LibGuides: WRTG 105 Venturing Out (Coyne): Home

General Resources

Library Catalog - Also on Library Homepage

DiscoverUR
This is our library website's search function. Discover key topics and sources across all of the physical and electronic materials that our library has to offer.

Find Articles on Any Topic

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
VPN required for off-campus access.
Users should update their passwords.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
ProQuest Research, Newspapers & Business This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in journals, magazines and newspapers, many full text. Includes ABI/Inform, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, and Alt-PressWatch.

Find Articles in Social Science & Humanities

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles on art, architecture, dance, folklore, myth, film, journalism, music and religion. Many with links to full text.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, politics and law, many with links to full text.
Abstracts included from 1994-current; full text for many articles from 1994-current.
Philosophy Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of philosophy journals.

Facts & Background

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
A customizable general reference solution for librarians and learners offering more than 600 titles from over 80 publishers.

About Indigenous People

Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Provides a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. This digital archive highlights the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.
American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
American Indian Newspapers aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. Representing a huge variety in style, production and audience, the newspapers include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. The 45 unique titles also include bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages.

Interlibrary Loan & Using Worldcat

If UR doesn't have the article or book you need, Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that will deliver a copy to you. PDFs of articles usually arrive in two days or less! If you have the citation of the item you wish to request, go to the ILL page: https://illiad.lib.rochester.edu
& log in with your NetID to request an item.

From within any of the library any databases, click the button. It will find the full text of your article online if it's available through the libraries. Or, it will search the library catalog for you to see if we have your article in print--or let you request it via Interlibrary Loan.

Looking for books we don't have in the library? Try searching WORLDCAT (either for a title or by keywords on your topic). Click on the button to request a book through ILL.

Still can't find what you're looking for? Please contact me!