express and simulate globalization's impacts through immersive, participatory and interactive technologies.
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. This databases indexes journal articles, book reviews, book chapters, dissertations, and more and is an essential tool for history research.
More than 410 active full-text, non-open access journals; more than 270 active full-text, non-open access peer-reviewed journals; more than 190 full-text books. Detailed indexing and abstracts for many leading academic journals, magazines and trade publications. Strong international coverage, including periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Coverage dating back to 1914.
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Over 1,000,000 images covering art, architecture,fashion and archeology. Software tools support teaching and research.
including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.
Digital collections that feature areas of special collections from the Research Library are available online. Digital collections may complement a Research Institute exhibition or focus on a particular artist, subject, collection, or group of collections. In addition to images and other media, they may include contextual and historical information and links to related resources both inside and outside the Getty.
Database includes 22,000 historical and contemporary images from Rochester and Monroe County. Images were chosen from the collections of the Central Library of Rochester and Monroe County Local History Division, the City of Rochester Municipal Archives and City Hall Photo Lab, the Rochester Museum & Science Center, the Town of Brighton Historian's Office, the Town of Perinton Historian's Office, the Village of East Rochester Historian's Office and the Village of Hilton Historian's Office.
Search for all DVDs, as well as streaming video titles, using DiscoverUR.Use the Content Type limit to restrict to Video.
If searching for Video Games, Use the Content Type limit to restrict to Video Games.